Of Blood and Bone (Chronicles of The One Series #2)

Of Blood and Bone (Chronicles of The One Series #2)

by Nora Roberts

Hardcover

$7.98 $28.99 Save 72% Current price is $7.98, Original price is $28.99. You Save 72%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Of Blood and Bone 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 162 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series and cannot wait for the next one. Epic story telling. Nora Roberts at her very best but this is not her usual genre. It may not be everyone's cup of tea. Second book is not as dark as the first one so push through, it will be worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NR just keeps getting better and better!! Can't wait for the third book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book kept me guessing from the first page. Can’t wait for the second book to be released.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nora Roberts has a special way with making everything so real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great+read.+Ready+for+the+next+book%21
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Of Blood and Bone is the second book in the Chronicles of the One trilogy by popular American author, Nora Roberts. It follows on from Year One and there is virtually no recap, so readers are advised to start there. Lana Bingham knew from the moment her daughter was born that Fallon would have to make a choice at the age of thirteen. She had been raised as Simon Swift’s daughter, but the family knew that Max Fallon’s daughter was destined to be The One. And now, Year Fourteen after the Doom, Mallick is back to take Fallon away for training, if that is what she chooses. In New Hope, life is settling down, with growing and making and caring all part of the mix, but also regular supply scavenging trips and raids on Purity Warrior strongholds to free prisoners and slaves. Their small community commonly takes in newcomers, and since the July massacre that killed Max and forced Lana to leave, security is taken seriously. So too, Arlys and Chuck consider their role in communicating the news, honest and true, as widely as possible via New Hope Broadcasting. But any complacency about their achievements will disappear when Fallon Swift makes known her plan. Roberts has a real talent for creating characters that the reader is willing to invest in and care about, and it’s easy to credit Stephen King’s quote on the rear cover “I love Nora Roberts”: she effortlessly equals his power in storytelling. The characters and their interactions are at least as important as the plot, which certainly does have elements of predictability, but there’s also quite a shock at the end to make it really interesting. Book Three, The Rise of Magicks will be eagerly anticipated. Recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn’t put it down. Nora Roberts makes you feel the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next book of the series. The battle L The battle between good and evil kept me on th edge of my chair, trying to figure out who was good and who was evil. Reminded me you can't always tell by one's looks. Write faster, Nora, please
Abbi89 More than 1 year ago
One of my more favorite Nora Roberts books in the past I want to say 10 years. Some of the story line became somewhat redundant, but this was like a WHOLE new adventure. And for an author ive been addicted to for almost 20 years, this book felt like a present : ) Would 100% recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some+of+her+best+work.+I+could+not+put+this+book+down%2C+I+can%27t+wait+for+the+next+one%21
Barb-TRC More than 1 year ago
Of Blood and Bone by Nora Roberts is the 2nd book in her Chronicles of The One trilogy. I loved the first book in this trilogy, Year One, and waited impatiently for Of Blood and Bone, and I have to say it is equally as good or even better as the first book and once again, I will wait with high anticipation for the final book in this trilogy. I have the utmost respect for Nora Roberts, who changes things with this dark dystopian fantasy, and still manages to gives us another masterpiece. Note: Of Blood and Bone is not a standalone, as it is book 2 of a trilogy. If you have not read Year One, you need to read that book first to fully understand the story line. Background of The Chronicles of One: a post apocalyptic dystopian, with a bit of fantasy, that starts with a lethal virus (The Doom) that will destroy most of the world. A new beginning will start with the survivors, which will pit the dark (evil) and the light (good) against each other that will divide and separate all. Magic (witches, elves, etc) rises, causing division among those with newfound powers that are used for good, and those who are evil and want to hurt others, and the humans with no power at all, bent on destroying all magic. Of Blood and Bone picks up 12 years later, after the massacre that made Lana run away to save the others, and protect the baby she was carrying. We catch up with Lana, her husband, Simon and their 4 kids living on the same farm where they last left off. Time is close for when Mallick promised he would return when their daughter Fallon reached the age of 13, and he would take her away for two years, to train, as everyone has been waiting for the girl who is the One; the one who will save them all from the evil that still threatens the world. Lana, who has witch powers, has trained Fallon all her life, teaching her what is her destiny as the One. But now Mallick will take her to further train her how to fight, use a sword and most importantly use her powers in leading the light to win this oncoming war. When Mallick comes, both Lana, Simon and the 3 boys are unhappy, but they knew this day would come. As Fallon leaves with Mallick, Simon and Lana will begin to work on training their boys how to fight. The story centers on Fallon, who even at 13 is a great heroine, and as the story progresses, she will be even more so. I loved how Fallon grew stronger with each passing day, and most of all loved her bonding with the three animals that will stand beside her throughout this adventure; Taibhse, the Owl; Faol Ban, the Wolf and Laoch, the horse (Alicorn). This was just another wonderful element to this story. Another great part that I worried about at the end of the first book; we returned to New Hope, and got to spend a lot of time with most of the originals. Many of our favorites (Arlys, Fred, Will, Katie, Rachel, Eddie, Jonah, Bill,etc just to name a few) continued to build up New Hope, with their children (many Fallon’s age) having their own gifts, and destined to join with Fallon in fighting all evil. I absolutely loved (almost to tears) when Fallon, Lana, Simon and the boys finally arrive in New Hope (close to 16 years after Lana left) and the emotional responses from Lana and those still there from when she left. Very nice indeed. What follows is an exciting, action-packed, at times dark and intense adventure, with everyone working together and preparing for the war of good vs evil. The last quarter of the book was captivat
Anonymous 26 days ago
Nora's books never disappoint & this was no exception. It totally sucks you in & takes you for an emotional journey.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous 3 months ago
follow up to book 1. very easy to read and follow along. kept things going at a good pace. nno moments when you felt like, hurry up already. good action and characters. cant wait for book 3
Anonymous 4 months ago
hard to put down
Anonymous 4 months ago
I will continue with the next book in thep series.
Anonymous 5 months ago
This series is my favorite. Ever sense I read the first book, I have been glued to her books. I can't wait for the 3rd to come out. It's my graduation present to my self!! Please keep writing this series like in death!
Anonymous 6 months ago
eager to read the next book
Anonymous 7 months ago
loved the first book and love the hope and courage in this book. updating on all the characters , Cannot wait for the final book. This series is a must have.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Can't wait for the next book to come out.
Anonymous 8 months ago
A very good book
Anonymous 8 months ago
I can not wait for the next book!
Anonymous 11 months ago
The story line is fascinating! Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Riveting tale that takes you on the journey of a young girl to become The One. Nora Roberts tells the tale set in a world of doom and darkness. A place where the hopeful search for light.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not Roberts best. For the first time I’m not anxiously awaiting the next installment.