Holding Strong

Holding Strong

by Lori Foster

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 25
MARKETPLACE
33 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Holding Strong 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Denver and Cherry's story. I look forward to Stack's but more excited for Armie and Merissa. Love the connection to previous stories with Rowdy, Reese, Logan and Margaret.
Maria-Rose More than 1 year ago
This latest story in the Ultimate MMA fighter series has all the hallmarks of a Lori Foster story - a protective alpha male and a feisty friendly female. I really enjoyed this story as Denver hooks up with Cherry and realizes that one night with her, after trying to resist her charms for so long, just isn't going to be enough. Add to that the fact that Cherry has had a troubled past that is coming back to haunt her and his protective urges jump right to the surface. They share some steamy love scenes right from the start and they don't let up throughout the story, quickly becoming something more than just sex. Equally as good as the romance is the camaraderie between Denver and the rest of the fighters. They are a bunch of fun-loving males with a penchant for beautiful females and the alpha traits we've come to expect. I love how they bond together to protect Cherry, no questions asked. We see several points of view in this story, not just from Denver and Cherry but from some of the other guys as well (including a villain POV) and the setup is there for more books in the series. It was a fun and sexy read. 4 stars.
HoudinisAngels More than 1 year ago
Holding Strong is the second novel in the Ultimate series, featuring Denver and Cherry.   I will admit Cannon (main character in No Limits, Ultimate #1) has had my heart since he  was featured way back in Getting Rowdy (in the Love Undercover series), but all of the  fighters in this new series are making me love them each in their own way. Denver and Cherry have both had feelings for each other for a while but they both hide it in a way not really knowing how the other one feels (classic case of afraid to know and  afraid not to know). Until Cherry finally gets the guts to approach him one night and they  both let their guards down and go for it.   Cherry's not so great childhood left her lonely so she likes to interact with everyone now,  however, in his possessive way Denver feels she's too flirty and that's what made him back  off previously because he wasn't sure she'd be in for a full time relationship.  Denver kept  his distance but after they got together he realized he couldn't stay away from her.  But with  Cherry's past creeping in she's afraid to let him in and have him hurt, or even worse have  their friends hurt. Lori did a fantastic job with their story.  There's more interaction with secondary characters  which helps round out the couple's close knit group of "family".  She had just the right amount  of female insecurity and male possessiveness that I felt made the character relatable.
Anonymous 6 months ago
steamy+romance+suspence+and+excitement%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+is+my+first+book+I+have+read+in+this+series+and+I+really+enjoyed+it%21+I+will+now+look+for+the+rest+of+them%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I read, I do so because I want to me entertained, distracted, & amused. Foster's books do it all w/a good plot, wonderful characters w/faults & strengths, & fears, & that indefinable quality of a good storyteller.
C_R_Ortiz-Glez More than 1 year ago
I’m giving this book a 5-star review because it deserves it. Though parts of it deserve a 9-star review. I am not lying when I say that Lori Foster has done a beyond amazing job on the book and that I LOVE it! But there are parts, specifically the parts with Armie and Rissy, that I’m surprised I’m even able to read through all the squealing I do. I am finding that as I am reading through the Ultimate series, my main goal is Armie’s story. That in no way takes away the wonderfulness of the characters and stories leading up to it. Read this book! Enjoy the love and loyalty between trained MMA fighters and those they care about. You won’t regret it. Happy Reading!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't read the first book in the series, but once l figured it out, it was a breeze. Loved cherry and Denver story, looking forward to reading the series.
kathryntesh More than 1 year ago
Another sexy, believable winner from Lori Foster! I highly recommend this book. The book is hot. It is believable. Her martial artists are very like martial artists I have known. For those of us who have read Foster’s earlier books, it also contains characters we met and grew to love in earlier stories, although no knowledge of those books is needed to enjoy this book. There is a fine line between rewarding her long-time readers with glimpses of old characters’ lives after their stories, and writing a story that stands alone. Foster makes this balance look easy. This story tells the romance between Denver and Cherry. Denver is a heavyweight MMA fighter, so he is a really big guy. Like all her martial artists, he values honor and family (and friends who are family). He works hard at improving himself. Cherry is hiding from her past and she feels responsible for the harm her family has done and plans to do. Because she feels responsible she wants to protect everyone from them. That creates a lot of tension because Denver feels protective of her, plus he realizes that in a contest of strength he has many advantages even without fighting dirty. Denver is a big guy. The girls wonder if he is big “all over”. I enjoy the scenes where he has to tell a woman ‘my eyes are up here’. I love the turnabout and humor in Foster’s books! I don’t think it will be a spoiler to say Denver and Cherry find their Happily Ever After. Another fun thing is the book trailer on www.lorifoster.com. I am not familiar with book trailers, which are video introductions to the book. However, it was a fun way to get to meet Denver & Cherry before the book was released.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another knock out story. Love Lori Fosters books and this was no different. Denver is sexy and very protective. Cherry is very independent yet very protective of Denver. Their chemistry is explosive. And love the banter between all the characters. Absolutely fabulous
julieford More than 1 year ago
Lori Foster has a way of creating a fantastic story involving love, danger, drama and some extremely handsome fighters. Denver is attracted to Cherry but fights the attraction thinking that she is a flirt. Cherry tries to conceal her feelings for Denver but finally goes after what she wants. When the two get together Cherry's past comes back to create trouble. Denver and the gang protect those in their group. This is a wonderful story showing that you can overcome your past and be anything that you want to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like I said Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holding Strong is full of humor and steamy moments. Dever is strong, loyal and sexy. Cherry is a fighter and survior who is very independent. Together Dever and Cherry take you on a fun and sexy journey, that is not without its challenges.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took a lot for me to get through this. Good idea for the plot but the characters seems somewhat immature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so hooked on this series. I really was unsure if I could enjoy books about MMA fighters. I have found with Lori Foster I had absolutely nothing to worry about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Romance, suspense, humor and drama... great combo to make an enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lori Foster has another knock out! Her books are always full of thrills and adventures and the romance is hot. This series has been outstsnding so far looking forward to Stack and Armie's stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It held me from beginning to end. Denver wanted Cherry and once he has her, he wants to be her protector. Cherry has a past and she has her fears, but she also has a desire to take care of herself. The two of them have to figure out if they can meet in the middle and be good for each other. A little bit of love, a little bit of steam and a lot of action. It kept me interested, was believable and fun. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## This was so much better than the first book in the series. God, I really didn't like that book. The hero in this book was so much better; not portrayed as a man-whore. Thanks for that Lori. Man that sh*t gets old. And Armie was adorable in this installment. Albeit still a ladies man, at least he was respectful in this one. The beginning bugged me a little when Cherry was sick for chapter after chapter, but once that was done I quite enjoyed the rest. My recommendation is to skip book one and read this one instead.