Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

by Manning Marable

Hardcover

$20.18 $30.00 Save 33% Current price is $20.18, Original price is $30. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 99 reviews.
shadeedahmad More than 1 year ago
"Malcolm X: A Life Of Reinvention," by Manning Marable is not for the weak minded and those easily shaken about distasteful alleged revelations about their heroes and heroines. Mr. Marable will either elevate a reader's level of appreciation of Malcolm X, or taint it with portrayals of him that may be perceived as unforgivable violations of hero worship. I believe it is a book well worth purchasing and reading in earnest. It will be important to realize that in indulging in the book that at times it is the writer's interpretations of Malcolm X being showcased. Certain statements are not necessarily purported truths that can't be challenged. I see a future where more books about the complex character of Malcolm X will be written and published. However, Manning Marable's latest book is one for the ages. I believe it will ultimately stand the test of time in terms of its relevance to readers being challenged to be honest about their biases while seeking truths. Again, there will probably be more books about Malcolm X, but they will be hard pressed to be as controversial as "Malcolm X: A Life Of Reinvention." Manning Marable's history of scholarly excellence is unquestionable. He has now taken a risk that if successful may enlarge the acceptance of truths and reduce the playing field of what has previously been pawned off as mere gossip, used for the character assassinations of great men and women in the human rights struggle. The best thing is to read this book for yourself.
thomasn528 More than 1 year ago
I look forward to learning more about Malcolm X; the book seems well researched and is certainly well written so far. I'm writing to continue my complaint about sloppy B&N ebook publishing, which I've observed in several different cases now. In the case of this book, apostrophes are frequently represented as question marks, e.g., "UNIA?s" , "KKK?s", and "Nasser?s" in just the first chapter or two. Does anyone actually read these e-books before publishing them?
Curious_Reader79 More than 1 year ago
I have just started reading this book and it is so enlighting. I have not been able to put this book down. One of the best books I have read so far regarding Malcolm X. It amazes me how this author has put togethor pieces of a crime that police have not be able to do or cared to do. Sad that the author did not live to see the success of this book, that I am certain it would be.
Mystert More than 1 year ago
Felt the author had an ax to grind with Malcolm. Or perhaps it was a ploy by the author to generate controversy to sell his book. The author injects a lot of his own perspective based on hersay and second hand stories. He does come up with some interesting trivia though.
Patito_de_Hule More than 1 year ago
Well-researched, but annoying innuendo.  In Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention, Manning Marable set out to honestly portray a man and to humanize an icon. Marable intended on filling in holes left by truth-bending and necessary lack-of-future-knowledge in The Autobiography of Malcolm X. Since I am not an expert on the subject, I have to say that Marable's book seemed very thorough and well-researched. It was also an engrossing narrative. I feel it well-deserves its Pulitzer Prize. My only complaint was towards the beginning of the novel, Marable inserted some innuendo about Malcolm X's sexuality - which was unnecessary, and rather rude since he didn't have any hard evidence to support his claims. That innuendo was referenced obliquely a few times in the first quarter of the book. Luckily, those references stopped for the last three quarters of the book, or I would have been left with a very bad taste in my mouth. The only reason I bring up that complaint is because I was looking for hints to why there's a controversy about this book. I was wondering if there was anything I, personally, could pick up. I'm not very familiar with what the controversy is about - and I haven't seen any controversial reference to the innuendo that bothered me. Mostly, the controversy seems to be about Marable's lack of respect for the impact Malcolm X had on the Black Liberation Movement. If you're interested in exploring the controversy, there's a book entitled A Lie of Reinvention: Correcting Manning Marable's Malcolm X, if you really want to delve into the issue. However, I am satisfied that Marable did a lot of really good research, and wrote an interesting and informative book. The issue of exactly what long-term impact Malcolm X had on the Civil Rights Movement and the country as a whole is an opinion, in my opinion. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please read
CHE_X More than 1 year ago
Provocative book by an excellent black intellectual. The frankness in TRULY portraying the fullness of Malcolm's life does not lessen my picture of Malcolm, but only enhances his humanity. His portrayal of how others around Malcolm felt around him is also inspiring. Fair and impartial work not as inspirational as THe autobiography but inspiring. This will go down as a towering work of a true revolutionary.
Schmerguls on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Since I have read malcolm X's autobiography I would never have read this book if it had not won this year the Pulitzer prize for History. But it did, so I have read it--it is the 51st such winner I have read. It is far more admiratory of Malcolm X than I can be, althugh the author insists Malcolm was moving away from some of his more outrageous opinions in the last years of his life, before he was murdered on Feb 21, 1965. I think Malcolm did a lot of harm by his advocacy of dumb positions, though I am glsd he was not as bad a person as he cliamed he had been in his autobiography as told to Alex haley. I do not feel reading this book was as worthwhile as most of the books I read, and I fault the Pulitzer judges for picking it.
cacky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well written. Well researched. There were so many facets to this man, I'm glad there is a book that considers them all.
Katya0133 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent companion to The Autobiography of Malcolm X and a fascinating book in its own right.
reluctantm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Incredibly detailed and well-researched. But I don't feel after reading it that I have any better a feel for Malcolm X than I did after reading his autobiography. Everything is there and presented linearly, but it's really quite dry, even though the content is amazingly interesting.
librarianbryan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The arc of Malcolm's life that has became part of our national collective consciousness is not fundamentally different from what is presented here. Marable does clarify a lot of facts and unearths some unanswered questions surrounding Malcolm's murder. I'm only giving it four stars because it doesn't have the emotional impact it would have if not already familiar with Malcolm's life. Still it is essential reading for anyone interested in 20th century American history. Particularly fascinating is the history of Nation of Islam and history of Islamic communities in America in general. One thing is certain, the tragedy that is Malcolm's life is also the tragedy of our nation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep her on the low subscribe and follow on keek please and thanku
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I appreciated the opportunity this book provided for me to read about the man - not the myth, the teacher - not the zealot, the human - not the enemy -- "the real Malcolm". His youth, adulthood, conversion, advocacy, loves, dreams, efforts, adversaries, struggles, vacations, philosophies, and determination are explored openly and faithfully. A well told story of turbulent, violent times and the struggle for the respect of a people; and the tragic end for Malcolm X.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago