Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

by Gail Honeyman

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.27 $16.00 Save 36% Current price is $10.27, Original price is $16. You Save 36%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 165 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't want to put this one down!! I love Eleanor and while her back story is heart wrenching, I wanted to learn her honest, logical appraisal of everythung. I hope she gets on in life and I really hope we all hear about it soon, HINT, HINT!!! Read this book it's funny, sad and relatable. Your story may not be as horrible, but you will feel bits of your self in these pages and you will feel stronger because of Eleanor's strength.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't want the story to end. I laughed and I cried.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down - just had to find out how Eleanor would make out!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not want the book to end. It is well written and the author created characters that need to have additional books written about them. Just an outstanding read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've ever read. Absolutely perfect!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful debut novel, funny and sad and a bit crazy too. A little hard to follow if you're American, but it did not detract from the story at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book from beginning to end. Very well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eleanor Oliphant is one of my favorite books this year. A character you will come to love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautifully written and kept me reading till the very last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story and characters so well put together , Eleanor way of s peaking fascinating , wonderful story , highly recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My review must be taken with a grain of salt - It's been a while since I sat down and read the book but I did so knowing that it was highly praised and even on Reese Witherspoon's recommendation list. With the praise this book received, I expected something earth shattering and received something bland instead. The rating of poor comes more from being let down than the writing actually being sub par but if this book is supposed to change the way we see the world then it should've been better than what it was. I know that I am supposed to feel for Elanore, that I am supposed to find the calloused bits of her in myself and see that healing through others is possible and could lead to amazing results. But she comes off as callous and foreign, detached from human emotion by such a strong force that I don't feel connected to her at all. Reading the beginning section, I know the point is to view Elanore as our hero, where our heart strings tug, and feel that every outsider looking in needs a lesson in kid gloves. Did I miss a crucial passage when reading? Am I not supposed to feel connected to Elanore and agree that it's the world that is wrong and not her? There was never a point in the book that I felt like I was rooting for an underdog. I didn't want Elanore to find out that putting in effort with makeup made the world kinder if it didn't do anything for her. I didn't want her to feel like interacting with others was a necessary evil if it didn't ring true. All of the "healing" that took place felt rushed and staged. Maybe it had been more drawn out, had given me time to feel for her plight and cheer her on when she found a pair of non-sensible shoes to wear. But instead it felt like the editor was heavy handed and got rid of the bulk of the story that would've made it believable. All in all, this book did nothing for me. A quick airplane read that left me wishing I hadn't spent the money on a physical copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman May 2017 Fiction Miss Eleanor Oliphant is 30 years old living an extremely structured life since graduating from University with a degree in Classics. She has worked as a finance clerk for Bob, the owner, since she was 21 years old. Although she has experienced a lot of trauma in her childhood moving from foster homes frequently. Aside from her weekly phone calls on Wednesday nights with her narcissistic, manipulative mother, Eleanor feels that everything is fine. Her mother serves up weekly condescending and cruel insults. Eleanor manages to cope with her difficult past by suppressing the memories and keeping her routine. She is aware that her outward appearance draws unwanted attention since the accident. Slowly, Eleanor discovers a reason to venture outside her comfort zone...a crush on a local musician. She also makes an unlikely connection with a coworker when they happen upon an elderly man in medical distress on the sidewalk. They continue to check on Sam and gradually become involved with his family. The trio are an unlikely match but their connection is endearing. What I enjoyed most this book was the manner in which Eleanor Oliphant expressed herself. She is well spoken and articulate often using "flowery" language reminiscent of her strict, proper childhood. I love the manner in which she navigates her way to a more "normal" life. Through the ups and downs of her experiences she realizes she is stronger and braver than she ever knew. Her life does not need to be defined by her past. Such a delightful character that will have you cheering for her and laughing at her faux pas. She is a testament that good can come from bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad & heartwarming. You will enjoy this wonderful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny, sad and you are very drawn to the characters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thought provoking . Humorous, and disturbing .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly enjoyed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It’s been a while since I’ve read a book that made me laugh so much and made me cry so much. This was also one of those books that made me hear the narrator’s voice in my head as I read. Eleanor‘s confusion over everyday, simple things that the rest of us take for granted was entirely endearing. The author made me truly believe that Eleanor Oliaphant is going to be perfectly fine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fuuny, sad, strange story. I loved reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this read more than any other in quite some time. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally engaging. Very clever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eleanor is quirky, odd, difficult, poignant, and one of a kind, yet a prism for all sorts of ways of being. Very funny and moving book, beautifully written. Just perfect. A rich, powerful, resonant book, so, so good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great character evokution
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Take 20% off coupons from 100promo.com
ugtgtgyb More than 1 year ago
wonderful book!! take 5$ from 100promo.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A truly wonderful book! I couldn't put it down, best book i have read all year, a must read