Not a Girl Detective

Not a Girl Detective

by Susan Kandel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Not a Girl Detective (Cece Caruso Series #2) 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Loved it. Good characters. Ready for the next one.
Garridon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An intriguing idea that doesn't work. The Nancy Drew part of the story, oddly, felt like it excluded the reader rather than drew them in.
jrepman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
California setting with amateur det. Cece Caruso-a Stephanie Plum wannabe
bookwormteri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
just ok, i like the mystery part of the book, but for some reason it just does't really do it for me.
drruth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The second Cece Caruso mystery is almost as much fun as the first. It takes place in the world of Nancy Drew fandom and does a good job of respecting those fans while also poking gentle fun at the most extreme elements as well.
rlinde40 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fun, light mystery in the mood of Kandel's first, I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Cece is speaking to a Nancy Drew collectors meeting about Carolyn Keene and the authors who really wrote under that name. However, between a rash of vandalism and a dead body, she's found herself in a mystery that would make the teen detective proud. I found some of the collectors over the top and the pacing a little off, but on the whole I still enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tasha Fuller More than 1 year ago
should i read this the reviews look low
Rola Kawak More than 1 year ago
great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was not enjoyable in the least. The plot line was annoying to follow and the characters were dull and cliched to the fullest extent. I had to force myself to finish it just to see if the ending would redeem it and it didn't. Don't waste time or money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was alright but it didn't keep my interest through the whole thing. A couple of times i found myself wanting to skip through a chapter and go on to the next. It was a good plot though
harstan More than 1 year ago
Cece Caruso has made a career writing biographies of dead mystery writers and while researching her last book (I DREAMED I MARRIED PERRY MASON) she solved a homicide. An obsessive Nancy Drew fan, she is now writing about the pseudonymous Carolyn Keane who was really a succession of ghost writers contracted to write under that name. Her focuses is the picture of Nancy Drew, the model Grace Horton. --- She meets fellow Nancy Drew collector Eagar Edwards who shows her a picture of a natural Grace Horton painted by Russell H. Tandy. The two hit it off so well that Edgar offers to let her and her friends stay at his Palm Springs home while she give a talk to the Nancy Drew Chums at their annual convention. Shortly after she arrives there, she finds his body with a bullet in his head. Somebody searches her home and her car looking for something making Cece determined to find out who that person is and why he killed Edgar even if it means placing her own life in danger. --- Readers will be reminded of Janet Evanovich¿s Stephanie Plum when they read Susan Kandel¿s Cece Caruso capers as both are funny, plagued by romantic problems and once on the scent of a killer, keep tracking like obsessed bloodhounds. There are many suspects who could have killed Edgar but what really keeps the reader interested is the urge to know what the killer is looking for. This is a very special amateur sleuth tale that will be a hit with readers who love a good puzzle to solve.--- Harriet Klausner