Death by Inferior Design

Death by Inferior Design

by Leslie Caine

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death by Inferior Design (Domestic Bliss Series #1) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Tigger31 More than 1 year ago
When I saw this book at bn.com I had not heard of this author, but always looking for a new mystery to read so I bought it. I actually really loved this book! The mystery was full of twists and turns which is wonderful and the romance was a nice added touch. Not too romantic and perfect for that rainy day read. I actually was drawn into this boook pretty quickly and I was not bored at any part of this book which makes it a win in my book!! If you are looking for a new author you should try Leslie Caine.
wheelz708 More than 1 year ago
i think if you like mysteries you have tpo read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This duo is 2 competing interior designers, Steve Sullivan and Erin Gilbert. Throw in some Peyton Place cheating, a murder attempt or two, an actual murder, and decorating tips you can use, and you have a highly entertaining book. I read this through in one sitting, it was That Good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one in a series of cozy mysteries starring Erin Gilbert. A graduate of Parsons School of Design, Erin chose to move to her mother's old college town to start her life again after. Her mother dies. Knowing your adopted is one thing, promising the mother who adopted you you'd never try to find your birth parents is another. Through a series of strange design jobs, she finds herself in the middle of a weird bunch of people who seem bent to destroy each other.... Add an eccentric landlady and a cat who at times knows her better than she knows herself, and you have the opening salvo of an intriguing series
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like Erin and her escapades...a short, fun , interesting read.
Anonymous 4 months ago
An easy read that kept me guessing. Made me want to read more of the series.
elsi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Finished reading this morning before breakfast. A fun mystery which is the first in a series of six—soon to be seven. The characters were appealing and I didn't have it all figured out early in the book, which made it more fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved all the interior design hints, hard to solve the mystery just by reading the clues. Enjoyable book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good and twisted ending Bingaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am on page 183 and will not turn another page. The realationships of the characters way tooo confusing, I can't keep up! And I suddenly realized I don't care to have the"mystery" solved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whodunnit More than 1 year ago
Just when the storyline started to get interesting, I couldn't leave the page without being bumped back to my main screen. So, unfortunately, this review is only of the first couple of chapters. I wasn't hooked right away by the characters. They seemed cliche, but maybe I've just watched too much interior design shows. But then a plot seemed to develop, and my interest got peeked. Then poof!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TxAgMom More than 1 year ago
This was the first Leslie Caine book I have read. The competition between Gilbert & Sullivan Interior Design Companies, took several twists and turns throughout this novel. I found myself wondering several times, what the outcome of the novel would be. I will try another book in the the Domestic Bliss Series. In fact, I bought the next novel in the series for a Christmas Gift
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Erin Gilbert has been hired to redo their bedroom by Carl Henderson. He is surprising his wife. When Erin arrives, she finds out that her competitor, Steve Sullivan, has been hired to redo the neighbor¿s den. Apparently a competition has been set up between the two by a third neighbor, Randy Axelrod. He plans to write a story on the winner for his magazine Denver Lifestyles. Neither Erin or Steve knew about this, but they accept the contest as they could use the free publicity. Carl¿s son, Taylor, is to be the carpenter for both designers. Erin soon discovers that he isn¿t the easiest to work with, nor is he the best carpenter. But due to time and money constraints, she vows to do the best she can with what she has to work with. While removing the paneling in Carl¿s bedroom, Erin discovers her baby picture and some letters. She was adopted, but her mother made her swear, before she died, to never search for her biological parents. Could they be one of these neighbors? Erin has a tough time knowing what to do. Then Randy keels over and dies at the hospital. Apparently he was poisoned. Someone shoots at Erin¿s car. Things keep heating up and Erin soon feels she has to discover the truth about her adoption, as well as figure out who killed Randy. I enjoyed Erin Gilbert and the tension between her and Steve Sullivan. The contest was very believable with all the reality t.v. shows. But since I¿m not into interior design, I found there to often be too much description for my liking. Plus I felt that 372 pages was a bit too long. I do plan to read more in this series as they are published, because I enjoyed Gilbert and Sullivan. I just hope they aren¿t all as many pages. I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Catchy title. The title was more interesting than the book itself.The story was convoluted and tedious.
harstan More than 1 year ago
As a gift to his wife, Carl Henderson hires interior designer Erin Gilbert to redo their bedroom. When Erin arrives at her client¿s home, she finds her competitor Steve Sullivan is redesigning the den of the Henderson¿s neighbor Kevin McBride. A third neighbor Randy Axelrod sets up a competition between the rival designers with the winner getting a story in his magazine Denver Lifestyles. Erin and Steve accept the contest because both know that the free publicity should bring many new customers.--- Carl¿s son Taylor works with both designers. He opens a bottle of cyanide that is in the back of Erin¿s van. She notices some missing, but he denies taking any when she confronts him. Later that day, Randy keels over; he dies at the hospital. Erin¿s information leads to a toxic screening that shows he died from poisoning. Erin has a second reason to regret taking the job when she finds her baby picture on Carl¿s wall. Having been adopted, she believes her biological parent is nearby. Not long afterward, someone shoots at her car. Although she promised her adopted mom to not seek her biological parents, events force her to reconsider her vow before a killer murders her too.--- The Crestview, Colorado neighborhood where all the action occurs seems so middle class with family values that the right wing would showcase it as the real America, but underneath the veneer are marriages on the rocks. Each family wants Erin to decorate a part of their house and though she knows to stay aloof, she is drawn into their lives. DEATH BY INFERIOR DESIGN is an exciting opening act of an amateur sleuth series starring a delightful beleaguered protagonist.--- Harriet Klausner