Star Trek IV: the Voyage Home

Star Trek IV: the Voyage Home

DVD (Remastered / Wide Screen)

$12.31 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.31, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Star Trek IV: the Voyage Home 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Star Trek IV was the well anticipated sequel to The Search for Spock. Trek III left a cliffhanger so large that the filmmakers had a veritable world of possibilities available. The mid-eighties Eco-trend was pulled off perfectly in its time, and the present. Species are still on the brink of extinction, global warming, and rainforests are still a problem. STIV takes the trek fans and non-trek fans on a wild ride back in time to 1986 to combat the extinct species problem. The 23rd century is devoid of: Whales. An alien probe is unleashing punishment on man for his abuse, and ultimate extinction, of the ''humpback'' whale. Kirk and crew (minus the Enterprise) have to go back in time to bring a couple of whales to the 23rd century to thwart the probes destruction. Spock is not himself, but he's far more hilarious, and the crew must travel in a rust bucket Klingon ship that is battle damaged from the late starship Enterprise. The movie is filled with twists and turns that are sure to still please fans and closet fans alike. Remember, Kirk and Co. are still outlaws in the 23rd century, and strangers in the 20th.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before I go any further, let me just say one thing: WOW! Okay, you might be thinkin' I'm crazy right about now, but hear me out. This is one of the most light-hearted adventures ever made, and thusly the best 'Trek.' The plot is absurd, the characters insane, and the special effects unusual and I adore it! The plot goes like this: an alien probe has entered the atmosphere of Earth, sucking the waters dry. At second glance, the conclusion is drawn that the probe is merely an investigation object. But that doesn't prevent it from wiping out the oxygen supply and water levels. In response, Kirk and his friends travel in time to retrieve the only reasonable stopping force: two humpback whales. What? Yes, apparently these creatures are the only thing that can stop the probe. Before you cast it away, just take a look. You might like what you find!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This ST was the only one I actually went to the movies to see and loved it. I bought the tape the day it came out and not that long ago purchased the DVD. Spock is very funny in this movie, and watching the whole Enterprise crew try to 'act' like they belonged on earth was hilarious. Dr McCoy was again his classic self with Spock. The story line made you cheer for the crew. I thought the character Jillian (bra-less and why?????) was annoying at times. And how could she possibly have a truck that looked like hers in California? Putting her aside, this movie was great from start to finish. The best line 'there be whales here!' Have watched this movie a gazillion times and never get tired of it. My favorite ST by far!!! Great special effects and very touching story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
OK, out of context, I like this movie a lot. However, since it is the last in a trilogy it has to be taken on those terms, so here we go. The crew of the Enterprise, in self exile on Vulcan, is determining whether they should go back to earth to face the music for the crimes they committed on behalf of their friend, Capt. Spock. They decide to go back to earth to answer the charges. Meanwhile, an alien probe enters the Alpha Quadrant headed for earth. It can stop all power systems in its path, so starships, bases, even whole planets are rendered inoperative. The crew of the Enterprise, in their commandeered Klingon Bird of Prey, are headed for earth and get the call from Starfleet to stay away. Kirk and Spock determine that the probe is calling to humpback whales on earth, but they aren't responding because there aren't any on earth anymore-they are extinct (made so by man and his carelessness). Spock says the only logical alternative is to go back in time, get a couple of humpback whales, come back to the 23rd century and have the whales, in McCoy's words, ''Tell the probe what to go do with itself!'' Kirk agrees, and... no more spoilers. This movie has a lot of nice touches and Leonard Nimoy's direction is a little more sure. The meeting and sub-plot with Dr. Gillian Taylor (Catherine Hicks) is little more than a quick rehash of Nicholas Meyer's own ''Time After Time'' (Meyer is credited with story input on the film). And this is the first time we see a Macintosh in a Star Trek film, however, there are a lot of missed opportunites as well. How much more resonant the plot would have been if we had been treated to a prologue sequence that included a court martial with Kirk and company. Then, maybe flash forward six months to Kirk and company doing freighter work on the outer edge of the Alpha Quadrant in a ship barely capable of time travel. Then the invasion of the alien probe, pick up Spock from Vulcan, save the whales. Then, the denoument, a full pardon and reinstatement of Kirk and Co. back into Starfleet. Oh, the possibilities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is easily one of the BEST of the six STAR TREK movies.This time travel idea worked well in the TV series,and it worked just as great here.The thought of bringing 2 whales from ''the past'' to help save the future was not only the work of great storytelling,but the work of somebody with ''good logic'' sense and the will to put real life problems back into STAR TREK such as we had in the TV series.A MUST HAVE FOR ALL STAR TREK FANS