O Jerusalem (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #5)

O Jerusalem (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #5)

by Laurie R. King

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

O Jerusalem (Mary Russell Series #5) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book. Russell & Holmes have good chemistry & the location is wonderful, Laurie R. King is a good writer & gives wonderful description of the location for the story. I have enjoyed all the books up to this one. Plan to read them all.
Joycepa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fourth in order of publication in the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series, the story line actually fits into the latter part of the debut novel in the series, The Beekeeper¿s Apprentice.Holmes and the 19 year old Russell have fled for their lives from England to British-occupied Palestine, where in addition to buying time in order to deal with a lethal criminal genius, Holmes and Russell will also look into a little matter for Sherlock¿s brother, Mycroft, who holds a powerful but shadowy post for the British Empire in what would later be called Intelligence. The two land clandestinely on the shores of Palestine to be met by two Arabs, Bedu, who are in Mycroft¿s organization--basically, spies for the British. At first barely accepted by the Arabs--Mahmoud and his brother Ali--the two gain grudging acceptance, Russell disguising herself as an Arab youth, Holmes, in disguise, easily passing for an Arab since he is fluent (naturally) in Arabic. Following faint clues that only Holmes with his near-omniscience on every topic conceivable can unravel, they wind up in Jerusalem, where there are not one but two thrilling, page-turning climaxes, superbly written by King in her hallmark spare but evocative style.King does an absolutely superb job of depicting post World War I Palestine--the aftermath of the brilliant military campaign led by Sir Edmund Allenby that drove the Turks from their 400 year occupation of Palestine and Syria. Holmes, Russell, Ali, and Mahmoud travel nearly the entire length and breadth of Palestine in search of a mysterious killer. As they do so, they visit early Jewish settlements, Arab villages, Christian monasteries, and the Dead Sea, among other places. King is superb in painting the local color of each, especially Jerusalem, where she is so evocative that you feel as if you are right there, amid the dust, the smells, the Arabs, Jews, Christians, British, the holiest places of three religions. This is my favorite book in what I consider one of the best police procedural/mystery series still going. King continues to provide Holmes and Russell with distinct, thoroughly believable and engaging personalities, and does not limit her excellent characterizations to just those two; Mahmoud and Ali are perfect and Allenby, whom they meet, comes across as real and vivid. Places, people events--all are imbued with an authenticity that is rarely seen in a series that is as wide-ranging in locale as this one is.And the last sentence in the book deserves a place of its own as one of the best I have ever read in any novel no matter what its genre. It is perfect for that story.I can not recommend this book highly enough, although I would urge that it be read at the appropriate place in The Beekeeper¿s Apprentice for maximum enjoyment.If I forget you, O Jerusalem,may my right hand forget its skill.May my tongue cling to the roof of my mouthif I do not remember you,if I do not consider Jerusalemmy highest joy.Psalm 137, Hebrew Testament
mldavis2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mary Russell and Holmes travel to Israel seeking to uncover a terrorist plot ending a string of murders. Although I love King's integration of Russell and Holmes, and the book ended in a page-turner, there were elements of this story that pushed credibility a bit for me. Nonetheless, I found it another good read for Sherlock Holmes fans who have run out of Doyle's work and need a fix, and Laurie King is doing the best job I've seen of maintaining the mystique of the great detective while giving it a breath of fresh air with a young assistant. 3½ stars.
teckelvik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the fifth volume of the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series.I found this book less satisfying than previous volumes, because it seemed oddly thin. The background and setting were well researched and felt authentic, but the central mystery was never fleshed out enough to seem worth pursuing.In a way, this makes sense. Russell and Holmes were in Palestine in route to somewhere else, and the entire adventure is alluded to in a previous volume as an interesting aside. They spend a lot of time going from place to place, hiding, experiencing Palestinian culture, but why, and who they are chasing, and what is the point are almost glossed in passing.That said, these are fun people to spend so much time with, and I will continue to follow their adventures.
ruby1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"O Jerualem" takes place literally in the middle of King's first book in the series, "The Beekeeper's Apprentice." Faced with an implacable and seemingly omniscient foe, Russell and Holmes hie off to a place where they cannot be found--Palestine, right at the end of WWI. They perform some spy work for the King, linked with two Arab "cutthroats" who are also spies for the King. I'll tell you how good this book is. I am on my second copy, and it is threadbare and held together with scotch tape. I'll have to be acquiring another one soon. Laurie King's sense of place is without equal.
coffeebookperfect on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Made my heart ache for Jerusalem! Well researched and presented. Well written - I look forward to reading more from King.
krsball on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love this series. This book is full of action and intrigue.
