The Importance of Being Earnest and Four Other Plays (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

The Importance of Being Earnest and Four Other Plays (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Paperback

$9.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Importance of Being Earnest and Four Other Plays (Barnes & Noble Classics Series) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Recently many of the plays by Oscar Wilde have enjoyed a move to the silver screen. And done so with great praise. 'Importance of Being Earnest' is no different. While I love the move, especially Judy Dench, READING Oscar Wilde is what I like best. It's like a cool drink on a hot summer day, so poetic and fresh is his voice, his style. And even by today's standards he's funny. I enjoy his work on two levels: First, thinking about what it must have been like for those in the early part of the last century to watch these great plays, and second, seeing how they still hold up after all these years. 'Earnest' is filled with puns, plays on words, and a mind-bending plot. It's farce, fact, fiction, and fun. I highly recommend all Wilde's works, along with a book I recently picked up on Barnes and Noble titled 'katzenjammer' by J.T. McCrae which was also funny and well-written. Also, while still good, try Wilde's 'Picture of Dorian Gray' for another enjoyable read.
rampaginglibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful collection of plays that displays the marvelous wit of Oscar Wilde~if you've never been exposed you are truly missing out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like this one, so witty and crazy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookworm95AO More than 1 year ago
Oscar Wilde is one of my favorite authors! I just love how he introduces and supports two totally different points of views on life with every subject the characters talk about! Like The Picture of Dorian Gray, every page is quotable!!! However, I think that adding Salome to the end of the book was a bit anticlimactic. It took away from the general grandeur of the book. I just didn't like the play. But overall, great book to get.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great edition. The plays in this collection are very entertaining. The Importance of Being Earnest and Lady Windermere's Fan are my favorites in this book. The print is easy to read and the value is exceptional. I have read it so many times already, and I look forward to reading it again...and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i havent read this yet, however, i have seen the movie version with collin firth, rupert everett, reese witherspoon, etc., and it inspired me to read it!! the characters are so funny, its just perfection acted, if you dont have a chance to see it as a play, watch the movie! worth every penny.