Last Man Standing

Last Man Standing

by David Baldacci

Paperback(Reissue)

$16.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Man Standing 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 125 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of them, but not the rest and I could not easily figure out the motives. Lots of characters. Lots of action. Not spell binding, but a fine story involving the FBI, local police and savvy drug dealers. After reading Unbroken by Gup, this one followed closely the kinds of risks and off-the-wall actions of typical law enforcement folk. Like I said to others, it is a great read! Follow the advice o the majority of readers - get the book!
BoatingBug More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought the Web London character was boring and shallow. As an FBI hostage team assaulter he seemed more like a loose cannon rather than a team player which I suspect is the SOP for the FBI. The story is plastered with police that have nothing to fill their time with except to shoot bazookas like guns and love every minute of their destruction. Sometimes I had to laugh because some of the author's scenarios were so bizarre and far-fetched. I won't go into the constant splattering of foul, almost detestable language, which I didn't feel added much to the plot. There were few surprises and I felt I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what would happen next. Anyway, in my opinion Last Man Standing doesn't seem to fit Mr. Baldacci's style of a thrilling mystery novel that is at least realistic to a degree and his intensive research into the subject matter that he noted for. One last thought I think the book could have been shorten by at least 50 or 60 pages. It's not a terrible novel, it's a good read and I wouldn't recommend purchasing it.
thewanderingjew More than 1 year ago
I listened to this book driving north to New York, from Florida. I don't know if the book is as good as a visual read but, as an audio, it was great. There was no chance of falling asleep while driving, that's for sure. It was really an exciting thriller which held my interest constantly. It was just perfect for a long car trip. It starts out with an FBI drug bust gone bad and then twists and turns with all sorts of subplots woven into the tale. There are kidnappings, unsolved murders, betrayals, crooked psychiatrists, drug dealers, planted bugs in offices and cars, hired thugs and killers. There are a lot of characters and you really do have to concentrate to keep them straight but they all seem vital to the story and most are very interesting characters with unique personalities. Web London is the star FBI agent around whom the plot revolves. Did he become paralyzed with fear during the drug bust or did something else cause his odd, erratic behavior? His past comes back to haunt him as he tries to get to the bottom of that mystery. The book will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end. There are some parts which may require you to suspend disbelief, they are either so obvious or seem outrageous, but they do add to the plot, in their own way. There is one major drawback with this audio book. Although the reader was very good, in between each segment, music played. The sound and tempo of the music made it seem like the audio was over as the melody faded off to nothing and silence ensued. If you didn't pause and wait until the CD went back to the 1st track, you wouldn't realize that it was not over and could remove it prematurely, missing part of the story, as a result. I recommend this book for airports, plane trips, cruises and beach reading. It is not a serious read; it is an exciting, crime novel, a fun read in which all the ends will tie up nicely and yet, it will still leave you wondering about what the future will hold for Web London, when you turn the final page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fascinating book. I found it educational in that you got a great look at the FBI's HRT team and the trials that are involved in the job. The story is super, and it reads very fast. If you can guess the end of this book, you've got super ESP!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Baldacci fused so many elements in this story! It possesses 'who-done-it'excitment, strong pathos and feelings, the power of the team and the power and fear of the individual, layers of human experiences and emotions. This mix blends together wonderfully to create an action novel. I couldn't put it down, and I anticipate a series or at least a sequel!
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was alright - it gallops along, and I liked the main character, Web. He's likable, and it's easy to root for him. The villains are a bit silly, and God, do I hate villains who are over-dramatic! Ugh.
mikedraper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Web London's FBI Hostage Rescue Team is lured into a trap, caught in a crossfire and slaughtered. He's the only survivor.One witness to the team's massacre is a ten year old named Kevin Westbrook. He's the brother of a drug dealer named Big F. After the shooting, Kevin disappears.Web knows that he'll need help dealing with the emotional loss of his friends and goes to see psychiatrist, Claire Daniels. As he tells her of his past, we see the anguish and guilt that he feels that he's alive and couldn't have done more to save his friends.FBI supervisor, Percy Bates meets with undercover agent Randall Cove. Cove gave the FBI the information about what was important in the building there were raiding. He believes that the Oxycontin flow from rural areas into the cities in the East Coast is coming from one group. He thinks that they might be located in Appalicia.I enjoyed the book and feel that Web London is one of the author's better protagonists. His interaction with Claire Daniels left me wanting more.The author also provided a number of well timed plot twists that caught me totally unaware.
dbhutch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An outstanding read! Baldacci once again shows his mastery of conspiracy around the DC beltway, inside and out. An FBI HRT thinks he's losing it when he freezes in the middle of a mission, and watches his team get eliminated. Searching for answers, he becomes embroiled in a drug turf war, and a revenge plot of the highest order. And his key to it all - a young boy who saw it all, the son of a drug kingpin, who has vanished without a trace. Not only is the HRT agent searching for him, but so is his kingpin father, who will stop at nothing to see his son safe from the life he himself is embroiled in. As on par with Baldacci's works, there are dozens of twists and turns in this story to keep the reader on edge, and eager for what happens next.
kellynasdeo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, love this author.
jaden on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lots of harsh language, storyline moved too slowly and the characters were underdeveloped. I stopped after the 3rd CD (audiobook)
RudyJohnson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Birthday Present that turned into a Sour Read! I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought the Web London character was boring and shallow. As an FBI hostage team assaulter he seemed more like a loose cannon rather than a team player which I suspect is the SOP for the FBI. The story is plastered with police that have nothing to fill their time with except to shoot bazookas like guns and love every minute of their destruction. Sometimes I had to laugh because some of the author's scenarios were so bizarre and far-fetched. I won't go into the constant splattering of foul, almost detestable language, which I didn't feel added much to the plot. There were few surprises and I felt I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what would happen next. Anyway, in my opinion Last Man Standing doesn't seem to fit Mr. Baldacci's style of a thrilling mystery novel that is at least realistic to a degree and his intensive research into the subject matter that he noted for. One last thought I think the book could have been shorten by at least 50 or 60 pages. It's not a terrible novel, it's a good read and I wouldn't recommend purchasing it.
BCCJillster on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Webb London, Hostage Rescue Team, only one to survive, has to prove himself in a similar situation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have yet to be disappointed by Mr. Baldacci’s writing! On the edge of my seat for most of this particular book. Great twists and turns. Thank You David Baldacci!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drewano More than 1 year ago
“Last Man Standing” is an interesting but slow developing story. The writing is great and the book is well thought out and plotted. It starts out with a bang and has some action at points but the majority of the story is character development which can make it feel as if it is dragging at points but also makes for a well-rounded story. If this is the type of book you enjoy with complex characters and an interesting story which will keep you guessing pick this up. If you’re looking for a looking for a mile a minute thriller then you might want to look elsewhere.
funnylady More than 1 year ago
David Baldacci writes really interesting stories. I like all his books, but really enjoyed this one. It's a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AldaAmber More than 1 year ago
This is another on the edge of your seat David Baldacci books. I wasn't disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David Balducci at his best. Sit on the edge of your seat story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Baldacci has done another wonderful job of bringing us a terrific compelling story..It is a page turner with a realistic hero. I found it worth the money invested to read it.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I just found Baldacci this summer and am enjoying all the books I've read of his. This would make a great movie. Web was such an interesting character. I would love to see more in this series and I think a movie or TV series would really be great. A must read and I didn't care that it was long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago