The Jolly Postman

The Jolly Postman

Hardcover

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Jolly Postman 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
destinymbruner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The jolly postman delivers letters to many of the popular fairy tale characters. Students would enjoy reading this book because of the cool envelope pull outs with the letters written on them. I certainly enjoyed pulling out the letters and reading them.
nmhale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I fondly remember the mad scramble to procure this book back in my elementary school days. Along with the Waldo series, these Jolly Postman books were at a premium among the school kids, because we loved the innovative books. Waldo was about finding that sneaky man in a striped shirt; this book was about the surprises found in every envelope. To clarify, let me back up. This picture book has an unusual format. In between the story and illustrations are pages that are mock envelopes, because this book is about a postman delivering letters to inhabitants of fairy tale land. He has important missives for the three bears, the Wicked Witch, the giant, Goldilocks, and even the Big Bad Wolf. The story is told in simple rhyme, with a rhyme scheme that is lilting and not forced, and has bright and festive pictures that suit the setting. The envelopes appear after the postman has delivered his mail, and we get to read what each inhabitant receives. As if it weren't enough fun getting to peek in on other people's letters, each delivery is different; a letter, a postcard, an advertisement, even a book and publication notice. The author doesn't neglect the little details, either, with appropriate postage stamps and return addresses. I loved this book as a child, and I love it as an adult, with an extra appreciation for its craft. I can't wait until my girls are old enough to love it as much as I do.
irisdovie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and thought that it was very clever. I loved reading the mail that the postman brought to each fairy tale character. I would use this in a school library setting to teach the children that you can reinvent familiar fairy tale characters if you want - they don't always have to be the typical stories.
savannah.julian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a fun book! The story follows a post man who delivers mail to famous characters from popular tales- from goldilocks, to the giant from jack in the beanstalk. What's fun about the book though is that every other page has an actual envelope with a letter in it that you can take out and read.
klpopwell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book to share with children about jobs in everyday life. It's also fun to incorporate the classic fairy tales and open and read all the mail.
bluenettle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Jolly Postman is one of the most well-remembered books of my childhood. Even though I was probably slightly too old for it when it came out, I can still remember the thrill of opening each envelope and sliding out the contents, the enticing smell of the high quality paper.There's something ever so *real* about this book, despite the obviously fantastical contents (witch's catalogue, any one?). Each letter is so well-conceived and delightful you may end up rethinking your career choice and becoming a postman.An interactive gem that's impossible not to love.
jumcook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Young children will love this book. The Jolly Postman delivers mail to famous fairytale characters. Children get to pull the letters out of the envelopes and read the letters.
mrsarey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Every year, I use this book to introduce fourth graders to letter writing. It is a funny story with well-known characters. Great book!
aconant05 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a fun, interactive book about a postman who delivers letters to different fairy tale characters and has tea at each of their houses. The letters can be taken out of the addressed envelopes and read, which is fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember reading these books when I was small! I am so glad that I found them and am thrilled to get to add them to my children's collection of books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MamaJ23 More than 1 year ago
This was my all time favorite book growing up, seriously. I kept reading and re-reading the letters. Even after 15 plus years, I still have fond memories of the letters. This was the only book where I did not loose any of the letters and took extremely great care of the book. Sadly, I liked it so much that it got all worn out. Now, I have children of my own and hopefully this book will bring as much joy to them as it did for me. Need more stars. lol -^^-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a "Learning Buddy" and first graders read for me,their teacher, recommended "The Jolly Postman" as a gift for a second grade "secret pal" boy. It is beautiful, I also mailed it out of state to my great-granddaughter and she was thrilled. She called me and said "I love it, I love it".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alikary More than 1 year ago
I teach 2nd grade and the students love this book. They enjoy that the postman travels through different stories and encounters a variety of characters. It's a good way to introduce letter writing or to enhance it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book as a child & absolutely fell in love with it. I would cart it everywhere! Now as a new mother, it was a must have for my daughter, I can't wait to share it with her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't even begin to tell you how many times I read this book. I read this when I was a child, I am 25 now and this book has a special place in my heart. I don't have all the letters anymore so I think I will buy another copy. This is a MUST to allow your child to imagine!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Jolly Postman is an enchanting storie filled with letters that the postman hast to deliver. Iam sure you and your child will love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We all know how much little kids love to get mail, but that doesn't always happen. This book is so much fun for little kids. With each place the jolly postman goes, there is a letter to take out of the envelopes for everyone to read and enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My sister and I loved this book! We got it for Christmas one year and read it until it fell apart about 3 years later. We absolutely loved this book and now my son enjoys it! I am buying one for my nieces and nephews for christmas! The letters that you can take out of the envelopes make it an interesting and different book from most other children's books out there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have used this book, with children from 4 to 10 to introduce writing for a purpose. The children have loved creating and producing their own books along similar lines, either individually or as a class project for younger grades.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I vividly remember reading this book as a child and still find it humorous and entertaining as an adult. The actual letters in this book engage a reader and make this book interactive and fun. It's witty, funny, and a great addition to all the fairy tales children are already familiar with. (After all, isn't it nice to know that Goldilocks and the three bears have made amends?) :) Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
when i was young my grandma bought this book for me. i was the first of 9 grandkids. this was my fav book at her house and everytime i spent the night there i would read it to her and we would laugh all night about it. after all of these years and 8 grand kids later i am sad to say that there isn't much of my beloved book left. so i set out on a search not really remembering the name of it but i remember how it started. and that brought me here. now that i found it i called my grandma and talked to her machine yelling i found it!i found it! the jolly postman i found it! i know that i have to have a copy for myself because i can say that this is truley my fav book of all time and i want to have it for my childern to read.