The Hippopotamus

The Hippopotamus

by Stephen Fry

Paperback

$14.95 $16.00 Save 7% Current price is $14.95, Original price is $16. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 25
MARKETPLACE
11 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hippopotamus 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
an absolute riot. an interesting plot detailed with the most hilarious incidents. fun reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book.
Neilsantos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yes, THAT stephen Fry. This was a very good book. The first 20 pages are rough, because the hippopotamus is pretty vicious (like they are) and he talks alot about the state of modern british theatre (one of the few areas I know little and care less about). I almost gave up on it before I got past that, to when the actual story begins. It's worth it. He isn't laugh aloud like Chris Moore; he's more like, oh how wicked, as if Quentin Tarantino directed Hamlet.
rrriles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can only seem to read Stephen Fry in a deck chair or on vacation, which I think qualifies his work as light reading. That said, it's usually pretty good light reading.
mumoftheanimals on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sharply written narrative of freeloading elderly poet that covers English upper classes, God and death. It's PG Wodehouse with sex (rather too much in my prudish opinion). It is the best of his I have read.
ofstoneandice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There's a tangible improvement here from his first book, The Liar. The plot was a solid thread throughout the story, which is always a plus. But what I'd like to know is how I'm always surprised when Mr. Fry divulges on an unscrupulous taboo? Perhaps it's that suggestion of tweed-ness that his appearance and manner emanates; it's so misleading. And yet I can't help myself from delighting in his daring. The voice of Ted Wallace was particularly chuckle-invoking.
MinaIsham on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
-- Some people advise to leave a book if it doesn't grab your attention at start. One reason I read is to expand my knowledge. I'm glad I didn't close Stephen Fry's THE HIPPOPOTAMUS permanently after reading first few chapters. I am usually rewarded when I struggle at beginnning of novels. Structure, plot, & characters are interesting as they are revealed. I'm glad I invested some time early in THE HIPPOPOTAMUS. Fry is a great British writer as well as actor. This novel is a modern classic. --
fist on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An earlier work by Stephen Fry, it is set in the classical huis clos of an English country estate. No murders occur, but there is a whodunit atmosphere that is expertly announced on its first pages and keeps you wondering until the denouement (which takes a few pages too many, if truth be told). Mr Fry's wit and erudition are on fine display here, though not as finely measured as in his later work. The use of recondite vocabulary is a bit - dare I say - unctuous, and would be annoying for lesser personalities than Mr Fry's. Rather unsettlingly, the author deftly inserts unorthodox and non-PC views in the narrative, eg on international jewry and on sex with underage boys. All in all, a nice holiday read.
isabelx on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Insanely, as if by the power of hypnosis, I found myself asking whether, since I'd shown him mine, he'd show me his.He blushed like a ripe peach. 'You don't want to see it really,' he said.'Well, can you recite any? Truly, I'd love to hear some.'This from Ted Wallace, mind you, who'd been known to hurl himself into moving traffic at the prospect of verse recitation.The poem was short, which was good. The poem was sweet, which was good. The poem had form, which was good. The poem was bad, which was bad. The poem was called 'The Green Man', which was unpardonable.A very clever book - witty, entertaining and surprising. Everyone sees Ted Wallace as a a grumpy drunken old curmudgeon , but underneath it all he has a kind heart, spending time with his godson David (who wrote the poem mentioned above) and going to the East of England show with David's brother Simon, when he couldn't think of anything he'd like less than trudging round a boiling hot field looking at pigs and tractors. He is also the only one to see the truth about what is happening at Swafford Hall, while everyone else succumbs to wishful thinking and sees what they want to see.
kousouna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's laugh out loud funny!
cayzers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Best book Stephen Fry has written. Wonderfully crafted, a good understanding of human nature - and just plain funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure whether the labour that went into producing this flowery style of writing is worth the effort to read it. Not a bad story line, if you don't mind beastiality, but it feels like I deserve a week's wages for the effort of javing finished it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago