The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus

by L. Frank Baum

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
MARKETPLACE
5 New & Used Starting at $7.84

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I own one of these original Frank Baum books. As a child my grandmother read this story to my sister and me, one chapter at a time. Santa became more identifiable as a babe, adopted by wood nymphs and sprites. Donning the Cloak of Immortality makes the Santa story no only more plausible in a mortal sort of way but also more magically human and beyond. I frequently give gift copies to the adults with children or adults who continue to remain childlike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this Christmas Eve by the glow if the tree after learning that the animated Christmas special I had once seen and loved was based on a book by the same author of a childhood favorite, The Wizard of Oz. It was a great take on the legend of Santa Claus that blends with my pagan beliefs. Quick, fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read. It's long but it's so good. I recommend it to anybody.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a good book to read on a quiet rainy day. I enjoyed the writers version of the characters who found and took care of Santa. I would read again and recommend to friends and family to read. My mom let me read this book on her new Nook. It was great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great book about one of the world's most familiar characters. Charming with beautiful illustrations.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderfull book for the Holidays. It captures every Childs imagination. and captured mine when I was young. I still cherish this book because of the format it is put in to. I still read it today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wonderful
Jiffetha More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of the Rankin-Bass puppet-animated version of this tale for a very long time. It's based on the tale told in this book, originally created in 1902 by L. Frank Baum, creator of the Wizard of Oz. This edition is illustrated by Charles Santore, and that's what caught my eye and caused me to add this beautiful tome to my collection of favorite Christmas books, to be re-read every year. If you aren't familiar with this version of the legend of Santa Claus, it's definitely the most fantastical and fairytale-focused. Even the reindeer have different names than some more popular songs and stories, and all the other characters who raise and teach Claus as he grows up are memorable and fascinating. I'd recommend this to anyone who is still a child at heart, and who may have wide-eyed youngsters who haven't heard this version and won't know all the answers before you read it aloud.
bibliophyte on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I should have been able to read this in a ridiculously short amount of time; I mean, it's a tiny book. Plus, I always try to finish books on principle. However, I couldn't finish this one. I love the story's premise and the fairies, nymphs and other magical creatures were delightful. But I can't get past L. Frank Baum's writing style. I find it stifling and looking back, I suppose I've always found his writing stifling because I've never been able to get the whole way through one of his books. Every time I even think about finishing this book I cringe, so I think I'm just going to cut myself a break and go read something more enjoyable.
bgknighton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A delightful children's fantasy. A reminder of what made Baum's books so enjoyable. The older style of writing may take some getting used to, but it is well worth it. By removing Santa Claus to the realm of folklore, he can explain who Santa Claus is, how he does what he does and why he does what he does without getting involved with the conflict of the religion of Christmas. You can have both.
DocSG More than 1 year ago
This link: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/reviews/life-and-adventures-of-santa-claus-l-frank-baum/1100251091?ean=9781538090657#reviews-header will take you to the original version of this book, the one by Frank Baum, and not "retold" by anyone, as per one of the reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Have you ever thought who Santa Claus was before he was the jolly grandfather figure? Who raised him and how did all the traditions that go along with him begin? This book answers all those questions and more. I had never even heard of this book's existence so when I got the email offering it to read and review, I knew I had to read and review it and share it here. Divided into three parts, this great little book tells the reader of the story of this "man" from when a fairy adopts him and raises him in an enchanted forest and when he leaves them to share joy. I loved how these magical creatures help him to find his life's work and then keep his life's work going. If you already knew about this book, let me know what memories you have of reading it. I was excited to share it with my sister so she could share it with her girls!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The life and adventures of santa clause was a good book, but hard to understand. The way the author discribed the characters was great, even though they are really old, they were really beuatifull. I think it needs more exiting events.