D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

by Sarah Rose

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Rachel_Denise01 10 months ago
D-Day Girls by Sarah Rose is honestly one of the top reads for me so far this year. The amount of research that was required and used for this book is astronomical and its result is just stunning. I have read a large amount of WWI and WWII nonfiction, history, biography, and nonfiction, and yet I was impressed with the amount of fascinating information and knowledge I gained from reading this gem in regards to the types of Resistance groups (British and French led), their networks, the type of guerrilla tactics that were implemented, and the type of harrowing and guttural mental and physical strength that it took for these female and male heroes to not only survive, but thrive in this atmosphere. I learned so much about female operatives, and all of the adversities that they had to overcome from the known enemy, as well as the “covert enemies” of sexism and the inability to garner equal respect, acknowledgement, rights, and rewards. These women are true heroes and make me so proud to be part of this gender. Though these women were human and flawed as the rest of us, we can use this picture of strength and heroism as a template to help overcome the adversities and problems that face us today in the modern world. Well Done! 5/5 stars enthusiastically
CharJones2525 11 months ago
So many risked all to ensure victory 75 years ago in Normandy. D-DAY GIRLS tells the utterly compelling tale of female agents — members of Churchill’s Secret Operations Executive — who blew up weapon supplies and power lines, derailed trains, and sabotaged the Nazis with cunning, bravery and chutzpah to advance the Allied cause. Meticulously researched and lovingly written with an eye to giving these courageous women their due. And what a cover! Pub Date 23 Apr 2019. Thanks to the author, Crown Publishing, and NetGalley for the review copy. Opinions are mine. #DdayGirls #NetGalley
Tangen More than 1 year ago
historical-figures, historical-places-events, historical-research, historical-setting, war-is-hell, war-experiences, spies, WW2 ***** I got this the day before release and haven't quite finished it, but since I have raved about it to more than a handful of friends I figured that I ought to post a review. The research seems impeccable but it's the humanization of each of these brave and motivated women that is so compelling. They're not all young beautiful idealists, but they are all willing to put it on the line long before it was accepted and appreciated. Each woman's involvement is detailed but not in the dry boring way as in a thesis. These women were real and so are their histories. Besides that, it is eminently readable. Great read! I requested and received a free ebook copy from Crown Publishing via NetGalley. Thank you!
Peppyob More than 1 year ago
Bravo to Sarah Rose for bringing to the foreground the heroic a factual historical account of the WW ll contributions of three talented and brave women agents of the British Special Operations Executive (SOE) who served in occupied France: Andrée Borrel, Odette Sansom and Lise de Baissac. This book has all the elements of a great thriller and the best part is that it is all true not historical fiction. The courageous clandestine acts of these women have been predominantly unrecognized both during and after WW ll. Those women accomplished great feats after only a very brief period of training due to wartime pressures. These women sacrificed everything towards defeating the Nazis. They accepted that the odds for their survival were slim. They have very little training due to wartime time constraints. Yet they were able to perform remarkable feats including: code breaking, blew up bridges, sabotaged the occupation etc. Lately there has been a plethora of historical fiction novels centering on women's roles involved in Resistance movements. D-Day Girls is the perfect historical text to read in order to clarify the actual events and scenarios that occurred during the WW ll time period leading to D-Day. Sarah Rose does a great job in explaining the evolution of women's participation in the SOE and other Resistance. groups. This is a great companion book to be included in a reading list for WW ll history classes which include a unit on the resistance.
MaryND More than 1 year ago
D-Day Girls is an interesting look at an underexamined aspect of World War II: the role women spies, trained in England, played in organizing and coordinating resistance in France in the years leading up to the D-Day invasion of Normandy. Primarily following the recruitment, training and missions of five of these women—Andrée Borrel. Lise de Baissac, Odette Sansom, Yvonne Rudellat and Mary Herbert—author Sarah Rose does a great job of conveying their military value and how they slotted into the overall spy networks in France, while still managing to portray each as an individual with a particular personality and set of motivations. The details of their training and the nuts-and-bolts descriptions of what was required to run a clandestine guerilla operation in France were most interesting to me, as well as the information about how the SS in Paris based on Avenue Foch managed to infiltrate, turn or otherwise undercut the English spy networks. Rose’s focus, understandably given the title of her book, is always on the women, but that did leave me with questions at the end of the book about the fates of various men in their networks—some of whom collaborated with the Nazis—that I wish Rose had addressed. (And the end in general did feel a little abruptly wrapped up.) These are fairly small quibbles, however; I think D-Day Girls is admirable for telling the unknown stories of brave women whose dangerous work on behalf of the Allies has not been adequately appreciated, and I hope it gains a wide readership in their honor. Many thanks to NetGalley and Crown Publishers for providing me with an ARC of this title in exchange for my honest review.
Darcy714 More than 1 year ago
Fantastic history of a fascinating and little known group In D-Day Girls, author Sarah Rose illuminates the little known lives of the women who willingly went into occupied France to work with and unify those resisting the Nazi occupation during WWII. During the war, Britain faced a dearth of males the right age for spy and saboteur work as all available men were already at the front. Even if they had been able to scrounge up a decent force, Rose points out that most French men had been drafted into forced labor to make parts and necessities for the Nazis, so war-aged healthy males would have stuck out in occupied France. Necessity being the mother of invention, the then radical decision was made to conscript women for the job, extending offers of work to women who had grown up in France at some point in their lives and spoke the language like a local. A handful were ultimately deployed to work as couriers and saboteurs, parachuted in or arriving by sea under cover of night. These women helped form the backbone of the resistance, training resistance fighters to assemble and use various guns and other weaponry, blowing up railroad tunnels and tracks at crucial junctions, and causing other damage to the Nazi machine wherever possible. Standing stoic in the face of incredible danger, many of the women found their calling in the use of weaponry and sabotage that they daily engaged in, and, due to Nazi sexism, were able to slip past the German soldiers throughout France without suspicion. In D-Day Girls, Rose has created a meticulously researched work of nonfiction that flows like a spy novel, with the satisfying knowledge that the characters were in fact real life women who accomplished amazing feats in the war. A worthy and compelling read, Rose shows herself to be a gifted author to watch. My thanks to the publisher for sending me an ARC through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Lynne Ernst More than 1 year ago
D-Day Girls by Sarah Rose is well researched book about the women that assisted in the French resistance during World War 2. The stories of Lise de Baissac, Andrée Borrel, and Odette Sansom were amazing, inspiring, shocking and impressive. I received this book from Crown Publishing and #Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Katie__B More than 1 year ago
What peaked my interest when I first heard about this book was that it featured women who risked their lives to help win World War 2. I love reading these type of non-fiction books because it feels like for far too long the role women played in the war was largely ignored. It's nice that as more and more these books are published, these heroic women are finally getting some recognition. Even though I have read quite a few non-fiction books featuring women during the war, almost all of the ones I have read have been about American women. So it was good change of pace for me to see just how tough and strong European women were during this period of history. The book mainly follows three women who were recruited as spies which at the time was pretty much unprecedented. Let's face it, most people back then thought the ways women could contribute to the war effort was by knitting scarves or tending to wounded soldiers. Women willing to risk their lives to help win the war was a hard concept for many people to grasp. This book provided a good starting off point for learning about these courageous females although I wouldn't say it was my favorite WW2 read. It is a decent read though so if the topic interests you, I recommend giving this one a look. Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.