A Cruel Deception (Bess Crawford Series #11)

A Cruel Deception (Bess Crawford Series #11)

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$34.12 $39.99 Save 15% Current price is $34.12, Original price is $39.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 4
MARKETPLACE
3 New & Used Starting at $25.31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Cruel Deception (Bess Crawford Series #11) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
pmwillis 5 months ago
An excellent read. The narrative begins deceptively slow, and then accelerates at a rapid rate. Once again I was unable to figure out the whodunit. I look forward to another novel in the Bess Crawford series.
Delphimo 4 days ago
Most of the time I enjoy reading mysteries by the mother/son team of Charles Todd, but this time, the writing hedged on dreariness. Maybe the prior two mysteries I have read displayed better writing and story-telling that this novel shrunk in comparison. WWI has ended and Bess has been given the duty to find Matron’s son in Paris and relay information concerning him to his mother. Bess finds Lieutenant Lawrence Minton addicted to opiates and suffering from guilt-ridden nightmares. Lawrence escapes from Bess’s care, only to suffer a brutal beating at the hands of a mysterious man. Bess bravely faces many hazards in her quest to find and assist Lawrence and this journey drones on and on for too long. Of course, the reader knows that Bess will prevail in her duties and will seek Simon.
Sandra Thomasson 28 days ago
An excellent follow up to the rest of this series, pointing out how the shadow of war haunts even those who lived to see its end.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Another great mystery from the Charles Todd team.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Love the Bess Crawford series. Another great addition to the storyline.
Anonymous 9 months ago
2.5 stars I have long been a big fan of both Charles Todd series but this latest Bess Crawford was unsatisfying. There was the kernel of an interesting plot, albeit fairly unbelievable, and some of the historical detail was fascinating. But for me, that didn't make up for some significant lapses. In a movie when things jump around and don't flow from scene to scene, it's called a continuity issue and I thought this book had a lot of those. In one scene Bess is talking to an Army officer about searching for a lost soldier. But wait -- in the scene before she was talking to the guy and knew right where he was. There are unfinished sentences and lots of confusing jumps in the plot. Bess herself remains an enigma. Even after 11 books, I couldn't write a decent bio of her. She obviously is conscientious and determined, but I don't know her very well as a person. These books always do reveal heartbreaking details of the time after the Great War and the sad state of not only the shell-shocked veterans but the impoverished civilian population. Thanks to Net Galley and to the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
dibbylodd 10 months ago
The results of the war last well past its technical end. This continues to be an impressive series. The characters are finely drawn and have developed well over the course of the stories. Bess Crawford's dedication and determination are admirable. If only we could each have such a fine person looking after us!
Anonymous 10 months ago
A perfect book for a damp blustery weekend! I enjoyed this very much
LHill2110 10 months ago
An absorbing addition to the Bess Crawford series — this episode takes place in Paris, just after the end of WWI. Bess is sent on a private mission to track down the missing son of a Nursing Matron and has to unravel a complicated history whilst fending off surprise attacks on both herself and the subject. Always well-versed in historical detail, I particularly enjoy the nursing overlay present in the Crawford series. While slow-paced, it was never boring and I found I couldn’t put it down.
Anonymous 10 months ago
This is the eleventh book in the Bess Crawford series by Charles Todd the mother-son writing team. The book is set in the months following the end of WWI as the terms of peace are being negotiated in Paris. Bess, otherwise known as Sister Crawford, is an English nurse who is asked by the Chief of Nursing, known as Matron, to go Paris to check on the well-being of Matron’s son, Lawrence Minton. He is part of the peace negotiating entourage, having decided to stay in the army despite having been injured during the war, and appears to be struggling in his return to society. First, Bess must find Minton, and when she does she finds a very disturbed officer who has abandoned his duties in the peace process. She must first win his confidence, and then figure out what has gone wrong to have caused the issues he is facing. The book is very well written but a little slow moving for my tastes. As I often have said in my reviews, reading a series from the beginning is generally better as you can identify the recurring characters and understand their relationship (like who is Simon?). My thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Edelweiss for the ARC of this novel.
Anonymous 10 months ago
All+of+the+Bess+Crawford+stories+are+engaging%2C+but+this+is+one+of+the+most+engaging.+A+marvelous+heroine+in+a+very+difficult+period+of+history.+Nurses+were+the+heart+of+medical+care+during+WW1+and+all+wars.
Reader4102 11 months ago
Bess Crawford returns in the eleventh novel in this series. The book opens with Bess being recalled to London to speak with the Matron of The Queen Alexandra’s London headquarters. She’s sure she’s being summoned to be told her services will no longer be needed. Instead, the Matron wants Bess to undertake a personal mission to find her son. Lawrence Minton is one of Britain’s representatives at the peace talks taking place in Paris to officially end WWI. But Lawrence is missing, no longer at his residence, no longer attending the peace talks. It doesn’t take Bess long to find him hiding out in the small town of St. Ives with a family friend. Nor does it take long for Bess to determine he’s addicted to laudanum. In order to get Lawrence out of his down-ward spiral toward death, Bess must find out what’s haunting him and who or what is frightening him. Even though this is the eleventh novel in this excellent series, you need not to have read the first ten books to read this book because it reads like a stand-alone novel. Once again, the Charles Todd (a mother-son writing team) have written a seamless book so well told you’ll find yourself immersed in it from the first page to the last. Bess remains a steady presence while the chaos of WWI remains at hand—there continues to be food shortages, gas shortages, and, of course, grief for those men who fell on the fields of battle. Todd’s descriptions of the aftermath of war are well-drawn and those who survived the war are described in detail so the reader understands that to have survived the war is not always a war won. If you are fan of Charles Todd and Bess Crawford, you will love this entry in the series. If you are only now discovering them, you’ll find yourself wanting to read the series in its entirety. Regardless of which you are, this book will have you reading into the wee hours of the morning, and it deserves to be at the top of your to-be-read list. Thanks to Morrow and Edelweiss for an eARC.
Gail-Cooke 7 months ago
Those of you who have run across my reviews in the past will not be at all surprised by my once again singing the praises of that remarkable mother/son writing team who give us the compelling stories of Sister Bess Crawford. I've often wished that a film would be made of this amazing heroine's adventures but who could be cast as the amazing Bess? Nonetheless this time out the setting is the ending of World War I. Indeed the fighting ended with an armistice but the war will not actually be over until a Peace Treaty is signed by all. Representatives are gathering in Paris. While Bess has been working with the seriously wounded in England but that is interrupted when she is asked something she cannot refuse by a Matron in London: find her son, Lieutenant Lawrence Minton. This is a request from a frantic mother who hopes for the best but fears the worst. Bess begins in Paris where she does find Minton being cared for by a young French woman who is ill equipped to deal with an extremely bitter and disturbed officer. He has left his responsibilities at the Peace Conference and is verging on an opiate addiction, rudely telling Bess that he doesn't care whether or not he dies. He longs for oblivion. What has driven him to the depths of despair and how can Bess possibly bring him out of it? Here she is alone in a foreign country and Bess must find the truth as quickly as possible in order to save his life. What or who is destroying Minton, and what does that mean for Bess?