Atlantia

Atlantia

by Ally Condie

Audio Other(Other)

$69.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
1 New & Used Starting at $59.95

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Atlantia 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Seeley More than 1 year ago
I finished this book in two days, which says something because I'm a slow reader. My favorite part of the book is the setting. You have the Divide: those who live Above and Below. I like the thought of an underwater city. If it were me, I would have chosen to remain Below. I see myself relating to Bay's character the most. The descriptions of the places and people is done in a way that puts a great image in your head without all these extra words and details. When you read a book, sometimes you'll come across a paragraph or page and say, "This stuff isn't necessary, the author should've cut this out." I never came across that in Atlantia. I loved the way Rio and Bay loved each other. I have a sister, but we aren't twins, so it was interesting to read what an impact Rio and Bay had on each other. I also fell in love with Oceana's character (Bay and Rio's mother). I definitely recommend reading this book. If you're a teenager, you should spend your winter break reading this. Ally Condie is a great storyteller and I'd love to see this transition into a movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the story and the setting and all, but one thing really ruined the book for me. Rio. I dont find many books where i dislike the main character, especially when its from their first-person point of view, but i honestly did not like Rio. Bay and True and Maire, yes, i did like them, but i found Rio to be selfish and unrealatable. Even though Maire was like Rio, in the end Maire DID help someone other than herself and Rio really didnt. This disappoints me because in Ally Condie's book series, Matched, i loved the main character Cassia. I thought this book would have a realateable main character as well and was let down. But thanks to the great story and amazing setting, i was able to give Atlantia 4 stars. So good book, but dont expect much of Rio.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just couldn't really get into the book and I didn't really enjoy it
TheLiteraryPhoenix More than 1 year ago
Oy vei this book was such a chore. I read Crossed by Ally Condie recently, and didn't like it, and when this popped up on my wishlist, I repeatedly reminded myself that I didn't like her previous books. I told myself over and over again that it was a bad idea. BUT. It's an Atlantis inspired dystopia! I have such a weak spot for Atlantis. Okay, so here's what what cool about this book. Because it wasn't completely bad. The concept of an underwater dystopian city is great, and it's not one I've seen very often. If the air was poisoned, if there was something wrong with the sun, moving humanity underwater makes sense. I would like to have seen more of the worldbuilding. The idea is there - and it is strong and good - but Condie tried to make this more of a character-driven story and stopped talking about Atlantia early on. We don't even specifically find out what caused the poisoning. And I like character driven books, I really do. But the character has to be good. Rio is flat and unoriginal. She has no original thoughts. She talks to a person and immediately adopts all their ideals... until the next person comes along and she does a 360. It's so frustrating. I know there are people like that in real life, but a protagonist without her own convictions is really frustrating. Don't even get me started on the romance. What a joke. It's like she felt like there needed to be a romance, so it got shoved in there awkwardly. The final nail in the coffin, for me, has been the narrator. If I read this in hardcopy, rather than an audiobook, it may have been better. This is a siren story, and Rio has to hide her voice. The narrator chose to take this quite literally, and every piece of dialogue spoken by the sirens (most of the dialogue) is spoken in a robotic monotone. It honestly makes me want to scream. It grates on my ears. Atlantia has cemented it for me: I'm totally off Ally Condie's writing. I wish her well as an author and am happy for all her fans, but there are a lot of books in the world and I see no need to waste my time on novels I'm sure I won't like.
