Vernor Vinge is a retired professor of mathematics, a computer scientist, and a science fiction author. He is best known for his award-winning books A Fire Upon the Deep, Rainbows End, and The Cookie Monster. He is also noted for his prescient essay, "The Coming Technological Singularity," which argues that the creation of superhuman artificial intelligence will mark the point at which "the human era will be ended," and there are no current models of reality that can predict the future beyond that point.


A Deepness in the Sky
A Fire Upon The Deep
After the Battle on Starship Hill: Prologue to The Children of the Sky
The Peace War
The Tatja Grimm's World
True Names and the Opening of the Cyberspace Frontier
The Children of the Sky
Rainbows End: A Novel with One Foot in the Future
The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge
The Zones of Thought Series: (A Fire Upon the Deep, The Children of the Sky, A Deepness in the Sky)
Marooned in Realtime
The Witling
Robotics Through Science Fiction: Artificial Intelligence Explained Through Six Classic Robot Short Stories
The Skylark of Space

All Books

Sorry, we couldn't find what you're looking for. Please try another search or browse our recommendations below.

Our Books of the Month

Learn More
A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II
American Spy
Flowers over the Inferno (Teresa Battaglia Series #1)
The Next Great Paulie Fink (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Signed Books from Your Favorite Authors

See All
The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz (Signed Book)
The Last Book on the Left: Stories of Murder and Mayhem from History's Most Notorious Serial Killers (Signed Book) Pre-Order Now
The Glass Hotel (Signed Book)
Masked Prey (Signed Book) (Lucas Davenport Series #30) Pre-Order Now
The Last Odyssey (Signed Book) (Sigma Force Series)
It's Not All Downhill from Here (Signed Book)
Redhead by the Side of the Road (Signed Book)
The Warsaw Protocol (Signed Book) (Cotton Malone Series #15)
The City We Became (Signed Book)
Long Range (Signed B&N Exclusive Book) (Joe Pickett Series #20)
The Odd 1s Out: The First Sequel (Signed Book)
I'm Your Huckleberry (Signed Book) Pre-Order Now
Becoming Deluxe Signed Edition (Signed Book)
The Book of Lost Friends (Signed Book) Pre-Order Now
A Conspiracy of Bones (Signed Book) (Temperance Brennan Series #19)