Happy Hour Is for Amateurs: A Lost Decade in the World's Worst Profession

Happy Hour Is for Amateurs: A Lost Decade in the World's Worst Profession

by Philadelphia Lawyer

Paperback

$13.89 $14.99 Save 7% Current price is $13.89, Original price is $14.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Happy Hour Is for Amateurs: A Lost Decade in the World's Worst Profession 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
citygirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Why: An allegedly true story by a bitter, disillusioned lawyer. Since I am a bitter, disillusioned lawyer with allegedly true stories of my own, it seemed natural.There are two things about this book. One: it's crude and somewhat debauched, but the debauchery seems like he's trying too hard. Perhaps it is there to demonstrate the lengths to which a miserable lawyer will go for escapism. I wasn't really impressed with this part, but Two: he tells the truth (I could recognize it) about practicing law in this country, and that's the real reason why he didn't sign his name to this book. You might think, What's the big deal, it's not like the legal profession is the Mafia. To which I would answer, hmmm.... I think, that in many (but not all) cases, to be successful in a law firm, you have bifurcate your personality, compromise your integrity, raise your BS tolerance to max level and learn to trust no one (not to mention get real comfortable with boredom), all of which are extremely painful. No one wants you to know this. That's where the value of this book lies.
knfmn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was just ok. It had some very funny parts, but dragged a lot. It seemed like a lot of the stuff was just thrown in, as if the author was flailing around for some filler material and figured he'd throw in another party to eat up another 5-10 pages. I enjoyed it, but can't see myself going back and re-reading it in the future.
chisme311 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At first I wasn¿t really sure about this book. As I didn¿t and still don't know anything about the author, and the cover I must say it is not very compelling. But as they say: "Don¿t judge a book by its cover", so I said to myself: Just give it a try and if you don¿t like it well, you will always have the choice. I thought it was some sort of exclusive treaty for lawyers, something other people wouldn¿t understand. But this is nothing like that; this book speaks about the life and adventures of a guy whose life to the extreme meant ¿life itself¿. It could be grotesque to some, too descriptive to others, also an understanding that life being young and beautiful could be ugly and stupid too.This is a fictional biography, a compilation of situations of a man whose life meant not caring about anything but to have everything. It is well written, smart, hilarious, although unoriginal.
dogdayspress on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Happy Hour was somewhat entertaining but it would become tedious at times. Perhaps there is a certain appreciation that would be more appealing to those in the legal community where said individuals can more identify with inside dilemmas and situations. Also, there is a level of narcissism that pervades many of the situations. Again, this would be relevant and more entertaining for those in the legal system. Just the same, it was fun in parts and I know there is a more enthusiastic audience out there that would thoroughly enjoy this book. The writing is terrific. I just couldn¿t feel any sense of attraction with the situations and characters.All is not lost, I will pass this book along to those I know will greatly appreciate it.
INTPLibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Philadelphia Lawyer is someone I would probably never know in real life. Reading this book was like peeking into the mind of a person who if I did meet, I would think to myself.. "I just don't get how this guy thinks!" So, even though it's not meant to be, it's very educational.Also, very entertaining, lol. Most of the chapters made me grin or laugh at least once.If you're planning on reading this and walking around with the book, be prepared to explain what it's about. The cover and title got me a few raised eyebrows. (Which I also found entertaining.)
ironicqueery on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's important to note that "The Philadelphia Lawyer" thinks that middle-class consists of a $250k salary a year and regards women as sexual objects who he continually insults. If you can put up with that personality, you'll be able to make it through the book. As it was, I almost stopped after the second chapter, but decided to read on because the writing style is easy to read and I figured it important to "understand the enemy", someone who is completely self-absorbed, has no idea what "real work" is like, and whose world revolves around himself. That being said, the rest of "Happy Hour Is For Amateurs" was, for the most part, interesting. The writing is good and entertaining. It was just hard to stomach the insulting personality writing the book. If he would get over his sexist views, he'd actually make for a good writer. The failure to get inside his other characters' heads and see other viewpoints leaves the book feeling incomplete, though, and hard to take seriously. It's hard to believe someone so incredibly superficial and sexist really feels like an outsider and a cog in the machine.
meklarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had mixed feelings about this book. While reading it, I traveled through a spectrum of feelings, from disgust to amusement to ambivalence and many points in between. While this is a memoir, presumably real, I feel that the author was dealt (or made himself) an easy way out. One recurring thought as I read through was the expectation that surely a more interesting or worthwhile tale was right around the corner. However, I didn't hold my breath as the end of the tale arrived, and neither should you.Ultimately this tale is somewhat funny and entertaining- but really just literary empty calories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JosephCopeli More than 1 year ago
While this book might arouse interest for the first few chapters, the entertainment value drops off quickly. How many times can the same tweaked story be retold? How many times can one guy relive the same premise with minor alterations in the details? Here's the gist of the book: the narrator gets drunk/high, gets into a situation, then gets out of said situation, sometimes with wit (but usually through dumb luck). Rinse, repeat. Also, throw in a few easy women, and one friend with an alcohol/rage/drug problem whose name keeps changing for some odd reason... The Philadelphia Lawyer is the kind of guy that rubs me the wrong way. He's proud of getting through college drunk, squeaking through law school and getting high to escape the boredom of legal work. Boo hoo. And to top it off, he thinks he's better and smarter than nearly every person he meets! However, this book is not without merit. It gives what appears to be an honest and intimate look into the legal profession. It's a corrupt system, like many other systems in our society, and I wouldn't be surprised if it scared off some law students. [Disclosure: This review also appears on FingerFlow.com, a site for review and discussion of creative works.]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel, written by a wannabe Tucker Max is self-indulgent and incredibly boring. For a so-called party fiend, his life is incredibly boring and uninteresting. I considered putting this book back in my building's library, but truly felt it would be better to just throw it in the trash instead, so nobody else would be stuck reading it. If this is your thing read Tucker Max or Hunter Thompson instead. Don't waste your time reading this crap.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago