Hot Blooded

Hot Blooded

by Lisa Jackson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99 $7.59 Save 8% Current price is $6.99, Original price is $7.59. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hot Blooded 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 207 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Late night radio psychologist Samantha Leeds is drawn into a serial killers web when she starts receiving threatening letters and phone calls from a listener who goes by the name of John. John is actually a psychopath who holds Sam responsible for the death of a teenage girl who called into her show in Houston a decade earlier, and Sam was not able to reach her. In order to get Sam to repent, John strangles several hookers with a deadly rosary.
She gets involved with Ty, her sexy neighbor, and unbeknownst to her, he has sought out Sam with plans to use her for his own research to probe into the teen's death. When they start sleeping together, Ty realizes he has crossed the line, but fears that if he tells her the truth, she will hate him.
Working with NOPD Detectives Rick Bentz and Rueben Montoya to investigate the crime, Sam's ratings start to flourish with each phone call from John. As they race against the clock to learn John's real identity, Sam is not sure if she can trust those closest to her, including her estranged brother, her assistant, and the station owner, who wants to capitalize on John's presence for the ratings bonanza it has become.
This slick and fast-paced thriller tosses out so many possible baddies, that readers will be guessing until the very end. Fast pace, good read, pager turner. You will not be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would highly recommend this book and author. This is the first of 7 in the series of her books.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. Can only recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Jackson's thrillers are great reads! I bought and read "Hot Blooded" and was so impressed with it that I ended up purchasing the entire New Orleans Series. Well written and very hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Serial killer - Swamps - Romance - breathtaking moments of fear. Yes, this book has it all and will keep you up well into the night. Great introduction into the New Orleans Series of Lisa Jackson. but wait the next book is just as good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Jackson is a book genius ! Enough said .
JacqueB More than 1 year ago
I cannot put these books down!!!! I've purchased all of her books for my Nook color and am on book 4 of the New Orleans series!! Total page turners, scary as hell, and full of suspense. Keeps you guessing right up to the last page!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book while exercising at the gym and before I knew it I had biked for 1.5 hrs!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for anyone who likes a good who-dun-it romance. Lisa Jackson is a great author and I have enjoyed everything I have read that she wrote. I can't wait to read the #2 book in the New Orleans series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, kept me interested right from the start. Lots of suspense. It would make a great movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a real wonderful read. I had no idea what to expect after reading the varied reviews. However, I truly enjoyed the developement of the characters. The plotting and story line kept me intrigued from start to finish. I high recommend this book. Accolades for Hot Blooded. Heading out to get more Lisa Jackson
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
A real page turner!!! Lots of action, twist and turns. This is my first experience with this author and it won't be my last. She has a way of describing people and scenes that lets you really visualize what is happening. Keeps you guessing. Great character development. The book does contain violence, sexual situations and some foul language. Not for children or young adults. First book in her New Orleans series. Looking forward to reading the rest of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it! It kept me wanting to turn the pages. Didnt know for sure who the bad guys were right up to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book us thought provoking. It is nice to read a mysterty where you have to keep reading to find out who the killer is. This is my first book by thus author and I love how she writes, I can not wait to read her other work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. Never a dull moment, characters are easy to follow and the plot is unexpected. Nicely done !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Keeps you guessing and reading!!!! Love lisa jackson, she is the BEST!!!!!!
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
Although thrillers are not my favorite genres for books, I really find myself enjoying Lisa Jackson's novels. "Hot Blooded" starts the New Orleans series and detective Bentz. He and his fellow officers are trying to track down a serial killer who wants his victims to pay for their sins. This says it all. This book is well written, but a little long. This is the reason I gave it only 4 stars; I feel the book could have gotten to the point a little quicker. All in all though, its a great book, and readers will never guess the killer! B+
Anonymous 26 days ago
And the technology is 10 yrs out of date even from the publish date.
krissa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the epitome of what I like it my romance suspense. I¿m not sure what took me so long to try her work, as a few different people recommended her. This one took me a while to read, as I was partly savoring it (as my first L.J.) and partly had to keep putting it down and picking it up as `obligation¿ reads (ARCs, library reads, ect,) kept arriving. I¿m really glad that this was the first in a series. I really liked the characters, and the setting, and hope to see more of them. (I¿m gonna miss Ty, Yummy!) I thought Rick was a bit harsh, I¿m hoping he grows on me¿ Montoya was a bit of a non-character, I look forward to getting to know him a bit better. It will be interesting, because I would have said that Sam and Ty were the protagonists, and they are gone in the next one (if I understand correctly) and Rick Bentz and Montoya are brought to the front. I look forward to the transition (or lack there of) for that too.New Orleans has always been of interest to me, and some where I would like to visit. I¿m interested to see how she deals with Hurricane Katrina. This book was written pre-Katrina. I wonder how she deals with New Orleans post-Katrina. Does she completely ignore it, or address it somehow?The hard part is going to be deciding which of her books to read next. Do I read the next in the series (Cold Blooded) or read Wicked Game which she wrote with her sister, Nancy Bush (another author I really like).
nfmgirl2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In one word, "eh". That's what this book was for me. It wasn't bad, and it wasn't that great. It was just "okay".The characters weren't that well developed. I didn't really connect with them or "like" them that much. Probably the character I liked most was Detective Bentz.What I really disliked was whenever the book would switch to the murderer's viewpoint. It just seemed...I don't know...childish? That's not quite it. It just wasn't believable to me. I was left with the feeling that the author was just writing this character based on a bunch of stereotypes from other thriller/killer stories. That's not what I'm looking for with a book like this. I want a character that makes me shiver and hide under the covers. This didn't do it for me. The character was too simplistic, with no real depth, and I found myself kind of bored with him. And to make matters worse, the ending just sort of fizzled for me and seemed kind of unrealistic.So, "eh". Maybe I'll give the second book in the series a try and see what I think about that. My one likable character Detective Bentz makes a reappearance in Cold Blooded, and I would like to give author Lisa Jackson another try or two.
BellaFoxx on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hot Blooded by Lisa Jackson 4 starsThis is the first in Lisa Jackson's New Orleans Series. It features Detective Rick Bentz and his partner Detective Reuben Montoya investigating the murders of prostitutes, all killed the same way, it seems a serial killer is stalking New Orleans. At the same time popular late-night radio host Dr. Samantha Leeds has a fan who'd like to love her to death...literally. She has received pranks calls and mutilated pictures of herself. Detective Bentz is assigned to the case also, the prank calls coincide with the murders, is it a coincidence or the same man? Of course we know it is the same man, the suspense here is, how are the police going to find out the connection, who is the next victim and how will he be stopped? There are subplots and a little romance thrown in, secrets from the past. The only problem I had was with the synopsis I read said Sam's dark secret from her past. There was a dark secret, but it wasn't Sam's, it was connected to something that had happened that she was involved in, but she didn't even know it! Little things like that bug me.Anyway, this was another well put together book, plots and subplots, multiple characters and little tidbits along the way to keep you hooked, suspicions abound, I KNEW who did it! But I was WRONG!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspense, suspense! 373 pages of intense mysterries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Jackson is an amazing author. She has such a talent for both romantic, sexual, suspense and murder mysteries. Her books never fail to be a nail bitter and keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is book number 2 of the series