The Drop (Harry Bosch Series #15)

The Drop (Harry Bosch Series #15)

by Michael Connelly

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Drop 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 484 reviews.
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
This is another excellent book about Harry Bosch, my favorite LAPD homicide investigator. The title of the book may throw the reader off though. The DROP in this book refers to the Deferred Retirement Option Program of the LAPD. Harry is still working in the Unsolved Cases unit and is at the mandatory retirement age and had put in for a DROP. Through it is not the focal point of the story, it does tie in to Harry's mindset throughout the book. Harry and his partner Chu get assigned to a cold case of a woman who was murdered several years prior. The DNA evidence on the case points to Clayton, Pell a convicted sex-offender. This would be a slam dunk except that when the crime happened, Pell was only eight years old. Before Harry can investigate further he is told from the people upstairs (his former partner Kiz Rider) that he must drop everything and devote his entire effort to investigating the apparent suicide of a councilman's son. This brings up an issue for Harry. Firstly, he does not like the councilman at all and is anxious to investigate the other case. He is told that the councilman's son is crucial because the councilman is responsible for department budget cuts and handling this case could help the LAPD get some of their funding back. Of course Harry will do things his way and will find ways to bypass instructions and work on both cases at once. At times through the book Harry's actions will alienate those around him, especially his partner Chu and his new love interest (a social worker helping Clayton Pell). The book never gets boring and Harry's relentless and methodical pursuit to get to the truth is prevalent throughout. Even his daughter Madeline seems to pitch in for some good advice and could play a bigger role in future books to come. I give the book four stars and would have rated it higher except that I felt a little uncomfortable with Harry pursuing a relationship with the social worker for Clayton Pell.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Bought it yesterday, finished it today. Great Read!
Lynsey Lueck More than 1 year ago
Sounds like Harry will have his hands full in this one. Already pre-ordered, and yes 14.99 is a reasonable price for the book. Connelly will always keep you turning pages and with Bosch involved it will be a wild ride.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Detective Harry Bosch has the opportunity to continue his work in the Open/Unsolved Unit with his extension to stay on approved. Harry has been working the cold cases long enough to get have a rhythm down so that he gets the work done and still be home for dinner with his daughter. Doing his best to be a good detective and great father is a tightrope but Harry is a man always up for a challenge, even with a teenage daughter. On this particular cold case assignment day, he draws a case from twenty-two years ago with trace evidence that is a complete dead end. The blood on the body is from an eight year-old boy, with no conceivable way to have committed this crime. The questions becomes how did his blood get on her body, was he an additional victim, or a witness? Just as Harry is ready to begin his hunt, another person stops him to ask for help. His nemesis and former police office Irving Irvin wants Harry to investigate his son's death quickly and quietly. Harry stands for everyone including the son of his enemy, but he won't be anyone's political pawn. What Irving really wants is as clear as mud but Harry has seen all this man's tricks, or he thinks he does and knows better than to follow the road Irving is laying out for him. With each bit of evidence or rock turned over the pieces are not coming back into place correctly as if someone else is putting the puzzle together and Harry is just watching as it happens. There are so many unanswered questions about what is going on and no one is telling the full truth. At the same time, Harry is trying to solve the cold case and bring justice to the poor woman who was brutally murdered. The single case blows up with scenarios going in every direction where the prey may have become the predator. When emotions, past transgressions, and even people are hidden in plain sight the final confrontation is going to be explosive. Michael Connelly is incapable of writing a less than perfect book and The Drop is a complete grand slam that engages readers from page one. You think you know what is going on; you follow the trail of evidence along with Harry and then take you somewhere you never could have expected and terrified once you get there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an avid Michael Connelly reader, but did not think some of his recent books were good. This one however kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! He keeps it interesting by intertwining two cases into one book. I would definitely say this book and the Fifth Witness are much better reads than previous books.
theoriginalpurpledragon More than 1 year ago
