Defining Twilight: Vocabulary Workbook for Unlocking the SAT, ACT, GED, and SSAT

Defining Twilight: Vocabulary Workbook for Unlocking the SAT, ACT, GED, and SSAT

by Brian Leaf

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Defining Twilight: Vocabulary Workbook for Unlocking the SAT, ACT, GED, and SSAT 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
pagese More than 1 year ago
It's hard to give a review to a book that is actually more of a workbook. But really the author is capitalizing on something that is huge right now. And I believe it would actually help students to study for standard exams. I worked though it and was amazed at how the information is presented. It's not overwhelming. And Twilight isn't the only thing referenced. I saw Pirates of the Caribbean, Harry Potter, and Terminator to name a few. I'm not able to test my new found vocabulary knowledge, but I would recommend this to any parents trying to get their high schoolers to study for an exam!
alisons-bookmarks More than 1 year ago
Petulance. Providentially. Surreptitiously. Insolent. Omnipresent. Did you notice that these are SAT vocabulary words? Did you notice that they are can also be found in Stephenie Myer's <em>Twilight</em>? I recently read a review of Twilight, and the reviewer stated how the language felt like a teenager showing off what they learned in their last SAT prep class. I'm not sure I agree, but if it feels like SAT prep, and it looks like SAT prep, then, by all means, let's make it SAT Prep! And that is precisely what Brian Leaf does in his book, Defining Twilight, a vocabulary workbook for unlocking the SAT, ACT, GED, and SSAT. What better way to make the connection between vocabulary and writing than to choose a book that teens already love to read? I have to say, Brian Leaf's workbook is relatively painless. The layout of the book is great. No, I didn't do the entire workbook, and I was glad to see I knew the majority of the words highlighted in the book, but I had fun finding a few words that aren't currently a part of my everyday vocabulary. I am by no means a wordsmith, but I do enjoy building my bucket of 5-cent words. If you are preparing for one of those dreaded standardized tests, and want to start out with something a lot less painful than the workbooks I had in high school, you should try Defining Twilight. (for less than $10!) Now, I'm off to surreptitiously give my son some cough medicine.
Taste_Life_Twice More than 1 year ago
Brian Leaf was kind enough to send me a review copy of his vocabulary workbook Defining Twilight. The basic premise of this workbook is pure genius. You look up a word in Twilight, guess what it means based on context, then check to see if you were right. Then you take quizzes on the words. Honestly, I feel like I don't really have a grasp on a word until I see it in context, so this kind of vocab book is perfect for me. It really drives the definitions home. There was only one concern I had with this book. I thought that if it only pulled words from Twilight, I wouldn't be learning much. But just flipping through, I saw plenty of words I didn't know. If you're looking for a vocab book, this is as good as any. Actually, it's better because you'll probably grasp words easier if they're connected to something you're interested in. Every word counts, and you never know what collegeboard will throw at you. Also, Defining New Moon comes out in October, for all the Jacob-lovers like myself out there. I really hope they start to Define the Classics, like Defining Crime and Punishment. If you'd like this book, go to taste-life-twice.blogspot.com to find out how to snag my copy! Contest ends September 20th! Tashi <3 P.S. Free Rice is a great study tool, and for every word you get right, they donate 10 grains of rice to the needy. Also, it adjusts difficulty as you get words right or wrong.
Ziaria on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I know that there are folks that have had enough of anything Twilight, but I have to say this is an interesting concept. What a fun way to learn some new vocabulary, whether you are studying for a test or just want to learn something new. I think one can never have enough tools available to increase one's knowledge.The book is easy to work through and understand. You can pick up the book and literally start on page one and know what you need to do, it's that simple. There are page references back to the Twilight book if you want reference points, etc.In short I think whatever gets someone excited to learn is a good thing. If you have a Twilight fan or are one and want to pick up some more vocabulary, this is a great, fun way to do so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yulinda Loomis More than 1 year ago
This it what it called if it not plees holpe me!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sara Franco More than 1 year ago
this is a great book! i love it. it is so informational!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Generation-Werewolf More than 1 year ago
Sorry to say, this book looks like it is using the twilight books as advertisement. :(?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to try this out! It's going to be so cool to be able to study AND read some Twilight at the same time!!!=D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago