Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures Series #3)

Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures Series #3)

by Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beautiful Chaos 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 623 reviews.
BubblesCO More than 1 year ago
I have all the other books on my Nook. I'd like to keep my series in the same format! PLEASE!!! I am actually re-reading the series to get ready for the new one. I love this series. There is always something going on and it's never boring. If you love the supernatural and love stories make sure to read this series!
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I admit that this book completely took me by surprise. As the reader, I was expecting so many others things but never that. I loved that this book took a whole new spin on love and sacrifice! What I loved most about this book is the great plot line. So much going on in the book that is kept the reader hooked and always sated. Never once did my eyes stray from the pages as I devoured it. I enjoyed that while the plot line is unraveling secrets, poems, and love popped up where I never saw it. Both authors once again did an amazing job on capturing the essence of the town and the characters! The characters development in the story is where it needs to be. So much had changed in them that you know that these characters are at their peak. I enjoyed reading along with the characters in discovering secrets that have been under their noses. The book title is great for whats goes on in the book. Chaos. Total Chaos! Now for the ending. Did I see that coming? No. It was something that left me gasping and WOWed. I won't spoil it, but yeah. Amazing ending that left me wanting more. Beautiful Chaos is a completion of wonderful literature that had me in awe! I felt like I was in the town of Gatlin as soon as I open the first page, fighting the chaotic events unfolding between the pages. Filled with a great adventure of love and sacrifice, Beautiful Chaos will undo your mind leaving you yearning for more of Gatlin.
EmoKitty More than 1 year ago
Beautiful Chaos is a book mixed with love, suspense, and sacrifice. It is the third book in the Caster Chronicles. In my opinion, Beautiful Chaos is better than the first and second- Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness- combined. Yes, the first two were very good, but Beautiful Chaos has more drama. Instead of focusing on Lena¿s problems, it focuses on Ethan¿s. Since Ethan is the narrator, you can really get inside his mind and actually feel what he feels. In the third installment of the Caster Chronicles, both worlds - the Caster and Mortal- go bad. Lena¿s Claiming- both Dark and Light- has messed up the Order of Things. Ethan is losing more of himself every day; Amma is acting Dark; and Ridley is suddenly casting spells again, yet she is Mortal. Throughout the novel, Amma is very secretive and we realize that she knows what the Wheel of Fate wants to be able to fix The Order: a sacrifice of The One Who is Two.This book kept me reading chapter after chapter. I never glanced up from it. The drama and suspense all comes together in the biggest and greatest finale I¿ve ever read. The ending definitely shocked me. And, I¿ll admit, I cried while reading the last chapter. It was a huge cliffhanger, and it makes the reader wanting to know the release of the next, and final, book. What I loved about this book is that Lena and Ethan know that life is short now; every moment could be their last. Ethan is so sweet to Lena; it made me teary-eyed reading what he says about her: ¿That when she looked at me, it was like there was no one else in the world. That when I looked at her, I noticed every detail about her while everything else faded away. That I was only myself when we were together.¿ I was overall satisfied with this book; never mind the heartbreaking, jaw dropping, tear jerking, ending. I still can¿t believe what Stohl and Garcia did to all the readers; it was like a kick in the throat. However, the purpose was achieved: I want to keep reading and I need to know if everything turns out happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever!!! Even better than harry potter and the percy jackson series AND the heros of olympus series! Over all tthis book is the best one of this series. Although im kinda mad at the end... it left me hanging BIG TIME. Im a 13year old boy and this is a really good book. I would reccomend this book for ages 10+ if they are good readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book blew me away! Everything was just perfect, the characters were at their best, there was action, romance, and it was just amazing! Lena finally understood that Ethan was important to the caster world. Also, the love triangle between Ethan, Lena, and Liz was perfect! Lena and Liz yelled a bit, but they moved on! They weren't caught up in their love lives which I loved! I also liked seeing Link without Ridley. I had always loved them together, and without Ridley, Link seems a bit off. John and Liz together is so cute, and of course Lena and Ethan were awesome! I loved the romance in this book, but it wasn't too overpowering which made it easier to read. The ending was so sad! I was sobbing, on a train, in public, and people started to stare. Read this series now! You will not be disappointed!
Softball10MS More than 1 year ago
Ethan had already had his whole world turned upside down by his mysterious girlfriend. He's been to the end of the world and back for her. But in this thrilling book Ethan is asked to make the ultimate sacrifice, or watch everything he love's fall apart. Ever since his girlfriend, Lena, decided to claim herself light and dark the world has slowly started to fall apart.The world is getting hotter and hotter before their very eyes. Ethan is the only one who can save everything. But will his family let him save the world? This novel will slowly break your heart. The first two books in the series could never prepare you for this book. I give it five stars because of how beautifuly the two authors have weaved this book into reality. In this book it's not about Lena's choices. It's about Ethan's.
