Gooney Bird Greene (Gooney Bird Series #1)

Gooney Bird Greene (Gooney Bird Series #1)

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
51 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gooney Bird Greene 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really good if you think its for little kids by looking at the front its not it is for kids of ALL ages actually highly reccomend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best book i ever read! I wish lowry would make a sequel because i was sad when it ended!i give it 10000000000000000000000(ect) stars ! ITS A MUST READ Book Addict
Sean Long More than 1 year ago
A great book 4 3rd graders.
Bill Murray More than 1 year ago
this book is awsome i read it myself but not on the nook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A friend recommended this book to me for my second/third grade class. Read it and loved it! Will be a fabulous read aloud that kids can connect with as well as a wonderful book for teaching writing. I want more Gooney books now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want a book that helps your child or students write, this is an excellent start. Gooney Bird guides the children through her life while teaching the children in her classroom where to get stories and how to tell them. I used this book with the students in my classroom, and we all loved it. I plan to use other Lois Lowry books to help further their understanding of writing.
Heather19 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I guess this was an okay story, and maybe the unrealistic writing was the author's way of expressing how unusual Gooney Bird was. But to me it came off as more annoying/stupid then anything else. What kind of teacher always addresses her class by their grade? "Okay second-graders!" It sounds so strange! And the way Gooney Bird acts, how she says "I like to be absolutely the center of attention" all the time, and even talks down to the teacher! She basically runs the classroom, and it's just so unrealistic that it gets annoying.However, I did like the basic plot. The idea of turning ordinary happenings, like giving driving directions, into a big awesome story just by knowing how to tell it a certain way (and still remain truthful), it's a pretty good storyline.
mmsharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gooney Bird Greene is about a new girl in school who knows how to 'tell stories.' She's always dressed unique and has her own style about herself. She tells stories very well with props and almost as an adult voice that she portrays.
MesserPicks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cute story about a unique little girl who is a great story teller. The thing that I like about this book is it would be a great way to teach students about great stories and holding the reader's/listener's attention. This would be a great read aloud to share with students when discussing important elements of a story!
kaitlinc23 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Genre: Realistic Fiction Level: Primary This book is a good example of realistic fiction because this is a real setting in a classroom, with a classroom teacher, students and a brand new student. This little girl comes into the class and is quite the story teller. She has the class completely into all of her stories. This is a real type of setting but the scenario is not real.
bibliophile26 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for my Battle of the Books Team at work. A thoroughly horrible book. Lowry (Newbery award winner of The Giver) is so much better than this.
the_abbeys on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful and insightful book on storytelling. You will enjoy the interesting stories of Gooney Bird Greene and will 'suddenly' feel transported inside Mrs. Pidgeon's class. My son learned a lot about writing and telling a story from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THE BOOK. IT'S AMAZING ???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You were Ambahstah, right? e-e ~Le Coconut
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its ok)) "Forever...my name...my name is Foreverdawn" her eyes fluttered open and she looked up at him with pale blue eyes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She sighs. She leaves the clan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
[Sorry, something was up with my wifi yesterday -_-] Oakstar felt helpless as did Simpleglow. Looking at her with a slightly desperate look, the tom leaned forward. "Forever what?" He questioned, his confusion setting in because of her words. •>Confused Oakstar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999000009999999999stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I think it was GREAT! It was better than a lot of the books I frequently read. If you enjoyed this book, you'll also enjoy "The Giver", which is also by Lois Lowry. "The Giver" and "Gooney Bird Greene" are not the same, but both are great books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago