Hooked on Love

Hooked on Love

by Jennie Marts

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99 $2.99 Save 67% Current price is $0.99, Original price is $2.99. You Save 67%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Hooked on Love 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
DaneWeimMama More than 1 year ago
Such a fun read. I love how Jennie Marts is able to pull you into the story. Her characters are always so fun & entertaining & you find yourself rooting for their happy ending. Hooked on Love was a sweet (& sexy) love story about a big city reporter & a quiet low key mountain fisherman. There were some super funny situations..... a snake in waders is just one episode that will have you laughing. This is the second book in the Cotton Wood series but can be read as a stand alone. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
JensReadingObsession More than 1 year ago
reat follow up to the first book in the series and just as charming! I expected Avery to be the typical city girl who is completely out of place in nature, but she completely surprised me, (and Sully), by how easily she adapted - after a few funny mishaps. I loved how sexy Sully was without him even realizing it. The chemistry between them was great, and aside from the expected hiccup between them, it was pretty drama free. I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book. I was not compensated for this review, all conclusions are my own.
BookSnuggle More than 1 year ago
Wow! This book was so much fun! I laughed so hard so many times that my husband kept asking me "what is it". Jennie Marts delivers lots of humor, steamy romance, and a heartwarming romance in this story. "Hooked on Love" by Jennie Marts is book number two in the "Cotton Creek Romance" series. This is Avery Oliver and Sullivan Reed's story. On the surface Avery and Sullivan characters don't seem compatible but they are perfect for each other. This is a great story to escape from life's troubles. Get comfy, because once you start you won't be able to put the book down. This story is the best stress reliever! FYI, includes mature content. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
sweetpotato101 More than 1 year ago
Looking for a broody, blushing fisherman - one who doesn’t realize how sexy he is? Like to hear about an adventurous city girl writing an article about this gruff fisherman - one she loves making blush for his sexy, lumberjack ways? Look no further! I giggled and laughed out loud through the entirety of Hooked on Love by Jennie Marts that my face still hurts from grinning ear-to-ear. Sullivan Reed completely stole my heart, and he hasn’t given it back! His ex, aka the “She-devil,” did such a number on his confidence, by calling him dull and telling him he wasn't good enough. I wanted to shake Sully sometimes and shout, “You’re a catch, you sexy man!” Thankfully, he has Avery for that. She is such a forthright character, letting Sully know how sexy she finds him. It is adorable how often this gruff man with his beard and fisherman ways blushes throughout this story. He even attempts to dress up for her with his “good” cologne. A first since his ex left him. Avery is his perfect catch (and yes, that pun is intended). This book is full of puns and innuendo, and I snorted with giggles. I love that Sully didn’t pick up on how dirty his fish lingo sounds either until Avery points it out. When Sully mentions that he doesn’t want the attention of a woman in town, Avery teases him, saying the woman should use a different approach to get his attention. “If she were smart, she’d take up fishing. I heard it’s a great way to get a rod in your hands.” And, wait for it ... he blushes! “How could she make fishing sound so dirty?” It’s because he’s as hooked on her as she is on him. I love seeing them break their walls down, and I just adored the entire premise. The bold, yet undeniably earnest Avery and the shy, moody Sully. It is a refreshingly fun read, and there isn’t any added drama because this book doesn’t need it. The characters run this story, and I am honored that for a day, I lived in this story with them. It also didn’t hurt that halfway through the story my dreams came true. In one part, Sully whips off his shirt in the rain and grabs a power tool (I’ll let you read which one). When Sully sees Avery’s open mouth, he assumes he looks like a scary murderer. Avery sees something else - the same thing as I did. A crazy hot lumberjack! I pumped my fist because, heck, yeah! Hooked on Love snagged me on the hook and reeled me in. I went along quite willingly, and what a catch this book is. Now, if you’ll excuse me, dear readers … (picks up fishing rod and car keys) I think I might head down to a river. In a small town. Probably in the mountains of Colorado. This girl is goin’ fishin’! *I received an arc for an honest review. This review is also part of the Tasty Book Tour. Check it out here: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2016/09/hooked-on-love-cotton-creek-2-by-jennie.html
JulieMaguda More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by Jennie Marts that I've ever read and I really enjoyed it! I will definitely have to read more from her. Hooked on Love was a fun romance that had me laughing out loud more than once. It is part of her Cotton Creek series but can be read as a stand alone. I did not read the first book in the series and didn't feel lost or like I was missing anything at all. I really loved Avery's character. I thought she was going to be an annoying stuck up city girl but she was really funny. She has a dirty mind and talks in innuendo a lot which had me smiling like a goof while reading it in the coffee shop the other day. Avery is definitely not used to the outdoors so I laughed at some of her misadventures. Sullivan is your typical outdoorsy guy. He loves everything about fishing, has a beard, dresses like a lunberjack, and has muscles in all the right places. haha! He starts off as a gruff and grumpy guy but Avery brings out his lovable side and he finds himself smiling more. Sullivan has an ex-wife that destroyed his confidence and trust, so he does throw a few pity parties...so be prepared to want to shake him a bit. I wanted him to tell off his ex so bad! These two had great chemistry so there were a few steamy scenes but it didn't overwhelm the story. There were plenty sweet, funny, and exciting moments between the two. ** I received an ARC of this title in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. **
DebraMenard155 More than 1 year ago
I voluntarily reviewed this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.I haven't read book 1 in this series,but it can be read as a standalone.Who wouldn't want to live in a cabin with a good looking guy that looks like Sullivan.I will definitely recommend this book to my friends.
Rhondaz More than 1 year ago
Hooked on Love by Jennie Mart....OMG, The story caught me hook, line and sinker, I could not put it down. Jennie has written a fun, sweet, sexy story with fantastic characters. Avery and Sully are perfect together and fun to watch these two fall for each other. Can this city girl and country boy make it work? I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book given by publisher via NetGalley.
sheric12 More than 1 year ago
The story of Sullivan and Avery is fun, fresh and new! I loved the premise of city girl vs mountain man, but was pleasantly surprised on how it plowed through the story line I had envisioned and blossomed into something so much more. It had humor and fleshed out characters and supporting characters. Don't miss out on this really adorable and well written romance. An Advanced Reader Copy was supplied by the publisher in exchange for an honest review **
etoile1996 More than 1 year ago
i have to confess that there were several moments in this novel where i was just laughing out loud. everything that was happening was pure physical comedy and once you get the image in your head you can't stop yourself. picture a city girl trying on a pair of waders in a small town general store. imagine that she's in her underwear. and then a snake drops into the waders. the chaos that ensues had me in stitches. it was all too ridiculous. in hooked on love, our city girl, avery oliver, is a fish out of water. but her good humor, her easy spirit and can-do-anything attitude really make the story. sullivan reed, our hero, is surly, damaged and so insecure. he looks the part of the fierce mountain man, but inside he is a ball of goo. and somehow the combination of these two characters just works. they play off each other beautifully. there's humor but just enough poignancy that adds a little heft to the story. it's not just a frothy tale. it's a story about fresh starts, and new beginnings, and learning that the biggest adventures don't mean you have to travel the world, sometimes it just means opening yourself to another person and seeing where that takes you. **hooked on love will publish on october 17, 2016. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing in exchange for my honest review.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Such a cute, fun, sexy story! I loved Sully and Avery was a hoot. Avery is a city girl to the core but she'll do anything to get her journalism career jump started. Even heading out into the woods with a sexy guide and fishing pole. Her guide isn't so eager to help her out though. Then opportunity comes around. Avery pretends to be Sully's girlfriend in exchange for his cooperation, that way she gets her story and he gets away from his overly eager neighbor! Everything is going fine until they get stranded by a storm in his cabin with nothing to do but...well I'm sure they'll think of something!! This one is definitely a recommended read!
sbart84 More than 1 year ago
I was hooked when Avery had a snake down her waders, and I could not put this book down. A fun sexy romance book of complete opposites but a sizzling chemistry that they can not deny. Avery, a journalist from Chicago is trying to get an advancement in her career, what better way but to get a story on fly fishing from a Colorado fisherman. Sully, has own fishing store and is a guide for fly fishing, very contented in his life except for his neighbor lady, who wants Sully for herself. Avery has agreed to a fake relationship while she is there getting the story, until they are stranded in a cabin during a storm when fake turns into real. Can they make there opposites work out? This is the second book in the Cotton Creek Romance, but a complete stand alone. I'm loving this small town in Colorado. Great characters that will have you laughing out loud. I highly recommend this book. I received this book from netgalley for an honest review
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book - it's a sexy and fun romance that blossoms when Avery, a magazine writer that wants to experience all the adventures that life has to offer, shows up in Cotton Creek to learn to fly fish so she can write an article about it. She is expecting an older curmudgeon gentleman to introduce her to fly fishing, instead she encounters Sully, a slightly damaged mountain man looking only to live his life in solitude. One thing leads to another and a funny romance follows. If you enjoy light hearted romance, you will love this book.
caroldh4 More than 1 year ago
Hooked on Love is book two in the Cotton Creek series by Jennie Marts. Jennie Marts has done it again with this book. I didn’t really know what to expect going in and wow, I ended up falling in love with this little gem of a romance. Sullivan Reed or ‘Sully’ leads a simple life. He has his little cabin, his business that sells fishing supplies and takes out guided tours, his grandfather’s old fishing cabin up the mountain and his best friend, his golden retriever, Sadie. That’s all he needs. Sully has been deeply hurt and he won’t ever let himself be put back in that position again. His ex-wife took everything she could from him and she continues to take. But more than the physical or monetary things she took from him, she also took his self confidence. She was an angry, bitter woman, and told him regularly that he wasn’t enough. That he was boring and simple. Sully hasn’t felt the least bit interested in connecting with a woman since the divorce. That is until he ran smack dab into a pair of the most beautiful legs he’d ever seen. And those legs belonged to a very beautiful woman by the name of Avery Oliver. “What was it about her that had his stomach in knots and his palms starting to sweat?” Avery lives in Chicago and was sent to Cotton Creek, Colorado to do a story on the city girl in the mountains learning to fly fish. Avery is to stay in Cotton Creek for a week and a half and spend time with Sullivan Reed learning to fish. Their first encounter together was hilarious and definitely was not a romantic one. Avery needs to make this article the best she has ever written. So much is riding on it. She was offered a promotion if the article was a good one. But all it took was one fly fishing lesson to show them both that they shared something special. Thus began their adventure together. And let me tell you, it was truly an adventure. But through it all, Sully’s inner voice kept telling him that he could never be anything to her. That she would never fall for a guy like him. “Why the heck would someone like Avery Oliver even think twice about him?” “How could someone that thrived on the thrill of adventure ever be satisfied living in a small cabin in the middle of nowhere with someone as dull as him?” This was a delightfully sweet, sexy and fun book. Avery showed Sully who he could be, who he really was. And that is a romantic, fun, adventurous and sexy man. In her eyes, a VERY sexy man. Can Sully learn to trust in the feelings that are growing between them? Can they find a way to make a life together with her life in Chicago and his in Colorado? I hope you’ll pick up the book to find out. Now I need to go back and read book one of this series, Romancing the Ranger. I am in love with this little Colorado town of Cotton Creek and can’t wait to read more about the people that live there.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Ms. Marts has a knack for doing the unexpected. Complicated situations are explored in a whole new light. City girl meets country boy, becomes an adventure of the heart in Hooked on Love. Avery is a big city girl with equally large aspirations that take her from Chicago to Colorado. Sully is the rugged country boy with a love for the great outdoors and a revulsion to the city life. With her standard brand of winning charm, Jennie Marts broaches modern stereotypes and creates an inviting story full of engaging characters, witty dialogue and flirtatious sensuality. An old theme with a fresh twist.