A Question of Honor (Bess Crawford Series #5)

A Question of Honor (Bess Crawford Series #5)

by Charles Todd

Hardcover

$25.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days
MARKETPLACE
41 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Question of Honor 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
redrockbookfan More than 1 year ago
One of the best historical mystery series going. I was already reading Charles Todd's Ian Rutledge series, so immediately bought the first in this one. Bess Crawford, a British nurse serving in France and England in WWI, is faced with mysteries as well as the influx of soldiers wounded in the trenches. This book is as good as the first five. Already impatient for publication of #6!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this bookfrom the 2.99 and under section without realizing it was part of a series. I was able to follow it without a problem without reading the books preceding it. The story is good and holds your attention. The characters are believeable and likeable. The only thing that bothered me is how lucky Bess is! People seem to just pop up right in front of her! Out of all the people in England, the people she needs to find just happen to show up without her even looking for them most of the time! All in all though, great book and i will read the next in the series.
dibbylodd More than 1 year ago
This is a very well written series. I am impressed with how it immerses the reader in the world of WWI. Bess and her family and friends are admirable people. But, they have their failings, too. The flashback to 10 years earlier works well. The intensity of the need for regimental honor at all cost is quite clear. This is something people today have much less experience about. For them, at that time, it was black or white. Bess' whole family (plus Simon) are interesting and likeable. I keep wondering what, if anything, will develop between Bess and Simon. With the chaos of the war I think people either got "serious" very quickly, thinking tomorrow might not come, or held themselves "in check", figuring it was unrealistic to get involved when there was so much uncertainty. The part about the service children living away from their families with people in England was very touching. It was such an unpredictable thing, placing ones children with strangers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This, like its predecessors, was an absorbing read while accurately showing what life in the WW I era was like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good mystery. Charles Todd always write a good story with good characters. This is a Bess Armstrong mystery with the setting of WWI in England, France, and connections in India. She is nurse and tries to solve a mystery that involves a man from her father's regiment. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mystery somewhat good but not great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doctor
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
I received this ARC as part of a program at DeKalb Library back in the fall of 2013. A Question of Honor by Charles Todd is well known and popular with many of the friends. Charles Todd is a new author who is not familiar for me. Synopsis: Bess is currently serving as a nurse in the British Armed forces in the year of 1918. Everyone hopes that the Great War will be over with soon. One day while attending to her duties Bess runs across a soldier from her past. He mentions that a Lieutenant Wade that everyone thought was dead is really alive. He was in her father’s regiment. This soldier is fighting under an assumed name Corporal Caswell. He is also linked to murders that occurred in both England and India. Can Bess clear her father’s name? What really happened, and did Lieutenant Wade really commit these murders? An investigation ensues with Bess and Simon putting the clues together. My Thoughts: Charles Todd is actually a mother son writing team. They have written many Bess Crawford mysteries. Many of my literary friends absolutely love them and can’t wait for the next novel in the series. Since this series is new to me, I found it to be okay. There was information that I felt was missing because I hadn’t read the other novels in the series. So it is not really a stand-alone novel to me. I did enjoy the novel. It just wasn’t exciting to me. A Great War novel with a mystery! The novel is well written and paces the story well. No characters really stood out for me due to reasons I just mentioned. I would consider reading another in the series. by Jencey Gortney/Writer'sCorner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a little boring - jumps around way too much. It's easy for me to put that one down - I like reads that are hard to put down. But then, different folks have different tastes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AngelaQ More than 1 year ago
This is the first in the Bess Crawford Series that I have read but I'm going to read the rest of the series this book was terrific. Bess is a strong woman who was determined to find the answers and set the story straight on an event that happened during her childhood. It was great to see her respected by the physicians as well for her dedication to her nursing profession.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
In 1908, Bess Crawford was a young girl living in India with her parents where her father was Colonel of a regiment. One of the officers, Lt. Tom Wade, fled while returning from patrol under suspicion of having murdered three persons while on leave in England as well as of his own parents in Agra, when authorities came to the regiment to question him. Now, nine years later, Bess, serving as a nurse in France, thinks she recognizes Wade as a Corporal serving under another name. This fifth novel in the Bess Crawford Mystery series then shows how inquisitive Bess can be in following a line of inquiry, even as the war and her nursing duties become overwhelming. The title of the book indicates the basis for Bess’ investigation, since the Colonel Sahib placed his faith in Wade, not believing him guilty, and of course the suspicion casts a pall over the “honor” of the regiment. Typically, the novels in this series reflect the horrors of the First World War, and this one is no exception. Unfortunately, the mother/son writing team had to stretch pretty far to move Bess back and forth between France and England on an almost commuting schedule before the conclusion is reached. And also, to this reader’s regret, I found it very slow reading, and it took an inordinately long time to finish. Nonetheless, it was worth the effort, and is recommended.
alb04 More than 1 year ago
Discussable for book clubs, nicely nuanced characterizations, a compelling central theme. I'd never heard of Charles Todd, but will look for more from him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed the previous Bess Crawford mysteries and this was no exception. It was very interesting to learn more about her life in India as well as the lifestyle of the families that were stationed there. There was a lot historical detail; from the lives of WWI nurses, soldiers, the flu pandemic, to life in early 1900 India. It was very informative but in a way that draws you into the story. My only issue was that it was not always clear how much time had passed. She crossed the channel a lot! Other than that, it was a very good read. I look forward to reading her newest mystery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always enjoy Charles Crawford and learning of this time in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got hooked from the very beginning of Book 1, this is an excellent series of who-don-it and some history thrown in. Would like to see more character development of Simon. I appreciate that not everyone is described as a raving beauty or dashingly handsome, but some more details of characters would be nice. All in all, would highly recommend the series to any historical mystery buff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago