Killer Cupcakes

Killer Cupcakes

by Leighann Dobbs

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Killer Cupcakes 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Island_Reader_Tina More than 1 year ago
Protagonist: 10/10 Secondary Characters: 10/10 Mystery: 5/10 Humor: 6/10 Pace: 10/10 A nice quick read! I thought it was a fun story. Writing was good and the pacing was fast. Just enough humor to keep me interested, although I do wish there had been more. The characters are fleshed out and likable. This was just the book I needed to pull me back from the edge of a reading slump. Light and fluffy fun on every page! I was able to finish it in just a couple of nights and it didn't require much brain power. A great book to read at the beach or to unwind with before bed. I highly recommend. I can't wait to continue on with the series! And can I just say how freaking awesome this cover is?! I love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a series. It is only 70 pages of story. The rest is general information and the author patting herself on the back, all added together, equal 98 pages. First this book is silliness on all levels. It is cheesy, shallow and might have been a mid term story for a high school jr in a literture class. The editing was pretty good. It is a mystery romance. A police officer and a baker are the main characters. This book is so unrealistic, it makes Jack and the Beanstalk serious reading material. There are no adult topics. The cup cake tops made me laugh out loud. Well, at least the author has a sense of humor. Alas, I do not think she meant to be funny. This book is more for the age group 13-16 than adults. Chick lit. I did not like this cozy mystery at all. It was too juvenile for me. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this cozy read about Lexy and her sexy love interest, Jack. I like the secondary characters like her grandmother & her friends who are always available to help Lexy solve the murder/murders she finds herself involved in. Nice, relaxing & fun to read in between the heavier suspenseful book. Will follow the series. JudyE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed in this book. I did not realize this was a novella or short story and the story line was not realistic at all. I love the cozy sleuth novels and realize they do not always follow actual police policies but you had to suspend all police procedure in this and the ''love'' story between the two main characters happens almost instantaneous. Did not enjoy at all.
rosalita68 More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful humorous mystery that moves quickly. All the characters are entertaining. Well written. Look forward to next book in series.
USA_Gal-1 3 months ago
Seriously? I love all types of books. All I ask is they be well-written. This, approximately, 70 page long book is poorly written. It is shallow, contrived, and more nauseatingly sweet than an entire bakery's worth of sugar. My first serious concern arose after reading pages 8 and 9. I have no problem with Lexy (the lead female) loving shoes. What is patently ridiculous is a baker choosing to wear 3 inch stilettos to work. Aside from the health and safety violations, no baker with even an ounce of common sense chooses to spend 10 or more hours in high heels knowing she will be standing and moving on hard surfaces while doing hard work. She can wear her high heels before and after work. Wearing them while working is just stupid. Unfortunately, the rest of the book is silly, too. The dialogue is contrived and predictable. The characters are shallow stereotypes. The mystery is simplistic. I will not be reading any more books in this series.
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
Great short cozy mystery. Read this in one sitting. A bit of a surprise at the end re: the killer. Loved the main characters. If you're looking for complex literature, this is not the book series for you. However, it's a lighthearted fun read - and the book was free. Doesn't get much better than that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Simple and cute. Lighthearted reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A short, fun read.
LLH2 More than 1 year ago
Novelette for leisurely reading. Liked the main character Lexy and her canine Sprinkles. Was pleasantly surprised to find a recipe for chocolate tops at the end of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series has great titles, but if the storylines are this simple, they aren't worth the effort
Anon-M More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyable. Entertaining mystery. I would purchase others in the series.
Anonymous 6 months ago
great character building with elderly nana & her friends along with a cute dog helping solve the case. kept me guessing till close to the end. hard to do. would read more in series as well as others from this author
Anonymous 6 months ago
You will enjoy reading this fun and interesting book. Can't wait to get the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute and quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+loved+this+short+story.+++The+characters+are+fun+to+read++and+the+mystery+is+entertaining+to+solve.++I+will+definitely+read+more+in+this+series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was short and felt rushed but the story was good and had potential.
MTBostick More than 1 year ago
Good writing and terrific editing makes this an enjoyable short read. For such a short story it packs a punch and keeps moving. I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Killer Cupcakes is a fun, believable story with just enough romance. I read it in one sitting & am looking forward to reading about more of Lexy’s life. The perfect cozy little mystery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've never read a book by this author that I didn't simply adore! A very "sweet" story filled with suspense, and a fine introduction to yet another successful series - something Leighann Dobbs is adept at.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of a fluffy read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DaUgh More than 1 year ago
quick easy reads with a good plot to break up a boring day. enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read LL
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this would have been a very good book. There were ten blank pages that made me have guess the story line. Guess that what you get from a free book. It does not make me what to actually buy one of the books.