Educated

Educated

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$29.97 $40.00 Save 25% Current price is $29.97, Original price is $40. You Save 25%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Educated: A Memoir 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 318 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stayed up last night even though my alarm is set for 5 a.m. telling myself just one more page...and then I'd reach the next chapter and think just a little more! How often does that happen with nonfiction?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read and experience what her life has been so far and her story. Please listen to the interview she gave on NPR. Very interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This memoir is riveting, better than any fiction . I won't attempt to count the levels this book resonates with me. There are just too many. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spent a whole day reading. No chores were accomplished today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was captivated by Tara's story & the challenges she overcame. Fantastic read! I don't usually enjoy non-fiction, but I found myself fully caught up in her well-written account about her life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing true story. Heartbreaking. Inspiring. Terrifying. Uplifting. Healing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A heart wrenching and triumphant account of breaking away from an oppressive childhood. A true success story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes difficult to read because of her family experiences but always engaging and very inspiration.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tara’s story is of course unique, as we all have our own lives with individual crises and triumphs. What sets her tale apart is the rarity of the circumstances surrounding such an unusual and ultimately inspiring journey. Kudos to Tara for finding the courage to overcome mental abuse, which in many ways appeared to be far more difficult than earning her doctorate. Indeed, it appears that education provided the perspective that ultimately saved her sanity and allowed her to find her own path in this complex world of ours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A highly complex study of the strength of the human spirit, the power of family and the triumph of accepting who we are in relation to our parents. Written in a simple, truthful voice intended to impress no one and to still love those who so grievously wound us in an attempt to raise us. A triumphal and mind boggling masterpiece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really loved the book. Amazing how our upbringing can influence our whole lives and our feelings about ourselves no matter how hard we try to change. Definitely thought provoking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I didn't know this was a memoir I would have thought it a beautiful work of fiction. Everyone should read this book. To acknowledge that others live lives we can't even imagine, in ways we'll never understand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing read. Brilliant mind. Harrowing story. Real life psychological thriller. I hope Dr. Westover has a good therapist still.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author brought her family to life without denying her own imperfect memory of what was said or done. Probably as close to a balanced view as you could ever expect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love a book that changes my perspective of the world around me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am more than halfway through this book and can’t wait to pick it up again. I covered most of my reading on a flight from Amsterdam Germany to Washington DC. An amazing story of perseverance, innocence, loyalty, and strength.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written memoir that is painful, enlightening, and stunning all at once. I know I’ll come back to this to read again and again, gleaning something new and meaningful each time. I applaud Tara for being so transparent and thoughtful; by sharing her story, she is healing others in ways she can’t imagine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book about a girl whose childhood began on a beautiful mountain in a narrow world created by her father’s anti-establishment mindset of fear Take 20% off coupons from 100promo.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not quite sure how I came to be reading this book... did someone recommend it ? Did I peruse the back cover and write the title down 'to check out later?' Did I stumble across it by accident? Did I think it was the story of something else? . Well, whatever that reason was, it is dwarfed by my immense gratitude that this story opened its pages before me. . I could neither relate to the peasant, nor the scholar... my life was fairly average... but her journey of doubt, perseverance, and self-idenity drew me into her chaos, her hurricaned life. . How could such a background happen in the 1980s, modern time? How did noone have the power to rescue this family from themselves? . My jaw opened in protest many times. It was like those horror movies where you scream at the screen for the characters to GET OUT OF THE HOUSE! . Yet, at the same time, I saw such humanity in the retelling of her life. I could see her mother, her siblings, her father. . I couldn't believe her transformation at first, surely she, what? Exaggerated? Misremembered? But the details of each step in her life, each self examination, converted me, and pulled me with her through her growth and transformation. . Read this book. It's great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book captures an unbelievable story of a family who chooses family loyalty and religious fanaticism over loving kindness and acceptance of each other’s differences. It is well written and captivating in the details of a person’s life that no fiction rendition could match.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very moving recounting of a dysfunctional family, bipolar disorder, a mother who cannot stand up to her husband, a father who is a radical Mormon, abuse, and the effect it has on the author and other members of her family. A very good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It’s a difficult read, the continual abuse in this day and age, knowing it shouldn’t have occurred in Idaho, or any other state. But watching her and her brothers wrench themselves from this cycle of abuse is enlightening. Hooray for her! She made it and gained some normal family!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Powerful, moving, sad, hopeful. Thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tara’s recollections are vivid and painful. It is a miracle to me that she and two of her siblings were able to break away from their controlling father. I wonder in how many “hollers” and “runs” this scenario is being replayed right now due to allowing homeschooling (or lack thereof) by zealots, bigots, and mentally ill parents. I hope the author is able to transcend all of the damage and violence visited upon her over the years in the name of God.