Moby Dick : Library Edition

Moby Dick : Library Edition

Other Format(Unabridged)

$99.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moby-Dick 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 241 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Giggles
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it and i am in 5 th grade. Aawesome. I love mobi dick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Test
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring
FredB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Herman Melville's classic novel of whaling. I never read this in high school, so I decided to do it now. The thing which surprised me most about it is that it is mostly a non-fiction book. Most of it is about whaling - the natural history of whales, the methods used to hunt them, etc.
deadmanjones on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A promising beginning on land as the narrator unveils his character with a good degree of humour, sinks without trace as soon as the Pequod puts to the ocean. The narrator is forgotten (a risible postscript doesn't help), as is the story, as the novel transforms itself into a lengthy discourse on whaling, whales, the colour white, and any passing fancy that slipped into Melville's mind. Its form is random, its narrative is inconsistent and its symbolism is ham fisted (and more oft that not actually announced as symbolism). When the chase finally erupts it is an exciting and emotional ride, but little could overcome any reader's feeling of exhaustion by this point. I deserve a medal for reading every page of the unabridged version, since less than 1/5 of its volume is taken up with any semblance of story.
Eloise on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'd always got the impression that this was hard work, and put off reading it for that reason, but I couldn't have been more wrong. This is one of the best books I've ever read, funny, moving and incredibly interesting. I enjoyed every page, even the whaling bits that everyone is told they should hate (and I speak as a committed vegetarian). Melville's sympathy for the whales and admiration for them is clear throughout the novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, classic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although very long and at times rambling it was a very good read. Like many 18th century works it contains what now seem to be obscure references. Still, it was an excellent book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey. I do rp for somthing else, but never mind that. Im making a new chat room, so please cooperate! Can you spread the word to active posting books and tell them to go to "momo meets the" res one? Thanks, see you there!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fur color: grey Eyes:Ice blue Wing color: black Age: just turned 6 moons Needs memtor
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GREAT CLAN?????EVERYONE IS IGNORING !! Breezepaw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At yul results
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome book im lucky my science teacher told me about the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She pads in. May I join?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A pair of eyes peek out from behind a tree.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this the whole book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A really good book