KikiD870 More than 1 year ago
Atlantia is a standalone novel by the author of the Matched series, which I loved. This book, however, left me with mixed feelings. The premise was amazing, but I just felt disconnected and I can't quite figure out why. The novel takes place in a dystopian world split between the Above and the Below, the land and the sea. Pollution has ruined the Above so most of humanity has moved into an enclosed, underwater world. Those left Above suffered with the effects of pollution so that those they loved could live Below, thus saving humanity from extinction. Each year, on the anniversary of the Divide, children of a certain age are given a choice... stay Below or go Above. After their mother's death, Bay and Rio, twins, have promised each other they'd both stay Below. Rio does this out of love because the only thing she's ever wanted was to go Above. But then Bay chooses Above, leaving Rio alone in the Below. Rio is desperate to know why Bay broke her promise and finds answers she never expected. There is a lot going on beneath the surface (no pun intended) of life in Atlantia and Rio begins to learn these secrets. I think part of my problem connecting with Rio was the fact that her character just seemed too one-tracked in her emotional life. It was as if she expended all of her emotion on her sister, leaving very little left for other personal interactions. No big highs, no big lows. It left her feeling a little bland as a character. The world-building also left me disconnected. While the premise of the world was fantastic, I just had a really hard time envisioning it. It almost felt like we should already know what a world like that would be like. I liked the book; I just didn't love it. And I really wanted to.
terferj More than 1 year ago
I found this to be an okay book. The story dragged for the first half of the book. A lot of Rio whining about her sister and a lot of nothing really happening for my liking. Around a little half way through, I found it enjoyable. Even though I went in expecting something different, it didn’t defer me from eventually liking the book. I like the idea of it, the world divided to Above and Below. Something unique. I like the descriptions of Atlantia, I would think it would be somewhere cool to live. Though I found Rio whinny, I liked how determined she was and her self-control is something I need. Ha. I liked True. He was very calm and cool. He could make some really cool things. I really liked how things turned out. Everything was answered and it turned out happy.
MusingsOfAGirl More than 1 year ago
This book was just kind of meh for me. At no point did I feel super attached to the characters or too interested in the story. There were a couple different directions I was hoping the book would take, but none of them happened. The plot was very predictable and did not do anything that I had not seen before. I am not upset that I read it, but I could have lived without.
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
Atlantia by Ally Condie is a stand alone novel. It reminded me a lot of The Burn by Annie Oldham, especially in the beginning. That book's plot line is completely different, of course, but there were some little things here or there through the whole book that made me think of it. There were a few things that I questioned about the story, but there were also some interesting aspects. I liked the sirens and their back story, and I also liked the bats. It was nice to read a stand alone novel for once. Don't get me wrong.. I love a good series, but it was nice to have everything all wrapped up in one book without having to wait for the next book.
BoundWithWords More than 1 year ago
Characters & Relationships: Despite Rio, our main character being a mermaid and having such a powerful voice she sure as hell read very... Blant. She is passing through a hard time, with her sister gone, without any family, having to hide from everyone what she really is, but still I couldn't manage to connect with the girl or fell anything for her, the secondary characters too just never felt fleshed out enough for me to care for them. I still really enjoyed the sisters relationships in this book, they're pictured as such strong bound between two people, more books should have this, unfortunately the romance front didn't hit me as strongly first because this book has so much more that could have got away without any romance but mostly because I didn't care for these characters. World building & pace: Okay, so first let me clear out that this is a dystopian book where something happened with the clima on the above and some selected people went to live below, but then some weird thing started to happen to the people below and some of them started to become mermaids, for some reason unknown. So if this kind of thing bothers you - things happen and are never given a good reason - just stay away from this book, for me it wasn't a major turn off, it bugged me a little but I could suspend my disbelief and keep going. But the thing that DID bothered me was the pace, oh boy this book was slow, and slow, and slow, and them BAM! everything happens in like 10% of the book and it's finished and that was it. Now, I don't mind slow books - hell, The Vanishing Season was more slow than this and it's one of my all time favorites - but it bothers me when there is things that should be happening and are not, and them pisses me off when things are rushed to make it fit on the ending, NOT PLEASED. Recommended to: readers who want mermaids or really liked the atlantia idea when they're kids (which is why I picked this one up), readers who liked Ally Condie's other works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutealyz supurbs lol
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your "books" ;)
emhenault More than 1 year ago
I looooooooved this book! Ally Condie is one of my favorite authors in the whole wide world! I am currently reading everything she has ever written and it is all great. I definitely recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"This is a great book for both teens and adults to read I will personly read it over and over again !"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Real gr8 book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Atlantia by Ally Condie Publisher: Dutton Juvenile Publication Date: October 28, 2014 Rating: 2 stars Source: Hardcover copy traded via YA Book Exchange Summary (from Goodreads): Can you hear Atlantia breathing? For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose. Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths. What I Liked: Well, I really wanted to like this one. I tried. I was super excited about this one, despite not really enjoying Matched and Crossed (never read Reached). A novel about an underwater city? Cool! No mermaids? Even better. Sadly, I was disappointed. Rio has always wanted to go Above - she's lived Below, in an underwater city called Atlantia, for her entire. There is only one way to go Above: you get a choice as a teenager. Rio's twin sister Bay made Rio promise that she wouldn't choose Above, after their mother died. But then, on the choosing day, Bay chooses Above... after Rio chose Below. Rio is determined to be reunited with her Above. As Rio searches for a way out, she discovers secrets and the true history of Atlantia, of Below and Above.  Like I said, I was really excited to read this book! I didn't get an ARC or eARC, and that was okay. When I finally got the book and started reading, I was intrigued. How dare Bay make Rio promise that she wouldn't choose Above, and then chose it herself?! And a boy also chose Above... suspicious. Poor Rio. Rio was so distraught, so alone. She literally had no one - no father (dead), no mother (dead), no sister (Above). Rio's aunt, Maire, starts contacting Rio. Maire is a siren - like Rio. But everyone knows that Maire is a siren, whereas no one knows that Rio is one. Maire wants to help Rio go Above, but Rio doesn't trust Maire. Rio begins to uncover secrets about the city, just as the city is curiously falling apart. There has never been a better time to go Above, it seems... The romance was probably the best thing about this book, honestly. I really like True and Rio together. They meet because True's friend is the boy that went with Bay, Above. True create mechanical fish, and Rio starts buying them to race against them, to make herself a better swimmer. True has secrets of his own, just like Rio does. He has a gentle, quiet nature, which I really liked. I liked the two of them together. The whole underwater city thing was awesome, honestly. Those two aspects are where the book earned its two stars from me - the romance, and the underwater aspect. It was really unique, because the city is like a bubble underwater, at the bottom of the ocean, with humans living in it (with the exception of a few sirens). I had high hopes for this book... but it didn't deliver. What I Did Not Like: Okay my biggest problem started when Bay chose Above... which was pretty soon after the book started. To be completely, while I felt for Rio, I got bored. Real quick. The author spends so much time letting Rio wallow, letting the plot kind of meander along with no purpose, no twists, no bumps in the road. Bay leaves. Rio feels sorry for herself. She decides to swim. She evades Maire. La la la... that's kind of how I felt as I was reading. Not going to lie, I was in a really comfortable position on my bed while reading this book... ... And I fell asleep. Like, actually asleep, totally knocked out, unconscious and the whole nine yards. That says something, folks. I'm on Thanksgiving vacation right now, so it's not like I've been lacking sleep. No, the problem was that forty, fifty, sixty, pages in, I was struggling. I was bored. I needed more oomph from the plot. I needed more than Maire hinting at secrets, more than a budding friendship with True, more than swim races that meant nothing to me. Throughout the whole book, I didn't like Bay. She doesn't pop up until the end of the book, but I spent the whole book disliking her for leaving Rio, regardless of her reasons. If she had told Rio from the beginning, the whole angst thing could have been avoided. Of course, then there might not have been much of a story, but that doesn't mean that I had to like Bay. I didn't. I didn't want Rio and Bay to be reunited. I don't like Bay. I'm also a little disappointed because while the premise of the story is very fresh and unique, the story was really cliche and over told, honestly. Evil tyrant, falling city, super powerful protagonist, save the world, last one left, blah blah blah. This book wasn't really anything special, if you took away the setting. Meh.  Overall... things were boring. And I don't do boring. I wanted more action, or at least, more interesting SOMETHING. The "plot twists" and "big reveals" weren't that exciting or shocking. Would I Recommend It: Hmm, naahhh. I think I've come to accept to accept the fact that Ally Condie is not an author for me - her books and I don't really agree. Unfortunate to say, but true. So I wouldn't recommend this one. Don't let the pretty cover fool you. Rating: 2 stars. I'm glad I read this one, because I had been really excited to read it... but I'm sad that I was so disappointed. Tis life!
