Dr. Death (Alex Delaware Series #14)

Dr. Death (Alex Delaware Series #14)

by Jonathan Kellerman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dr. Death (Alex Delaware Series #14) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was once a die-hard Kellerman fan, and my interest started waning with 'Monster' but I figured I'd give him another chance. In 'Dr. Death', Kellerman's writing style has changed, and not for the better, with corny analogies throughout and none of the comfortable prose that made his earlier books so great. The story itself had potential, but got lost in too many characters which seem to have been drawn in because Kellerman himself lost interest in his own story. I will probably give him one more shot with the next book, and I hope he regains some of what made his earlier stuff worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading last year's 'Monster', I was surprisingly disappointed with my favorite author. However, 'Dr. Death' is the usual page-turner with richly developed characters and suspense to the end. This time around, Alex works more closely with Milo on the case. Their dialogue and interaction are as enjoyable as trying to figure out the killer's identity. Just wish Robin wasn't so one dimensional - again, she remains in the background with minimal dialogue. My only complaint is I have to wait another year for Alex Delaware's next adventure.
CynDaVaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the better Alex Delaware books I've listened to in a *long* time. I think my favorite one so far had been the second one - the others that followed were mediocre ... until this one. John Rubinstein did an excellent job narrating this book. Well done, Mr. Kellerman.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good psychological angle and good detective angle. Again a little curious about how prevalent serial killers really are. The mercy killing theme fairly well handled, but maybe a little biased against it. Some gratuitous moral philosophy--too absolutist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author has a wonderful imagination for crime and punishment, and his characters just seem to come to life. The descriptive personality of this book brings out the pure morbidity of the crime at hand for Dr. Alex Delaware and Det. Milo Sturgis to solve, and in the process they get to know the infamous Dr. Death and his assailant. Walk along with them as they catch the killer of a suicide doctor.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Eldon Mate, also known as 'Dr. Death', is not a very popular guy. With his 'humanitron', he assists those who wish to die achieve their goals in a 'humane and dignified manner'...even if sometimes he leaves the bodies in cheap hotel rooms for someone else to deal with. Most would consider it a very good day when Mate's body is found brutally butchered inside his own van, hooked up to the 'humanitron'. It is far too obvious to Detective Milo Sturgis and his long-time confidant, Dr. Alex Delaware, that Mate didn't die in the most humane way. Nor did he 'off himself' with his own machine. Their ensuing investigation leads them down many paths...chasing numerous suspects and trying to figure out just as many motives. As a long-time fan of Kellerman's 'Alex Delaware' series, this reader has analyzed the reasons 'Dr. Death', and Kellerman's previous novel, 'Monster', don't live up to Kellerman's obvious potential. Kellerman's earlier books were written about his particular field of expertise...child psychology. In those previous works, his passion shone through with precision and excitement, inherent in his deft portrayal of his characters and his plotlines. He gave Delaware a personal interest in the outcome of his patient's lives, and he took an active interest in the goings-on of the victims. In more recent novels, Kellerman has drifted away from his 'comfort zone' and into areas already deluged with mediocre stories...most of them better plotted, and passionate, at least. While 'Dr. Death' has its moments, with some well-spoken phrases and vivid scenes, his stories seem to lack any real emotion or depth. It's hard to justify his character's involvement in the crime investigations...even though Kellerman displays Delaware as a type of 'consultant' to the case. Delaware has no real reason for being there nor following through on his own hunches, etc. Where once passion was Kellerman's motivation, he's now just some guy sitting at his computer typing up stories. The message in 'Dr. Death' may be socially relevant to our times, but tends to become a bit preachy in spots. The child characters seem mere cardboard cut-outs, gratuitous and out of place. Kellerman disappoints with this latest story. It barely held my interest long enough to find out whodunit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I never wanted was putting it down!!!! A super read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The one thing I hated about this book, was putting it down!!!! It had all the classic trademark 'Kellerman twists', that Monster was sorely lacking. I loved it!!!! This leaves me aching for another Alex Delaware adventure!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was a little hesitant to read this book after Monster which was such a disappointment. However, in Dr. Death, Alex Delaware is back at his finest. I got this book as a Xmas present and couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great reading experience awaits you with this one. Action keeps you going, surprises abound and content has depth. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and put it with my other Kellerman books. Haven't been disappointed yet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tony Award-winner John Rubinstein has read the audio book versions of each of Jonathan Kellerman's Alex Delaware novels. 'Performed' might be a more appropriate word than 'read' as his deliveries are riveting. (Need we say that Kellerman, a master of the psychological thriller, writes can't-put-down tales?) There's a diabolical twist in this story as the man some have described as a killer is killed - Dr. Eldon Mate, a proponent of euthanasia, is murdered in the back of his own vehicle, attached to the mechanism he has used to assist others in ending their lives. Of course, the LAPD seeks assistance from Dr. Alex Delaware who has a few qualms of his own regarding the case. Rife with menacing characters and psychological detail, 'Dr. Death' is Kellerman at the peak of his authorial prowess. In the case of the audiobook Rubinstein's emotionally intense voice is frosting on this devil's food cake.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked thee part where Alex and Milo were pretending to be Scottish after they had argued.
Guest More than 1 year ago
great storyline, with many twists, one of his greatest books