Left for Dead: A Young Man's Search for Justice for the USS Indianapolis

Left for Dead: A Young Man's Search for Justice for the USS Indianapolis

Hardcover

$19.75
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2

Customer Reviews

Left for Dead: A Young Man's Search for Justice for the USS Indianapolis 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In Left for Dead, author Pete Nelson shows the reader in great detail everything Captain McVay and the men of the USS Indianapolis went through, from their missions in the Pacific Ocean, to the sinking and survival in the ocean for five days, to the court martial and later clearing of the captain¿s name. The stories about the men¿s experiences in the water were all vivid and captivating. It inspired me that a kid my own age can change history in a way grown men had been trying to do for fifty years in just five years. This book is graphic for young readers but is perfect for young adults that are interested in World War II history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This, in my personal opinion, was one of the best books I've ever read! It really gave me a great insight as to what happened in the final hours of the Indianapolis's voyage and the occurances afterwards. If you area WWII fanatic like me, I suggest that you read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
on the inndionapolis ship in 1945 during the world war 2 it was a good book to read, one of my favorite time periods there was attacking of Pearl Harbor,hunter scott, atomic bombs being delivered,life on the boat, attacking viliages, surviving in the ocean and many more it was a awesome book
Guest More than 1 year ago
Left for Dead is an excellent story about the sinking of the USS Indianapolis. I was very surprised when I read about how fast the ship sunk. After the ship sunk; only about 350 men made it alive (although most were badly injured) off the ship. The author did an excellent job in describing the hell the surviving sailors had to go through while waiting for the Navy to send for help. It took the Navy 5 days until they accidentally found the sailors. A pilot was checking his antennae and glanced down to look at it out of his window when he spotted the survivors in the water. Many people blamed the captain for the sinking. The survivors, on the other hand, think otherwise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The non - fiction novel Left for Dead by Pete Nelson with, a preference by Hunter Scott was a thrilling story set in the Pacific Ocean and Pensacola, Florida in 1945 and 2006. The story begins when an 11 year old boy named Hunter Scott saw a popular movie called JAWS. In one of the scenes when captain Quint and the other two guys are telling stories about each other, one man asked about the tattoo and Quint told the story all about the U.S.S. Indianapolis. Hunter was fascinated by it he decided he would use that subject for his history fair report. Hunter won for his school and got disqualified for having footnotes. In his research he discovered the captain; Captain McVay was accused guilty for the ship sinking. Hunter decided to interview the survivors and gets many stories all the same in different ways. Hunter put there stories into one giant story from the survivors point of view. In his story the ship is torpedoed and sunk by a Japanese sub. All the people who did not get severely injured by the torpedoes are forced to abandon ship. After several days a plane spots a few hundred men in the water, he got closer and called in more ships to help along with that he landed in the water and while skimming the surface he scooped up a few men from the water. Long after the last hundred men were rescued they went to court martial and Captain McVay was accused guilty for not making sure the "sos" was sent. From lots of hate mail from people who lost loved ones he committed suicide and shot himself. Later Hunter goes to try to clear the captain's name and finally he did it THE END. There are a few reasons I think were good about this book. One positive was while telling the story the author went into great detail. Another positive is when telling the story the author took the survivors stories and told the story a few times but from different peoples point of view. Lastly is that the book tells you a terrific story but also teaches about war and includes interesting facts about the ocean. There were also a few negatives about the story. One negative is that if you miss a few words (what I did) you get completely lost and have to reread. Another negative is the beginning is hard to follow because it switches back and fourth from1945 to 2006. Lastly a negative is the story acted like a broken record player and repeated some boring parts a lot. Those area few positives and negatives about the novel I read Left for Dead. The writing style of the author is very interesting. One writing style the author had was it was hard to follow. For example the story would switch back and fourth from1954 to 2006. Another writing style the author had was it is third person point of view. For example Hunter and the survivors narrated. Finally a last writing style the author had the author is very descriptive. For example "the thick black oil surrounded us." I would and would not recommend this book to people, here's the reasons why. I would recommend this book because it is very interesting and detailed. Another reason I would recommend it because it's about WW2 (World War Two). I would not recommend it to someone because at some points it is a slow read. Those are the reasons I would recommend and not recommend this book. There are a few novels that are similar to this novel. Two of them I have read myself. The two I have read are The sinking of the Bismark, and Iron Thunder. Another similar novel is The Bombing of
edspicer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Of all the new 2002 books that I have read, both nonfiction and fiction, this book is one of my very favorites. What I like about Left for Dead is that the story really begins with an eleven year old kid who is, perhaps, watching a movie instead of working on a school report. Hunter Scott is watching the movie, Jaws and he hears a mention of the USS Indianapolis. According to the movie, the crew is left in the water while sharks circle, gradually eating most of the crew members. Scott asks his father whether this information is true and his father tells him yes. While the sharks are sure to be that lure for many readers, this book is really about persisting in the face of tremendous obstacles. In trying to tell this story for his report, Hunter runs into a massive roadblock¿the navy. The captain of the ship was court-martialed even though Scott discovers that every single survivor believes, and has tried to convince the navy, that the captain is innocent. This book documents how an eleven year old boy changes history. This book could be read aloud in just about any type of classroom, although ¿cover your ears¿ warnings may need to be given to the squeamish in the description of the sinking and its aftermath.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book gives light to a situation which could have been avoided, but also on the following trial. I have a new view of the navy. Their treatment of Captain McVay was very wrong. I believe that every American from middle school on should read this book. It gives insperation for people to stand up for what is right, even in the face of the military.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Peter Nelson is a marvelous author. By taking the story of how the USS Indianapolis had sunk and emphasizing the details, Nelson not only makes us listen to the story but envision it as well. He uses the heart and soul of a young activist Scott Hunter. After watching Jaws with his father, Scott wanted to know more about the USS Indianapolis. His further research had struck a nerve with everyone that had come in contact with Scott. Research is not only recognized in this book; it is the reason for this book. The true stories in this are a whole world of images and sequences. The memories make us as the reader relive the event. The compounding details as well as the voice of this piece are not only satisfactory; they are compelling as well. The strict details obligated me to feel for the actual survivors and victims. Peter Nelson has done everyone a great deed, by making the voices and the acknowledgement of the survivors inevitable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The novel Left For Dead by Pete Nelson is a very good book. It is a story not only of survival and the fight for justice, but also a story of courage in the face of adversity. When the Indianapolis when down on July 30, 1945, nearly nine-hundred men were stranded in the middle of the Pacific Ocean for five days, mainly due to errors by the Navy. When the men were finally found and rescued, just over 300 were left, and then the Navy made another critical mistake, serving an injustice to the captain of the ship by court-martialing him. It took over fifty years and the work of many men, including a young man named Hunter Scott who led the charge, to finally fix this wrongdoing on the part of the Navy. It is a great book, and it should be read by everyone, especially if you want to know the whole story of the USS Indianapolis and what happened in those shark-infested waters. Pete Nelson did a wonderful job telling the story of these brave men and their fight for survival.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Left for Dead is a very well written book, one of the better ones done by Pete Nelson. This book takes place around the time of Pearl Harbor and tells how it came to be. The Indianapolis is the main ship and on a secret mission. After being torpedoed by a Japanese submarine, several hundred sailors survive the attack as sharks pick them off one by one. After not finding the ship for at least a week, the U.S. Navy needed to blame someone. They choose Capt. McVay of the Indianapolis. The crew knows it¿s not his fault, so they must clear his name. This book was based on true events. Pete Nelson does a great job in making it feel like you¿re actually there. Will McVay¿s crew clear his name? If you want to find out what happens read the book for yourself and hear about the significant memories of the crew and Hunter Scott.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was an okay book, but I'll tell you about it... It's about a ship called 'USS Indianapolis,' just after midnight on July 30, 1945, it was torpedoed by a Japanese submarine. The ship sank in fourteen minutes. More than a thousand men were thrown into shark-infested waters. Those who survived the fiery sinking-some injured, many without life jackets-struggle to stay afloat as they waited for rescue. But the United States Navy did not know they were missing.