clambakecat More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a ok read. The story line between two sisters who live in a underwater world was a interesting plot. However the actual story was slow and didn't contain enough depth. If your bored and have nothing else to read this will do. 
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Atlantia.. oh Atlantia.. I honestly didn't have high hopes because one of my book kryptonite is mermaids/sirens.. however I thought this would be different with the sci fi/dystopian setting. Unfortunetly Atlantia didn't have a captivating and strong plot.. half the time I was bored out of my mind.  We have Rio, living in Atlantia, a constructed underworld city. At the age of 16, each person is allowed to choose between staying in Atlantia or going to the above. Rio always wanted to go to the above but when her mother passed away, she decided to stay with her twin. Lo and behold, after Rio, during the ceremony, chooses to stay below, her sister is asked the same question and she chooses the above. Rio feels betrayed, confused, hurt, and all alone.. because she has a big secret, and that is her being a Siren. Sirens are shunned and controlled. The whole book is spent on Rio trying to figure out why her sister went to the above, whether her mom was murdered, and trying to keep her secret hidden. Also, a big portion of that time is spent on her performing in a swimming pool with automated fish and upping the risk to get betters to bet more money so she can plan her escape to the above sooner. This all seems so intermediate.. the whole time I was looking for the big plot but it was nowhere to be found.  The romance was nondescript. Typical YA friends one page, "i love yous" being thrown out in the second. I've turned immune towards these romances.. before I would really get annoyed but now I just ignore and move on. I really wasn't a fan of anyone or invested in anyone's wellbeing or outcomes. It is sad when you read a book but come out of it with a lack of love towards anything in it. I didn't hate the book, but I didn't like it either. I don't know if it is the plot or just the whole underwater concept that kept me from enjoying the book. I gave it a try because I was sent an unsolicited copy. I own Ally Condie's Matched and Crossed and I will give those a try because I had no problem with her writing. I would recommend Atlantia to fans of the underwater world and mermaid/siren books like Of Poseidon. 
tpolen More than 1 year ago
Back in July, I was fortunate to receive a sneak peek of this book from NetGalley. After finishing it, I was definitely interested in reading the whole book, but found Rio's character to be flat and not very likeable. After reading the complete book, my opinion about Rio didn't really change. Throughout the majority of the book, I thought her selfish and uncaring, using others to accomplish her goals with no regard for their feelings. In the last third of the book, her character began to mature as she saw a bigger view of the world, not just her own. Something I did enjoy about Rio was her reasoning in determining who she could trust - especially since her options were pretty limited. The relationships she shared with her mother and sister were also strong and I liked the emphasis on family ties. True was the only supporting character who seemed to care about someone other than himself and learning he was hiding secrets of his own was a surprise. Maire's character was well-developed and very honest about who she was and I respected her for that, but she definitely wasn't a charmer. The setting was unique and the storyline engaging, but the ending seemed a little too neat and tidy, so this book was just okay for me. Something just seemed to be missing.  This review was based on a digital ARC from the Penguin First to Read program.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love the author, and this is my favorite of her works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good book.   I loved the setting and didn't want to put the book down. I would of changed the ending though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But the ending could have been better.