My Latest Grievance

My Latest Grievance

by Elinor Lipman

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Latest Grievance 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
oldblack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just like the Lipman story I read before this one, "light reading" is probably a good overall categorization. You won't lie awake at night reflecting on your life and the meaning of existence after reading this book, but it does make a relaxing break between "serious" novels. I liked the characterization of the parents - people who take everything seriously and treat their teenage daughter as though she was an intelligent adult peer. People (like me) who were younger adults in the 1970s will laugh at themselves as they recall their own experience of protests, encounter groups, and similar "dated" beliefs and practices. The ending of the book was rather a disappointment to me, because it is *so* contrary to my own experience of the way the world works
swl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's been a while since I read a book that so thoroughly engaged me. EL does wry, gentle wit like no one else. This particular book, more so than the three others of hers that I have read, manages to sweep a collection of dotty characters into a storyline that compels the reader forward - but as always it's the narrating voice that really carries it.One off-topic note: my book club, soccer moms all, found the parents unsympathetic. I thought this was interesting. I doubt EL intended them that way. I sometimes forget how steadfastly we suburban housewives devote ourselves to our children...to the extent that career passion is viewed as potentially selfish. I'm not saying we're right and I'm not saying we're wrong - it's just an interesting (and kind of rare) instance of a disconnect between author intent and reader reception.
ennie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Delightful tale of academia from the viewpoint of the teenage daughter of 2 professors at a fictional Boston women's college. The father's first wife arrives on campus as a housemother, and complications ensue. Less dumb than it sounds. I don't know why the events were set in 1978, other than to be able to do "where are they now" at the end.
urania1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A humorous light read. Four stars for books of this class
SqueakyChu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by this prolific author, and it has has turned out to be a resounding success. I'm often not amused by supposedly humorous writing, but [My Latest Grievance] is utterly hilarious. Much of the charm of this novel also goes to the BBC Audiobook narrator Mia Barron who does each character's voice perfectly in harmony with their individual personalities. The funniest character of the book is clueless Laura Lee French who comes to Dewing College for a job as a housemother but seems to intrude in the lives of others in a most adverse way. Her ex-husband David Hatch, David's current wife Aviva, and their sixteen-year-old daughter Fredericka play interference in an attempt to lessen the ruckus caused by Miss French. The author's very tight and intelligent writing makes this book a superb and delightful read.
jendoyle2000 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As someone who spent her first five years in faculty housing, and then grew up the rest of the way less than two miles away from the campus where her parents worked, I found that this book felt very familiar. (And the fact that I now work at the college where the author went to school adds an interesting layer.) I've enjoyed Elinor Lipman's past books and this is no exception. Although it wasn't a fast-paced read -- more, well, pokey, I have to say -- I liked the world she created and the characters who in habited it. The protagonist's parents, lefty academic types, were in danger of being too stereotypical and yet her love and obvious *like* for them puts them onto a whole other level. Not my typical light and fluffy chick lit read, but a solid, pleasant book that I would recommend.
jrepman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What's it like to be raised by two professor parents who live on an all girls college campus? Lots of fun!
23eris on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book rather meandered along with practically no purpose until finally it ended. The narrator was more than a little irritating. This is another book that I would not have finished reading, but as a captive audio audience, I did manage to make it through, although just barely at points.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having enjoyed three of Lipman's books, I was not surprised that My Latest Grievance was so Fun! Fredricka was honest and truthful to a fault, but a breath of fresh air in the college where her parents lived and taught.
IngridArvad More than 1 year ago
Highly reccommended by Roman Polanski and other like minded gent sonn to be arrested for the sexual abuse of a 12 to 13-year-old girls or other charges of unlawful sex with a minor. Hey, if you can't get out of the house because of that whole 'registered sex offender' thing, at least you can have some 'alone time' with these book written for teens, tweens, and confused 34 year music teachers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you cross the satirical characters of P.J. Wodehouse and the sparkling wit of Jane Austen's novels, you'll have something approaching the delight that is Elinor Lipman's latest novel, i My Latest Grievances /i . Narrator Frederica Hatch, 16, is the daughter of maddeningly politically-correct professor parents who live on campus. Raised on college meals and a philosophy of fighting for the 'depressed and dishevelled', she wishes for cooler, and more conventional parents whos dress stylishly and travel by car instead of bicycle. One day, she finds out that her kindly but dowdy father had a glamorous first wife - shock! - and the woman had landed a job at the college. The novel then skips along at a breezy, lighter-than-air pace. Helped by witty and snappy dialogue, each turn of the page brings new and hilarious revelations. First wife Laura Lee, a self-absorbed drama queen, starts a string of messy scandals, with the poor Hatches having to clean up after her. Frederica's smart-alecky, mordant voice is a triumph. Her parody of her parents' educated and socially conscious speech patterns - hence the title - is sharp and often very, very funny. For example, when Frederica suggests a visit to Grandma, her parents embrace her 'in a group hug as a reward for my outreach'. But underneath the effortless polish, this is an optimistic and wise tale about a daughter coming to love her embarrassing parents. Pity it is so short.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this one. It's Elinor at her best. I started reading it this morning and couldn't stop until I'd finished it. She has such a great ear for dialogue. Loved the way she can crawl inside the vernacular of a 16 year old girl!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I finished the book, but more out of curiousity to see how it ended than out of enjoyment. I didn't find any of the characters likable, and Fredericka was close to being insufferable. I warmed up to her when she showed compassion towards Grace, and I was glad that it wasn't out of an ulterior motive. However, the whole story was depressing, and the ending was rushed and unsatisfying. I expected more from Ms. Lipman, whose other books I've thoroughly enjoyed. I hope the next one is a little lighter.