The Easter Egg

The Easter Egg

by Jan Brett, Graeme Malcolm

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids Read to Me)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Easter Egg 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
allawishus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As is typical with most of Brett's work, this title is absolutely gorgeous. The details in the decorated eggs, the subtle changes in flowers around each page's picture frames, each hair on each rabbit! - all of it is sublime and beautiful. Going through one of her books almost causes over-stimulation of your visual cortex - there's so much to look at! In this title, Hoppi visits all his rabbit friends looking for an idea of how to decorate his Easter egg for the annual egg decorating competition. This gives us the opportunity to appreciate how diversely and interestingly each rabbit has chosen to decorate his or her eggs. All are gorgeous - some very intricate, others beautiful in their simplicity. There's a slight twist to the ending as Hoppi cares for a fallen robin's egg and ends up winning the Easter Rabbit's "best egg" contest. All around lovely, but noted especially for its art.
fnborries on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about Easter with a moral lesson. It is Easter time and all the rabbits are making Easter eggs for the Easter bunny. Hoppi wants to find the perfect egg and make the best one. When he was out looking for an egg to decorate he saw a robin egg. He knew he had to do the right thing and protect it and keep it warm until it hatched. For doing the right thing Hoppi is rewarded for his bravery and courage.
mjhartley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good book for children around Easter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The illustrations of the eggs are amazing. Some reviews are criticizing the story. It's fine, but the eggs are what keep the whole family coming back to this book, even the son who's getting older.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KitNY More than 1 year ago
I have followed Ms Brett for years, her stories are engaging and the artwork is some of the best I have ever seen. If you have little ones this is a book for them. If you have a love of a good read and beautiful art this is for you also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although the story leads to an unexpected ending, the story is engaging, teaches a nice lesson and, as always, jan Bretts illustrations are totally awesome, altough this aspect may not be as appreciated by children as it is by adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CamilleNYC More than 1 year ago
This book was just not up to the standards that previous Jan Brett books have set for us. The artwork is without question beautiful, but the story simply did not engage my 3 1/2 year old did the way other's have in the past. She has not asked once for me to read it to her again. I will definitely pause before I automatically buy another of this author's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Brett's illustrations are stunning. The lesson of giving of oneself instead of winning a contest is a great lesson for all students. Beautiful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 7 y.o. daughter bought this book with her birthday money because she says she "loves Jan Brett." The story is great and the illustrations are beautiful. Overall a great book to add to our collection.
magicdragongirls More than 1 year ago
My 3 year old daughter loves this book. She was fascinated by the illustrations and loved the ending to this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is extremely visual. My son and I have so much fun just looking at the bright and colorful pictures on each page. We see something different every time we read it. And the story is a unique creation on how the Easter bunny does his job. I love that it incorporates many bunnies including the main character who finds out that doing the right thing in this book gives him the experience he wants most. What an enjoyable read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She said, "Oh, this is my favorite author!" when she opened the box that surprised her in the Saturday morning mail. My 7 year old niece couldn't wait to begin reading the Easter books I had sent, and this was the first she opened. Jan Brett certainly does it again with this intriguing story and the gorgeous paintings for which she is so famous. Spring is literally bursting through the illustrations of the birds and flowers and all things natural. I will give this book again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A delightful story with amazing illustrations. A must add to your Easter library.
MormorSM More than 1 year ago
I have been buying Jan Brett's books since my daughter was little and now am buying them for my grandson. The illustrations are wonderful and, as usual, the additional story in the border is always such a bonus. I love her artwork and this book met all of my expectations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
poohmama More than 1 year ago
Another great book from Jan Brett. Keep them coming.