Dinah Rico More than 1 year ago
My sister told me to read Beautiful Creatures...took me like forever to finish, but instantly fell inlove with the characters & after finishing it I hurriedly downloaded Beautiful Darkness & finished in ONE DAY! That's how addictive these books are..Can't wait for Beautiful Chaos...
Some_Reading_Required More than 1 year ago
Love, family, sacrifice, redemption, trust, black, white, grey, good, evil, lies, friendship, truth, loss, hope, these are just a few of the words that were left spinning in my head after I finished reading Beautiful Chaos, another perfect continuation of the Caster Chronicles series. Except for the necessities (like class, workstudy, & sleep) I never put this book down. I was thoroughly engrossed in the story from page one and I didn’t want to stop reading until it was completely finished. Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have completely out did themselves again with this third installment. The bar was once again risen higher with more action, revelations, and unfortunately, sorrow. One thing I really enjoyed about this book is the switch in main-character focus. Although the entire series in one way or another revolves around Lena and the trouble her prophecy causes, Beautiful Chaos let her take a backseat in order to allow Ethan, his time to shine. Ethan’s progression as been nothing short of amazing. I truly believe that he is the heart and soul of the entire series and the steady rock that supports many of the characters. He is truly the story’s parfit gentil knight, true, chivalrousness, and well-mannered. Time after time, Ethan risks his own well-being to protect the ones he loves. Although he was recognized as the Wayward in the last novel, he learns in Beautiful Chaos that he has a destiny even greater than ever imagined. Beautiful Chaos is all about his own discovery, learning who he truly is, and what he’s not only capable of, but also expected to do in the grand scheme of things. Ethan isn’t the only shining character in Beautiful Chaos, other’s such as Amma, Link, and John Breed breakthrough as well. Amma, the closest motherly-figure Ethan has ever had, begins to struggles with inner and outer demons (literally), this time around. Throughout the book she holds a secret that pertains to a terrible future event, which she desperately tries to change, although she deep down knows must occur. This journey leads her into the darkest places she’s ever been not only physically but emotionally. Link whose entire world was turned upside down in book two has his own inner demons to deal with, as well. Between an extremist-religious mother, a certain new student/ex-Siren who wont admit her true feelings for him, and a new-way of living, Link’s got it rough. However, multiple times throughout the book he proves that even though his body and spirit has changed, he’s still the same brave, lovable, and downright dorkable boy he was before, just with a few extra quirks. I have to admit, after book two, I was not a fan of John Breed. Not only did he mess with *my* Link, he also was discovered to be working with very dark forces. Although I don’t want to give too much a way, I will say that he makes an appearance in Beautiful Chaos. We learn a lot about his past including who and what he truly is and what he’s capable of. He ends up finding his own path in this book and because it appears he has chosen to follow it; I’ve softened up towards him. Overall I give this book a 4.5/5 rating. If you haven’t checked out the first book I definitely recommend you do. You wont be dissapointed! This world is beautifully constructed with a plethora of fun, unique, and deep characters that you’ll instantly fall in love with. The warm and subtle wonders of Gatlin will leap right off the page leaving you with an instant feeling of being “at home”.
lrhubble More than 1 year ago
Contemporary, Paranormal, Gatlin South Carolina Ethan Wate thought he had finally gotten used to the strange happenings in his small town of Gatlin. But ever since Ethan and Lena had returned to Gatlin from the Great Barrier the things that Ethan had gotten used to, have taken a turn to even more bizarre occurrences. Now they are dealing the record-breaking heat, swarms of locusts and devastating storms. Lena Duchannes and Ethan struggle to understand her Claiming especially ever since then her powerful family of Supernaturals have been affected. Their abilities have been misfiring lately and it is getting dangerous. Now it looks like something or someone is going to have to be sacrificed to save Gatlin this time around. The only question is what or who? Sometimes there is no going back. This is another great book in the series and picks up right after the last one left off. This is one series that once the reader starts it they will find it hard to leave this world of characters and circumstances. The world in which this series takes place is very engaging and comes to life with every word that is read. This one will also have readers reaching for the next book in the series to make sure things do work out because this one ends is a slight cliffhanger that will have readers wanting to know what happens next. The ending on this one leaves things not looking real bright for Ethan this time around but will have readers wanting the next book to see how things turn out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aw c'mon! Cliffhanger! This left me at the edge of my seat with it's dramatic ending, and unforgettable plot. This is a must read! (WARNING: If you buy this book you will probobly NEED to buy the next.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this series. Way Way Way better than the movie!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book series I'm only on the 3 one but is the best totally would want my bff's to read!!!!!! Love it !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! New book coming out, called Beautiful Redemption. Comes out in October.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i finished rhis book i wanted to throw my nook across r The room! I didnt want it to end! And at the end i started crying because i didnt want that to happen! I dont want to give to much away but this seris is one of my absolute favorites so far, along with the matched series! This is a must read! Loved it!
