Devil's Food (Corinna Chapman Series #3)

Devil's Food (Corinna Chapman Series #3)

by Kerry Greenwood

Paperback(Large Print)

$20.66 $22.95 Save 10% Current price is $20.66, Original price is $22.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Devil's Food (Corinna Chapman Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Melbourne, Earthly Delights Bakery owner Corinna Chapman is happy about her life especially with her lover Israeli investigator Daniel until her estranged mother Starshine, a throwback to the 1960s hippies arrives hysterical. Her equally hippie spouse (and Corinna's father) Sunlight has vanished. Apparently the faithful Sunlight must have a supernova with a midlife crisis that has him on a quest to find a younger woman. However besides coping with a weeping mom, two bakery employees and some weird monks become ill after drinking poisoned tea. Corinna and Daniel with the help of a diverse eccentric crew search for her runaway dad while also tracing the source of the toxic tea, which leads to an anti-obese cult. The third Chapman cozy (see EARTHLY DELIGHTS and HEAVENLY PLEASURES) is a wonderful Australian adventure starring an interesting heroine who is the total opposite of Kerry Greenwood's superstar Phryne Fisher. The story line is lighthearted fun as Corinna goes from enjoying life to a near breakdown in a heartbeat when Starshine arrives. However, she has learned somewhat to cope with her star-sun shiny communal hippie parents so searching for dear old dad while struggling with poisoned tea and an anti fat cult targeting the pleasantly plump Corinna has added unneeded stress to her life. Still she, her boyfriend and their horde turn Melbourne into a personal playground in this fun lighthearted farce. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is part of a charming series that takes place in Australia. It is part mystery, part romance, and has interesting story lines. Too bad it is not well known in America. If you like Janet Evanovich, you'd probably like this series.
Tangen 9 months ago
Australia, verbal-humor, small-business, cats, exmilitary, situational-humor, family-dynamics, friendship Corinna's love life, business, and friendships are going well. On the other hand her looney parents, a new religious cult, and a dangerous herbal concoction are driving her to the edge of her wits! This book is truly a wild ride! Loved it! Narrator Louise Siverson is absolutely fantastic!
little_prof on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
¿Devil¿s Food¿ is the third Corinna Chapman mystery by Kerry Greenwood. It is the first on audio that I can find however and so I started with it. Corinna is a baker in Melbourne and actually enjoys getting up at 4 a.m. to bake bread for local restaurants and the customers that come into her shop ¿Earthly Delights¿. She also enjoys consuming the fruits of her labors and is not shy about it. Corinna is down to earth and I¿d love to have her shop somewhere near me, especially if it comes with her muffin magician of an apprentice, Jason. The description of his herb muffins or his apricot orgasam muffins or especially his rosewater Kama Sutra muffins have kept me perpetually hungry during this book. Corinna¿s father is missing, there is a mysterious weight loss tea that has made her two assistants incredibly ill, and there is a strange group of monks going under the name of the ¿Bodiless Brotherhood¿ that are ordering famine bread from the bakery. Corinna finds them more than a little creepy, but with her father missing she¿s directing her energies toward the search until a body turns up in the local park showing all the signs of starvation.
khiemstra631 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kerry Greenwood surely qualifies as a one-woman industry due to her prolific output. She has two new books out at present, this one and the latest in her Phryne Fisher series. The Corrina Chapman books are a bit darker than the Phryne books, but they give an insight into Australian city life that Americans might otherwise never experience. The mysteries involved are rather minor, and the baking is heavy-duty with recipes included. Beware, however, that this book includes numerous anti-George Bush comments which make it seem rather dated already. They did not add anything to the book, and perhaps the author would be well-advised to keep her views on American politicians separate from her mystery series.
phyllis2779 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable mystery, mostly because the Australian setting was just different enough to be unique. I also like that the principal sleuth was a baker. However, there were so many characters that I had some difficulty keeping them all straight and the mysteries weren't all that mysterious.
Storytellermary More than 1 year ago
Devil's food by Kerry Greenwood Corinna’s mother Starshine comes searching for husband Sun. Corinna searches for her father while learning to stand up to her mother. Kylie and Goss go berserk because of a weight loss tea . . . the lengths people will go to. Creepy guys from Discarnate Brotherhood (Fleshless Order) dissatisfied with their special famine bread, “Make it worse.” Wisdom: Avoiding news during this administration, “Who defines disasters as news? Who . . . wants to see these things? Is Daniel “The best half of me? No. Sweet man, dear lover . . . distant enough to surprise.” “How will he (Jason) know we love him if we don’t look after him?” new vocab. doona (duvet) Asafoetida (bitter herb) awfulising (uglification) I love this series, and am awaiting the mail to bring the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LilyLangtry More than 1 year ago
Corinna Chapman will pull you into her more than interesting life, her eccentric lifestyle, surroundings and the flat mates in her apartment house "Insula", will keep you intrigued. I was hooked after reading the first of the series: "Earthly Delights", and plan to finish this mystery series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoy the balance especially of the supporting cast like a long running tv series where the city becomes part of the cast too like the big easy or a western too
kitty347 More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher series...I love period cozies! I wasn't sure I would like this series ste in contemporary Melbourne. But I am pleased to say it's as good as Phryne Fisher. The quirky characters, the clever plots and Corinna's recipes make this a delightful series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago