Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (Classic Starts Series)

Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (Classic Starts Series)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 19
MARKETPLACE
7 New & Used Starting at $4.27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass (Classic Starts Series) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have a copy of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass which was given to me on my seventh birthday. I found it fascinating. My grandmother gave me a copy along with a harmonica. The harmonica was lost long ago, the book remains and has always had a place in my heart. I was too young to read the entire book, so my father started reading this book to me. Perhaps still having this book has given me a connection to the past. I laugh when I reminisce about my father (who is now 70) singing ¿Beautiful Soup,¿ most beautifully I must add. He also recited ¿Jabberwocky¿ and I can still hear his voice as he read the tale of the Walrus: ¿The time has come,¿ the Walrus said, ¿To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing wax of cabbages and kings and why the sea is boiling hot and whether pigs have wings.¿ The Mad Tea Party is also very memorable. There is all kinds of nonsense talk children will love to try to figure out, and as adults still might be trying to figure out! They will love the riddles and beautiful illustrations. The mouse, the chess pieces and the Cheshire cat talk most intelligently about various concerns in Wonderland. Just as everything in a child¿s world is sometimes alive to them, so Alice¿s world is filled with things that are alive and most interesting to children. Alice never seems to run out of adventures. The Looking Glass House is amusing to me as it has a cute black kitten who is quite mischievous. I quote: ¿Oh, you wicked, wicked little thing!¿ cried Alice catching up the kitten and giving it a little kiss to make it understand that it was in disgrace. ¿Really, Dinah ought to have taught you better manners! ¿¿. Kitty sat very demurely on her knee, pretending to watch the progress of the winding, and now and then putting out one paw and gently touching the ball, as if it would be glad to help if it might. John Tenniel¿s illustrations make the book and together he and Lewis Carroll created a magical world for children to explore. I hope you will read this book to your children, read them many books about many things. They will always thank you for it. Thank you Dad, I love you! You have given me so many things, and I thank you for my love of reading. I dedicate this review to my dad who will always live eternally with me as long as I have this book tucked safely away.
barbieleejay More than 1 year ago
Without a doubt a Classic in it own. My daughter loves it and she is !7yrs old. It will entertain ages 0-99..Great investment to add to a home library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book Alice in Wonderland is a very good book. I think that it is a very good book because it is really interesting. It is a really interesting book because it's about this girl who dreams of the craziest things. In my opinion the author which is Lewis Caroll has a very creative and interesting mind. It's amazing how a person could come up with such an idea. If you were an adult that reads the book for the first time, you would think that this girl Alice is on drugs to dream of such things. If you dont think that Alice is on drugs then youll probably think that the author who wrote this book is on drugs. I know that there are a lot of books based on this title, but to me this book is the most original and best one. The book has been around for a while and still selling. The reason why is because it is such a great book. So just dont take my word for it, do some research if you dont believe me. I would defenitely recommend this book to anyone who likes fiction stories of any kind. I bet that this book would really get the attention of kids. So I also recommend this book to childeren. Childeren are not the only people i recommend it to but adults as well. Childeren and adults of all ages who love fiction are guaranteed by my experience and knowlege to really love this book as well as i do. I rate this book four out of five stars. The reason I rate this book four out of five instead of five out of five is because it could have been a little better if the authour would just have made the story a little shorter that way children wont get board. Because as we all know there are more children that will read this book than adults.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ok so as being a fifteen year old grew up loving alice in wonderland. Apparently this book is an acid trip relating to the song White rabbit by Jefferson aiplane says my mom. but the song and movie are great so when i get the chance im picking up this book immediateley.
Guest More than 1 year ago
okay, so i realize that Alice in Wonderland seems like a book for little kids and not someone that's 11 or 12 (I read it last year), but I have still wanted to read it since I learned that it was a book and not just a disney movie. But I was so wrong, it's not even funny. Alice in Wonderland is for any age of person- boy or girl- and is about a girl that has crazy adventures in wonderland. And everything, even if it seems weird- think about it- makes sense. Have you thought about it? Even if the mad hatter and the march hair are terrible and rude, they're also very funny and hares in march are said to be crazy as hatters used to be (just all the time- not just in March)everything is like that. i would reccommend this to anyone and everyone ages 0-????? i think it's healthy for people to read something like thisat least once a month.
sidecar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A lovely edition of one of my favorite stories of all time. I must read this at least once a year to remain sane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a teenager who has recently finsished reading the book 'Alices Adventure's In Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass'. I was really satisfied with this book after reading it. I would have to say that this book is a middle school level. I really enjoyed this book because i know for a fact that the author of this book has got to have a real creative mind to come up with this really great material. I mean for a person to come up with a story which involves a girl having this crazy, interesting dream that keeps the reader hooked on thinking about what is going to happend next and how a little girl could dream of such things is just really amazing in my opinion. In my eyes this book deserves five stars hands down. It's a classic book that keeps all people of all ages loving it. I would reccomend this book to anybody who enjoys fiction type stories or books. I am almost certain that if you are a fiction story fanatic, you will surely enjoy this book. Kids especially will love this book because they all love fiction storys. Storys that are inpossible in the real world. I look forward to reading more of this authors books because i really loved the last book that i read which was Alices Adventures In Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass and author by Lewis Caroll which is a real inspirational and creative person in my mind. I have a feeling that her other books are all probably fiction storys, that dont compare to this book in anyway because its an all time classic that mostly everybody has either read or seen the movie. So to all you fiction lovers out there take a little time to read this book and im sure youll love it and be a satisfied reader once you finish the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I acquired this book over 20 years ago and read it cover to cover over and over again. I can still remember staying up late to memorize the poetry. I am getting this for my 10 year old neice whom reminds me of me in an all to familiar way. I hope that she treasures this book as much as still treasure mine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's Lewis Caroll Again! But this time He has taken the many adventures of Alice And has put them into the eyes of our Children. Only this time miss Alice finds herself being aproched with difficult questions and life situations and finds out that there is more to the world than just tea parties!