Cynara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A prime entry in King's Mary Russell series, O Jerusalem is a welcome return to the earlier stages of Russell's and Holmes' association. I think this book marks an upswing in the series as a whole; while I adore The Beekeeper's Apprentice without limits, I find the middle of A Monstrous Regiment of Women dull, and the following two books not much better. (I should note that the series becomes extraordinarily good later on). I share other reviewers' sneaking feeling that Mary-and-Holmes, though they are excellent as protagonists in a mystery series, have a less compelling relationship than Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell did before they wed. I've dismissed this feeling in the past, as I suspected myself of making Russell into my own Mary Sue, but the more I think about it, the more I agree with my initial impression. They're just cooler apart. While I love Mary, particularly her take-no-prisoners youth, I am astonished by King's writing of Holmes. How does she manage to evoke him, not as Doyle did, but as I perceive him in my own mind?
barefootlibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mary Russell's fifth outing (which, actually takes place during the first, The Beekeeper's Apprentice between the 12th and 13th chapters, if I remember correctly) is a beautiful journey into the land of Mary's ancestors, and most importantly Jerusalem. Russell and Holmes flee England to recoup and draw out their antagonist in The Beekeeper's Apprentice, and by Russell's choosing wind up in the Middle East. They enter an uneasy working relationship with two of Mycroft's contacts there, the Hazr brothers (who themselves are of mysterious origin). The political climate is hazardous, and they find themselves on a cross country trek to stop an attack that could be crippling to the fledgling peace. The most enjoyable part of the story is the development in the relationship between Holmes and Russell, and even more so Russell coming into her own. The Hazr brothers are also great characters. If you're reading this series for the first time, I recommend you read this fifth and not after/during the first, but if you're re-reading, definitely read it during the beginning. Either way, make sure to read it!
Winterrain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Those who feel a great need to read a series in order will encounter some difficulty here, as this book, the fifth Mary Russell mystery that Laurie R. King wrote, is actually set just after the first one. I didn't realize this when I picked it up and, for a while, was rather confused, but in the end I loved it as much as the others. Though I loved the novelty of the great Sherlock Holmes married to a whip-smart woman half his age, Mary was a more dynamic character before she established a relationship with Holmes.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the first three Mary Russell novels, set early in the 20th Century, which give Sherlock Holmes a romantic and sleuthing partner. However, the fourth book, The Moor, was less than stellar. I feared that the series might have jumped the shark. However, a commentator on my review of that last book reassured me it was just the low point in the series and it picks itself right up in the next. And so it proved.Almost immediately I could feel this one would be solid. Perhaps King herself felt she had lost her footing in the last book, because this one returns to an earlier time in the relationship between Russell and Holmes--set during an interlude in the events of the first book, The Beekeeper's Apprentice, in 1919 Palestine under the British Mandate, and I feel King has a gift for evoking the period and setting.King seems to shine from what I've read when dealing with Biblical themes. She herself, like her heroine Russell, studied theology at the university level. Her second and third book dealt with such matters, and here the Jewish Russell finds herself in a land that has a lot of personal meaning for her. Holmes, irascible and brilliant, is pitch perfect. Recently I was reading a much acclaimed hard-boiled detective novel, and realized that much of what I disliked about that genre is that the so-called detectives solve their problems with their fists rather than their brains. Now, it's is not as if this book doesn't provide action and suspense in plenty--both Holmes and Russell can take care of themselves in a fight--but what shines in both of them is intelligence, and I think that's a lot of why I do love this series. That I'm not expected to deal with protagonists (however engaging Stephanie Plum might be) who are too-stupid-to-live. This was a pleasure.
SandiLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Maybe my favorite Mary Russell mystery, O Jerusalem takes Russell and Holmes to a temporary exile in Palestine while they gather their strength to face an enemy back home and meet the Hazr brothers, two of Mycroft's agents wandering the desert as scribes and spies. This feels like narrative King particularly enjoyed writing, something she put extra attention and care into. The descriptions of Palestine are perfectly lovely and the Hazr brothers perfectly entertaining.
vegaheim on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
fifth in series, i think i might say this is my favourite one
vilia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Holmes & Russell must flee England and of the options given them by Mycroft, Mary chooses the Holy Land. They quickly become embroiled in a complicated but thoroughly enjoyable (for us not them) mystery.
parelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Along with the fact that I prefer the younger Russell novels (thus far), this again has got some great characters and the single most connections to the other books in the series. The one problem with this book I would say is that there's not quite an obvious villian - or rather, a reason why things happen the way they do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Holmes said that Russell would not wear the burka.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BjM17 More than 1 year ago
This book, and the ENTIRE Mary Russell series are extraordinary! You not only get an adventure,and a mystery, you also get a history lesson with a travel experience unlike no other! The books are amazing and this one is especially good as it ties into another in the series! Read this book.....READ THEM ALL!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LKat60 More than 1 year ago
This is a great series to read.
Merns More than 1 year ago
Solid fun reading as usual. Her Doyle-ish style is rather amazing. However, not really a very good mystery. More like action/ travel guide to the Holy Land.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago