Marooned in Realtime

Marooned in Realtime

by Vernor Vinge

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Marooned in Realtime 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
jburke More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was highly readable and the philosophical problems that are explored are very compelling. Very good.
momander More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite sci-fi book. It is an exercise in what good sci-fi does: change one single thing, and play out how that changes the lives of individuals and society at large. The technology to travel in time, but only in one direction, changes everything in very unexpected (but logical) ways. Crime becomes very different, wars are fought by societies across the gulfs of time. Two thumbs up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The peace wars was a little dull in places. But this book was much more interesting in the fairly extensive exploration of the possibilities of two technologies introduced in the first book. Having started on Vinge with "A Fire Upon the Deep", I have to say that this earlier work doesn't compare with the writing in his later work. Still a decent read, however.
cissa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm a sucker for a good sf murder mystery, and this was one- right up there with the "Retrieval Artist" novels, and that's saying a lot.I know I read the earlier book "Peace War"- many, many years ago; I guess there's a compilation book with that, and this... and SOME but not all of them also have a short story. I would like to get that, if i knew i'd be getting one with the story as well as the 2 novels.
bradsucks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book, loved all the far-future implications of bobbles. The plot is a high-tech mystery/adventure set fifty million years in the future and Vinge keeps you on your toes.
clong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Vinge's A Fire Upon the Deep and A Deepness in the Sky, so I was eager to pick up some of his earlier work. I found this book to be a little bit of a disappointment. Marooned in Realtime certainly starts with a a great concept: a group of people pop out of stasis fields to discover that humanity has vanished from the earth pretty much without a trace. This leaves them in a bit of a predicament. They continue to use these stasis bubbles to make discreet jumps forward in time, but a clever killer manages to trap Marta, one of their leaders, outside the bubble, leaving her to live and ultimately die in solitude while every other surviving human lives on into the future inside the stasis field. The next time the group pops out into "realtime," they discover what has happened and set Brierson, a surviving lawman, to figure out what happened. I'd describe the book as a mystery that is more effective as science fiction than as a mystery. The only character I developed much empathy for was Marta, who had forty years of solitude to figure out who had killed her, and to leave clues for those who would come later to investigate, knowing that the killer would be there to try to prevent any message from getting through. Marooned in Realtime is entertaining and suspenseful, but the ultimate resolution (especially the message from Brierson's long dead wife) left me only partially satisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is nic