The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

by Sally Lloyd-Jones, Jago (Illustrator)

Hardcover

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, December 13

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jesus Storybook Bible 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
bp0602 More than 1 year ago
I am reading The Jesus Storybook Bible with my son. We have read many different children's Bibles. This one is different from all of them. First, the illustrations are not the typical children's book cartoon illustrations. Second, these are not just shortened versions of stories from the Bible on a child's level. These are well-thought out stories that I have found to be biblically accurate. But they also show how that event or story points to Jesus. The subtitle of the book is "Every story whispers his name." I love and appreciate this. This is a wonderful book that both children and adults will enjoy. As an adult it is nice to be reminded of God's faithfulness as we read with our children. It is appropriate for school-aged children. This book would be perfect for a bedtime reading book. Thank you to Zondervan for providing a review copy of this storybook Bible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've given this to all the kids in my life that are really close to me. It's a really great book that focuses on how each and every story in the Bible points to Jesus Christ and what He came to do. It was refreshing for me to read, and a great way to introduce kids to Scripture. My nephew is always asking to be read to from "the Jesus book."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We so love this book and the man who reads it is a lovely, British man with a wonderful voice.
Emily Lenard More than 1 year ago
This bible is very peaceful and summarizes almost all the stories in the Bible with a very organized fashion.
tiffany06TF More than 1 year ago
Terrific for teaching kids the stories in the Bible. Very easy to read and interesting for young children. My son loved it.
Melissa_in_Cville More than 1 year ago
A very special children's Bible that adults will enjoy and also enjoy. Captivating illustrations and enchanting new words for familiar old stories that are lovely to read aloud. My children pick up this one for me to read to them time and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both my 2 and 7 year old love this book. They enjoy sitting on my lap and looking at the pictures while I read the story. My 7 year old can also read the stories with a little help.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my grandchildren after my daughter told me that our 5 year old was asking about the rainbow. My daughter received this in the mail and called me right away and told me it was 'just wonderful!' My daughter reads it to the grandchildren every night now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best kids Bible I have ever come across. I have also used this Bible for part of my devotional time as well. After receiving it for my son we went out and bought 4 more copies for kids of our family and friends and one for myself on my Nook.
Gammaw More than 1 year ago
I've read several Children's Bibles to my grandchildren and paged thru many others to find the right one. This one is more than Bible stories retold for the younger set. It has a way telling the stories that gives little ones - and those who read to them! - insight into the meaning of the bible stories and biblical principles. A very nice job.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the Book of Revelation, John wrote: ¿For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book if any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.¿ (22:18-19; KJV). While this statement most likely refers only to that which is described in the Book of Revelation, specifically with the prophecy contained therein, I feel that one should always be hesitant when producing condensations of the Bible as a larger work.Especially Bibles for children.In the Jesus Storybook Bible, Sally Lloyd-Jones reinterprets pieces of the Bible to emphasize the similarities between some Old Testament events with their apparent analogues and fulfillment with Jesus. To make the stories approachable to a 4+ age group, she took several liberties that would cause many people to take a second glance before handing this over to their early reader without some parental oversight.Sure, children don¿t need to get all that Song of Songs stuff, or X knowing Y and begetting Z, but I found that some of the stories as well as many, if not all, of the paraphrases, did not do their baseline stories the necessary justice. For starters, the description of Abraham about to sacrifice Isaac, especially Isaac¿s tacit acceptance of his father about to sacrifice him (basically indicating that he didn¿t struggle and was quiet, because he knew his daddy loved him), could be misinterpreted by a child¿s relationship with a relative or close friend of the family with less than reputable intentions.Likewise, anything that seemed ¿too complicated¿ to put into a simple 2-3 page story was rent from the story. Not one mention of a single Judge appears, nor do important New Testament things like the resurrection of Lazarus. The book felt incomplete, even for being a bowdlerized Bible.Lloyd-Jones seems to miss the point of a lot of the stories, especially with her paraphrases of things like the Lord¿s Prayer and Psalm 23, opting to take out more difficult to understand concepts for the sake of placating children. Further, it incorporates unfounded aspects of Christian folklore into what is purported to be a ¿Bible,¿ such as the presence of the ¿Three Wise Men,¿ which is not founded on any Biblical teaching, as the only book of the Bible (the Book of Matthew) to mention them never identifies how many. I found this addition to be quite presumptive, especially for a book intended for impressionable young children.In the end, this book, while not suitable for my young one due to the many glaring errors, omissions, and liberties taken, it may be suitable for your child, if you¿re less about fidelity to the original work than you are about presenting stories of (and inspired by) the Bible in a child-friendly manner. I feel, though, that one should be mindful of the potentially indoctrinating input one provides a child who does not otherwise have a sturdy foundation upon which to set things unprovable such as religious beliefs.
jasmine84 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book focus about Jesus that has so much power that help his people and to learn how to the right things. Very good book. Many different story in the book that make sense with real life. Picture look ok, all the words is easy to read, colorful in different pages and story. Need to try it out!
tporter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love reading this book to my boys. We have gone through it many times in the hope that they see the point of the whole Bible, while also seeing it as a narrative not a list of moralism.
lolly-pops More than 1 year ago
First, the disclaimer. "I was provided a free copy of this book. All opinions are my own." That done, THE JESUS STORY BIBLE is a reprint of the popular book by Sally Lloyd-Jones and acclaimed illustrator, Jago. The many stories in this book include (but are not limited to: The Story and the Song, A New Beginning, The Girl No One Wanted, Son of Laughter, God's Messenger, The King of All Kings, and so many more. Children will love having these stories read to them, or even better, reading them for themselves. Excellent for church libraries, schools, day cares, nurseries, or your own personal library. Warning: there are some biblical inaccuracies that some people will have problems with, and there are some literacy fictionalizing of the stories, making them "based on a true story" but not true facts.
LivingaFitandFulllife More than 1 year ago
The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name by Sally Lloyd-Jones is a favorite in our house! I absolutely love how every story points to Jesus. The Jesus Storybook Bible teaches kids that Jesus is at the center of God's great story of salvation. From the Old Testament to the New Testament Jesus is the answer. Jesus is the center of our children's lives and stories too! My family loves to read this book before bed to remind us how Jesus saved us. This is a wonderful book and the illustrations throughout the book are absolutely beautiful! Disclosure: I received product(s) for free, in exchange for my honest review. I only recommend products I've used personally, and believe will be good fit for consumers.
IrishCajun More than 1 year ago
This is one of the better children's Bible. It reads like a story and holds kids attention. It relates all stories to Jesus which helps children to understand how all those books in the Bible connect with each other. The Illustrations are full page and excellent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago