Farmer Boy (Little House Series: Classic Stories #2)

Farmer Boy (Little House Series: Classic Stories #2)

Audio Other(Other - Unabridged, 4 Cassettes, 6 Hours)

$22.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Farmer Boy 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best thing ever happening!+++++9,0000000% asome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gtgtb but come back tomorrow fam!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was in third grade my teacher read almost all of them I think,I like when the teacher whipped Bill Richy!! I love Laura's books!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the entire Laura Ingalls Wilder seiris. I don't know if Farmer Boy is my favorite book; but it's a good read full of laughs, belive me! RebekahRater
InTheBookcase More than 1 year ago
Almanzo Wilder is a farmer, who wants to be just as hard a worker as his father is. He helps his family by working with their crops of hay, selling the potatoes, hoeing carrots, planting corn & pumpkins, and picking berries. He learns how to do everything else on the farm too, like dealing with the sheep & pigs, to training the young oxen & horses, to gathering the sap from the trees. Almanzo also does things that other children do, like going to school, or sledding on a winter day, and sometimes he gets in trouble, whether he's in it by himself or with his older brother & sisters. There's usually something exciting going on, like the County Fair, or a holiday like Independence Day. When Mother & Father leave for a few days, what do you think the children do in their absence? He's a hungry growing boy and it seems that the Wilder's table is always overflowing with good home-cooked food, so there's plenty, even for Almanzo's very large appetite. "Farmer Boy" is the third book in the "Little House" series, but since Almanzo's story isn't connected to the other stories in the series, you can read this book at any time, even if you haven't read any of the other books. A few years ago, my family read this book aloud, and I've read it again myself since then. I enjoy reading the "Little House" books, and this one is a definite favorite. I think anyone, boys or girls, would like reading this story.
Mom-in-NY More than 1 year ago
I bought this book to read with my 5 year old son who loves learning about what life was like in the past (especially during 'pioneer' times). We visited the Farmer's Museum in Cooperstown, NY this past summer and he relates much of what he saw there to Almanzo's life. He has very little difficulty reading this book, but prefers to hear me read it to him. Some parts have been very excting, and others are a little more harsh than I had originally wanted to discuss with him (the death of a past school teacher being beaten to death by an unruly group of students---don't worry this info does not spoil any part of the book ¿), but he is very mature for his five years and has been able to deal with it. We are loving this book so far....I would highly recommend this book to any child interested in learning about life in the late 1800's or agriculture/ growing up on a farm.
MamaFoxHF More than 1 year ago
I have 3 boys ages 8, 9 1/2 and 11 1/2 and last summer we read some of Farmer Boy. We would start our reading time with 3 boys but my youngest was not yet old enough to sit still and listen through a whole chapter and so not everyone heard all of the chapters. Without full participation, my commitment faltered and we ended up not finishing the book. This summer the boys asked if Farmer Boy could be our Summer Bedtime Book again, so I gave it another try. After they are in their PJs, they all bring their pillows, fuzzy blankets and bean bags into the living room and we usually make it through a couple of chapters in an evening. We often stop to talk about vocabulary words to make sure that everyone is learning new words as well as understanding the words in the context that they are used (like "gay" means "happy" in this book.) My boys love their Wii, TV and Nintendo DSs, however this book can keep their attention beautifully! What I love the most are the memories that I am making with my boys. So the other day I came up with the idea of buying them each their own copy of Farmer Boy (the copy that I have been reading out of is my yellowed, tattered paperback copy that was printed in 1971.) With each copy, I will write them each a note to help them remember our fun Farmer Boy reading time during the summer of 2010. I will place the 3 copies with their notes in my hope chest and give the books to them when they each become fathers. Though far from Super Mom, sometimes when I do nurturing or fun things with my boys I tell them, "Promise me that you will do this with your children some day." I do hope that they remember and continue with this great tradition of reading to their kids! Now go read to your kids, grandchildren or even your spouse, it really is a fun way to bond!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i think this is the best Laura Inglles Wilder EVER wrote. it's become my favorite book i've read for years!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!! I think that it is the best book in the whole series. I have no idea what my favorite part is. Maybe when their mom and dad are gone and they eat a ton of ice cream and watermelon and cake. And when they are shearing and he finds the kittens. Or when he takes the whole sheep up to the loft.
bratlaw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A book by a favorite author. I've reread this series so many times, the books are becoming very worn. Laura and her family, Pa, Ma, Mary, and baby Carrie live in the big words of Wisconsin near Pepin. Laura"s unique style of story telling is appealing to all ages.
megadallion on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I didn't read this as a little girl. I really wish I had though because it was amazing. I can't believe I learned so much from a children's book - everything from how pioneers had to make houses and furniture to how they concocted cheese and candy. This gives an intimate view of what it was like to grow up in the pioneering days from the vantage point of a little girl, Laura. I'm looking forward to finishing the series.