novelgoddess on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Warning: You will need a box of Kleenex as you read this book!Typical of Caster Chronicle books...there is a moon "song" running throughout. "18 Moon" is the prophecy of Beautiful Chaos. While everyone is running around trying to figure out who is what, we learn a lot of backstory.We learn the story of Sarafine, from her claiming through the fire that nearly killed Lena as an infant. We learn more about Abraham and Silas and where John Breed fits into the story. There is a lot going on with Aunt Marian because of what Olivia did in the second book. We have comic relief provided by the Lincubus. Most disturbing for me was what was going on with Amma! I love Amma and her biting wit! But she is definitely not herself in this part of the story.I am amazed at how Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl are able to create a story with such a unified voice...I would love to know how they do it.I did find the story slow to start, but knew it would get better. And it did not disappoint. I didn't find the mystery of the 18 Moon as tough to figure out as our characters after certain bits of info was reveiled...but our heroes still fumbled around with it for quite a while longer.Kami and Margaret if you are reading this I would love to see a short story about Liv and John!! Oh, and you suck for that ending! LOL, just kidding. But I, like the rest of your readers, will be waiting with baited breath for the next installment!
Bookswithbite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I admit that this book completely took me by surprise. As the reader, I was expecting so many others things but never that. I loved that this book took a whole new spin on love and sacrifice!What I loved most about this book is the great plot line. So much going on in the book that is kept the reader hooked and always sated. Never once did my eyes stray from the pages as I devoured it. I enjoyed that while the plot line is unraveling secrets, poems, and love popped up where I never saw it. Both authors once again did an amazing job on capturing the essence of the town and the characters!The characters development in the story is where it needs to be. So much had changed in them that you know that these characters are at their peak. I enjoyed reading along with the characters in discovering secrets that have been under their noses. The book title is great for whats goes on in the book. Chaos. Total Chaos!Now for the ending. Did I see that coming? No. It was something that left me gasping and WOWed. I won't spoil it, but yeah. Amazing ending that left me wanting more.Beautiful Chaos is a completion of wonderful literature that had me in awe! I felt like I was in the town of Gatlin as soon as I open the first page, fighting the chaotic events unfolding between the pages. Filled with a great adventure of love and sacrifice, Beautiful Chaos will undo your mind leaving you yearning for more of Gatlin.
jshillingford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt this was an engrossing read. There was action, new twists on the world-building, a lot of character development, more dire prophecies and some tragedy. Even a few surprises. The character development was especially well done and took the book to another level. The evolution of Macon is very interesting, and we get a little more information on the Keepers. However, after finishing the third book of a projected five book series, I was left with even more questions, very few answers and another life or death cliffhanger. I like this series, but have also become frustrated.There are consequences to Lena¿s claiming of herself. The very balance of the universe is thrown off, and of course fixing it requires a major sacrifice - hence the cliffhanger. However, most of the book is taken up with Ridley¿s antics at the high school (which while amusing didn¿t advance the story), endless descriptions of the chaos going on in Gatlin (the HEAT, the lubbers, Amma not making any pies! Oh no!), and where John Breed could be. I can¿t help but feel that this story is being unnecessarily stretched, or that the authors don¿t know where to go with it. I truly hope it¿s the former and that the next book advances the plot AND provides some solid answers to at least a few questions.Overall, I enjoyed this book despite the frustration, and readers who liked the previous two probably will as well. But it¿s going to be a very long year waiting for the next installment. *sigh*
Jen7waters on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
HATED IT!I wish the memory of the first book in the series would let me give this one a 1 star rating!