The Drop by Michael Connelly Harry Bosch is back and stiff neck as usual. Once again this lone ranger rides against both crime and politics. Harry Bosch has a slogan everybody counts or nobody counts. His personal code of ethics once again gets him into trouble. You have to admire the integrity that this man exhibits. Harry finds himself playing a political game in spite of his adverse reaction to anything political. Harry shows some surprising soft sides such as his feelings for his daughter and his willingness to be more flexible in relationships with others. Once again Connelly writes a fast moving, entertaining and sometimes horrific story. I recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE DROP is fast moving and exciting, about a likable detective who is not above breaking a few minor rules to get to the truth of the matter. The dialogue is a bit gritty and to the point, the humor is on the dark side and is often crude but I guarantee you will not lose interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a well-written book, I would say. It grabbed my attention right from the opening chapter. It is the best novel I have read in months in the mystery genre, with true to life characters, a plot to kill for and a brilliant presentation of the story through the right mix of dialogue and narration. The convergent of the plot from multiple angles reminds me of the thriller Triple agent Double Cross. The amazing thing about this novel is the unique insight Connelly provided on solving cases that makes this book not only a page-turner, but also a guide on crime solving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can always count on Michael Connelly to create great stories, and characters, for 100% entertainment! I could not put this book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book looks amazing. I read the excerpt and it rocks. Harry battling Irvin Irving again--can't wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a hard book for me to get through. I found the plot slow & boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an avid Michael Connelly fan I felt this book failed to live up to what I've come to anticipate. Still a nice read but not as meaty and page turning as earlier works.
Mikeeman More than 1 year ago
Harry Bosch is flawed but underneath it all,humane and thats what makes this character so addicting and interesting. As Harry is misdirected, so is the reader through the first half of the book ... but then the fireworks start and we have a slam bang conclusion. Michael also is astute in describing realisticly the inner workings and politics of A big city police department, some of which is disturbing. Hated to see the book end as it will be a waiting period till the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ranks with his best ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bosch takes on two cases: a cold case with a dna hit linking an 8 year old boy to a murder-rape and the death of councilman Irvin Irving's son.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Over the years I have read every Harry Bosch mystery. He should stick around for a few more years.
DebDL More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this one. I really like Harry Bosch and he is aging gracefully! Read and enjoy.
Tigerpaw70 More than 1 year ago
Book 15, in the Harry Bosch series The novel opens with the aging Harry Bosch three years away from mandatory retirement working full time in the cold case squad with a new partner David Chu. In this latest installment Mr. Connelly has his protagonist eventually working two simultaneous investigations. The first, a cold case sex murder that lead to the discovery of a killer who operated in the city for three decades. The second is a politically charged investigation into the death of city councilman Irvin Irving’s son. Harry’s inquiries bring him back to a darker side of the police department when he and the councilman did not always see eye to eye. Mr. Connelly’s prolific mind provides each novel with fresh and entertaining plots, a feat he has managed for decades. His characters have aged with the times and taken on all of the appropriate age related attributes. As Harry nears sixty and fears retirement, we see how he handles cases with more determination and stubbornness… it must be the hormones….Mr. Connelly’s approach to a good mystery is to develop the first plot, gradually introduce the characters and just when things are about to explode he brings in a second plot to magnify and prologue the suspense. Even with the many twists and surprises that are somewhat predictable the drama is engaging and captivating till the very end. This series is one of my favourites and I often wonder what Mr. Connelly has up his sleeve for the future.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
Did not end the way I expected, so hopefully to be continued. Have read all the Mickey Haller series and making my way through Harry Bosch series (love both these characters)!!!! Harry Bosch has been given three years before he must retire from the LAPD, and he wants cases more fiercely than ever. In one morning, he gets two. Relentlessly pursuing both cases, Bosch makes two chilling discoveries: a killer operating unknown in the city for as many as three decades, and a political conspiracy that goes back into the dark history of the police department.
shellyjas More than 1 year ago
A very enjoyable book. Easy and enjoyable. There are some interesting turns old ones and new.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great police detective mystery in the excellent Harry Bosch series. It's a very fast read like all the Bosch stories.
booksandwine More than 1 year ago
Harry is officially on the DROP; Deferred Retirement Option Program when he gets assigned two seperate murders to solve. The first case involves the rape and death of a teenage girl where DNA found on the girl is that of the rapist but was he really only 8 years old at the time!? The second case involves the death of a city official that either jumped or was thrown from a hotel balcony. The Drop is a very good read. The characters feel real and relateable. Connelly builds suspense throughout the book and neither plotline is predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For me, this Harry Bosch novel didn't ring true from page 1. It lacked the sharp writing, character depth, and storyline development I've come to expect from this series. Connelly did not give this one his all, not by a longshot.
SharronA on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just as good as the "old" Harry Bosch stories -- tight, tense, exciting -- and Len Cariou did a great narrating job.