rainbowdarling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third story in the series is an interesting departure. Instead of telling the next chapter of Laura's life, it tells a bit of Almanzo's. The Wilder family is different than the Ingalls family somewhat. The family at this point of the story is still in New York State and that provides a different picture of life than that of life on the prairie frontier. It gives us a little idea of who this Almanzo Wilder is, too, before he reappears later in the story. Of all the stories, I enjoyed this one, but it was my least favorite because of its departure from the story of Laura's family. It feels like an interjection rather than being a part of a chronological telling of the story. All the same, the characters in it are interesting and I felt like I was actually there thanks to the descriptions within. It's a good story that just doesn't seem like a true part of the book series.
BoundTogetherForGood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this to Aaron and Marlo in January 2001. I began reading it to Matthew and Elijah sometime while we lived in the UK. Eventually Gigi and I reached the point we were ready to begin this book so I stopped and began it again, for her. We love the whole series of books, as well as the television series.
eesti23 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Farmer Boy is the third book in the Little House on the Prairie series and focuses on the young Almanzo Wilder. In the future Almanzo and Laura Ingalls will marry but for now the book focuses on Almazo's youth from his education, both in and out of school, and home/family life. I really enjoyed this book in the series, especially because it showed the differences between Almanzo's more luxurious childhood compared to Laura's less luxurious childhood.
sharese on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:The life of Laura Ingalls Wilder's husband as a child is told in the style in which she told about her own childhood. He grew up as a farmer's child in NY with all the responsiblities of a farm. It's a great chapter book meant to be read and understood by children. Always a classic.Review:I really enjoyed this book and all that LIW wrote. I truly loved Almonzo's father's character and he reminded me very much of Laura's Pa in the way he thought about the world and what he wanted for his children. The adventures he had with his sister and brother are great to read and really have great family values behind all the words.
silversurfer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Charming book about young Almanzo's life growing up on the Wilder farm, in New York in the 1800's. He is only 10 years old, a long way off from becoming Laura's future husband, but this book sets the tone for his personality. The descriptive narrative is amazing. You really fel like you are there, sitting down to Christmas dinner. You can almost smell the aroma of all the varied foods on the table. Farm life was hard and Laura's story about Almanzo's growing up, makes me appreciate the life I live today.
Whisper1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've never read the Little House on the Prairie books. When I found three of them, including this one, at a neighborhood yard sale, I couldn't resist paying .10 for each.While some who don't understand the appeal of YA works may scoff at this series, I found this book to be delightfully refreshing.The beauty and charm lies in the simplicity of rural farm life in the 19th century. Written from the perspective of ten year old Almanzo Wilder, there is a rhythm and lyrical quality throughout.Nothing earth scattering occurs, and unlike many YA books where there is a coming of age theme, this story veers off the path of that direction and instead, like a babbling brook, quietly pulls the reader into the tale of a young man with a solid, hard-working family who care about each other and do what has to be done to make a living.Harkening back to a time when the items we now call necessities were not available, there were charming descriptions of soft candle light shining through the window on hard crusted icy snow, of sleigh rides to church, of one room school houses, of planting seeds by hand and of sheering sheep, dying wool and sewing clothes.This week was a bear at work and each night I arrived home tired and stressed, this was exactly what I needed to read -- a wonderful tale that provided relaxation and smiles.Recommended
LCoale1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love this book like no other! I grew up with it, and know half of it word for word, but I still love re-reading it. It's like a book version of comfort food. The descriptions are vivid and wonderful. I really get a picture of what it'd be like to live in the 1800s on a farm, it's great.
EmmanuelDA on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Laura Ingles Wilder probably read alot when she was a kid. I can tell. Farmer boy is my proof. Long and perfect.
Kiwiria on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It took me quite awhile to read this one the first time around, because I didn't originally think that a book not about Laura could possibly be as good. I don't know why I thought that, seeing as it was the same person writing them, and fortunately my mum talked me into reading it. Now, it's one of my favourite of the series. It has a lot more explaining how they do this or that, but that doesn't bother me at all, since lots of this is completely new to me. I also like the fact that this book spans over almost exactly one year, so you get to see how life on a farm was back in those days.
skier123 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alonzo lives on a farm. He faces challenges such as an accident in the pantry and many more. This is a great book.
Zathras86 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I came back to this old childhood favorite because I am spending this summer working on a small vegetable farm. These books are every bit as wonderful as they were when I first read them as a child, although I notice different things now.This is certainly an idealized version of 19th-century American farming - the Wilder family farm is wonderfully prosperous and the main hardship of the story is that Almanzo's father does not think he is old enough to help train the horses. I suppose the fact that adults always idealize their own childhood, combined with the fact that this childhood was something Laura Ingalls Wilder heard about secondhand from her husband rather than experienced firsthand, leads to it being even more sugar-coated than the other books. But it's still incredibly charming, and there is something that appeals to me about the view of life and morality presented here - the incredible self-sufficiency of the farm is incredible to read about, and makes me secretly wish I had as many useful skills as any given character in the novel.The book also rivals the Redwall series with endless descriptions of mouth-watering meals. I wish I could eat like that as often as these characters do!