xXlovelyxladyXx on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Waiting one year for this book after reading Beautiful Darkness was absolute torture. October was legit the month where all my favorite original YA series came out. Beautiful Creatures, Hush Hush, well they started my love for YA and a bunch of other genres. And after FINALLY reading Beautiful Chaos...well I have to say that I was not disappointed.When I first opened the book, I was a little confused with what was going on because it's been so long since I've read the previous two books in the series. But everything quickly came back when the plot picked up. Everything was an absolute nightmare in Gatlin because of the Order being broken. The plot in this book was very exciting and nerve racking, especially with all the drama going on which I loved.Another thing I love in this book is Ethan Wate! After two books, he is finally without a doubt swoonworthy in this book. He has grown up so much and finally doesn't seem overtly feminine like he did in the last book. My heart just ached for him after all he had to suffer through, right up to the end but I know that he cared for absolutely everyone in the book.I also liked Lena a lot more in this book. It was nice for a change to see a couple want to be together and fight to be together instead of apart or even better, go through a love triangle. Thankfully, they moved on from this stage. Lena also matured a lot and it was great to see how involved she was in the relationship. So much more than she was from the last book. I could really feel the love this time and it was great. :)It was really great seeing more of some of my old favorite characters. Amma of course, although she was more emotional in this book than ever before but for good reasons. It made me heartbroken to see her so sad. I also liked seeing Ethan's dad a lot more, especially since he's becoming more of himself. It was a surprise not seeing much of Macon in this book and he seemed more grave about what was to come.But of course, my favorite character...Link! My dear Linkubus! Holy cow, Link was so so so precious in this book. Watching him going through his changes was strange but he was still Ethan's best friend through it all, beginning to end. And he loved Ridley. At first, Ridley and Link had a cute 'I'm going to make you jealous' game going on but then it got old. And my heart absolutely broke when (view spoiler)[Link said he wanted to take her cross country, just the two of them, because he loved her. I got so mad when Ridley said no. I mean, its so obvious they care about each other that it made me mad when she wasn't willing to go halfway because of her insecurities. (hide spoiler)] But I have a feeling this will be resolved by the end. Fingers crossed!I was also pleasantly surprised with the twist on John Breed, especially with all that happened in the last book. I also liked Liv a lot more, especially since she only wanted to be friends with Ethan and she had her eyes set on another...;)Overall, I loved this book so much. The ending absolutely killed me. As it was approaching, I could not stop crying because of the characters who didn't get their happy ending. But at the same time, there's still a chance for a good ending with the way Kami and Maragaret left it. I don't want to have to wait another damn year to get this book but unfortunately, time machines haven't been invented yet. Can't wait to see how this series finally ends.Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars
hoganedix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I will admit right away that I loved Beautiful Creaturesfor its unique plot and main characters who I could imaginebeing friends with when I was in high school. Themystery surrounding Lena was fun to work throughand I was captivated by the poetry of the writing.I also spent a lot of time thinking about how hard itmust be to write a story with another person - justhow do Kami and Margaret do it?? (Happily very well!)That said, Beautiful Darkness utterly frustrated me.I felt that it was a fast-paced and complicated plotwhich absolutely kept my attention but the relationshipbetween Ethan and Lena was seemingly broken.Lena joins forces for no reason the reader can reallyunderstand with John Breeder, a mysteriously DarkCaster. I flew through this sequel but I was disappointed.So I opened Beautiful Chaos with some reservation.Would this be a novel all about conflict and confusionand people keeping secrets or making poor choices(like Beautiful Darkness) or would it be powerfuland heroic like Beautiful Creatures?Hint: I was a happy reader :)Ethan and Lena are happily working togetheragain (rather than at cross purposes in BeautifulDarkness) and their compassion and kindnessfor one another reads as so genuine. John Breederis misisng and even ultra-dark Caster AbrahamRavenwood can not locate him. The mystery buildsas to why John might be in hiding and how hemight relate to the Eighteenth Moon clues thatWayward Ethan is receiving. The town of Gatlinis being punished due to the choice Lena madeduring her Seventeenth Moon to go both Lightand Dark - the temperatures are oppressive,plants and lawns are being devoured by insects(lubbers), the library is burnt to the ground andEthan's ancient aunts are attacked by Vexes.A growing sense of doom is enveloping the townand the plot never slows down. In the end, theimportance of the Eighteenth Moon is revealed.There is another book (Dream Dark) scheduledfor this series and I know that I am going to beeagerly awaiting the publication!
ilikethesebooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite series and it really means a lot to me. Beautiful Creatures was the first book to get me out of my Twilight obsession and start actually enjoying to read. Through a series of events, that book actually led to the creation of this blog. I find this series absolutely amazing. Beautiful Chaos just reaffirmed what I already believed - this series is going to be one of my favorites of all time. So far, Beautiful Chaos has become my favorite in the series, surpassing Beautiful Creatures (my favorite before) which I didn't even think was possible. Chaos. The title really suits the novel well. After the events of the seventeenth moon in Beautiful Darkness, the combined Mortal and Caster worlds seem to be ending. Mass destruction, heat, and deaths are occurring with no explanation. Clearly when Lena claimed herself both light and dark, the Order had been broken. The end is nearing, now how do they stop it? Oh my good golly gosh (replace with inappropriate but fitting profanities)!!! The plot was fast paced in the best of ways. Seriously, there seemed like there was never even a space to breath or collect your thoughts before you are slammed with more unexpected developments. Our favorite love-to-hate characters are back: Abraham, Saraphine, Ridley, John Breed... but who's side are they really on? There were always consequences for Lena and Ethan's actions, but this time it effect much more then themselves - everyone's lives are in danger. The dire necessity to find the answer and ticking clock made this book irresistible and impossible to put down. The ending will make you want to scream, and that's all I'm gonna say about that. Dark, utterly impossible and enveloping, this novel is sheer chaos, in the best possible way.
sch_94 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My Summary: It's been about a month since the events of Lena's Seventeenth Moon, and the town of Gatlin still hasn't returned to normal: there are lubbers everywhere, the heatwave hasn't let up in weeks, and the lake has dried up. In short, it's beginning to feel like the end of the world in Ethan and Lena's little town.But that's not all that's happening - Ethan has been losing little pieces of himself: memories, phone numbers, and names, all disappearing from his mind without a trace. Worse still is the way Amma's been acting, and the appearance of Abraham and Sarafine - who, for some reason, think Ethan and Lena know the location of John Breed...My Thoughts: This book is the hardest to review of the series, because I both loved it and hated it (in a good way). The writing, as usual, was flawless, and the character development gets better in every installment. It was great to see Lena and Ethan make peace with the mistakes of their past and try to move on with their lives, and I've really enjoyed the way the paranormal element builds in each book, teaching us more about the world of the Casters chapter by chapter instead of dumping a bunch of information on the reader all at once. But man, this one had some major angst (which I love, as you all should know, but my wee piggy heart can only handle so much!). You could feel the pain Ethan was in, watching his life unravel, and you couldn't help feeling for Lena as you watched her learn the truth about her mother. In short, I loved this book. It was amazing, and I seriously have no clue how I'll be able to wait for next fall to read the last one in the series.Final Thoughts: If you're looking for a refreshing change from the usual vampire/werewolf/faerie book, I definitely recommend this series! Check it out! The use of a male first-person narrative makes it all the more interesting, and the new take on the paranormal element makes for a great read.
summerskris on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl continue to amaze and confound me with the Caster Chronicles. Things haven¿t been right in Gatlin since, well, book one, and I still don¿t know how conflict will be resolved and even then, there will be a happy ending at all. Book Three is the most riveting book yet in the Caster Chronicles. Garcia and Stohl had me devouring this book late at night, and I confess that I¿ll be rereading this book just to make sure I didn¿t miss anything in my haste to finish it. As the title indicates, chaos reigns. This is a big book filled with many subplots, plot twists, and deep meanings just waiting to surface. Our friends from the past two books have grown into their roles beautifully. Time, tragedy, and history have molded them. They understand their positions and the threats that they must face. Ethan¿s voice has matured so much, and the characters¿ emotions and relationships with one another are definitely the strongest points to the story (in addition to the tension-ridden plot). I want so badly for Ethan and the others to find a way to save the world and his doomed relationship with Lena, but I just don¿t know the answers. Garcia and Stohl are certainly keeping them well hidden from us. All I can do is follow along and hope that they will give the ending that the characters deserve in a manner that doesn¿t disappoint. (And I have faith that they will do whatever necessary to end the series in such a manner¿ even if there really is no happy ending after all.) As the synopsis indicates and I have hinted, the ending isn¿t going to be optimal, not at all. It is going to have your heart crying, and your book-loving soul anticipating the fourth installment. The Caster Chronicles is definitely a series that will continue to attract the more mature readers who want to see more depth to a plot.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As fall turns into winter, the end of days that Link's mother has been talking about for years seems to have arrived. The bugs, the weather, the crabbiness--everyone seems to be effected by the fallout from Lena's claiming in Beautiful Darkness. Once again, the southern gothic feel of this novel is superb, there's just nothing else like this series that I have read. Ethan's buddy Link continues to be the best friend ever and their camaraderie helps overcome some of the weaker plot points. Another cliff hanger ending points to more in this series, which is welcome news indeed.