One of Our Thursdays Is Missing (Thursday Next Series #6)

One of Our Thursdays Is Missing (Thursday Next Series #6)

by Jasper Fforde

Paperback

$15.40 $17.00 Save 9% Current price is $15.4, Original price is $17. You Save 9%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
33 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One of Our Thursdays Is Missing (Thursday Next Series #6) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 108 reviews.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
One Of Our Thursdays Is Missing is the sixth novel in the popular Thursday Next series by Welsh author, Jasper Fforde. Not long after the Remake of BookWorld, it seems that Real World Thursday Next is missing. Written Thursday (Thursday 1-4 from First Among Sequels, the huggy one) has been trying to play Thursday with dignity, but the series is virtually unread, so the presence of an understudy allows her to investigate with the help of Sprocket, a clockwork butler she has acquired (everyone needs a butler). This instalment features Men in Plaid as enforcers, a Triumph Bonneville, inter-genre cabs, a book sabotaged by rhetorical worms, a geologist thrown from a window, and a car chase. Written Thursday travels to the Real World, meets the real Landen, is kidnapped by a Wiltshire Stiltonista, tries to interpret obscure clues to Thursday’s whereabouts, travels up the Metaphoric River, meets some Loser Literary Siblings (The Mediocre Gatsby, Brian Heep, Tracy Capulet, Sharon Eyre etc) and is finally offered a job with Jurisfiction. Concepts like character assassins, a mime field, the Large Metaphor Collider and the intricacies of a character’s backstory are also a source of entertainment. Fforde still delights with some absurd names like Keitel Black, Red Herring and D.J. Growling, and each chapter is prefaced by a pertinent passage from Bradshaw’s BookWord Companion, which, we note, runs to at least fifteen editions, confirming that Colonel Bradshaw’s eventual retirement must have been profitable. As always, Fforde is incredibly clever: this is a brilliant read.
Little_Flyer_Speaks More than 1 year ago
It's been a long while since I read the preceding entry in this series (Thursday Next: First Among Sequels), and it took me awhile to settle back into the sort of crazed pace paying attention to apparently-silly-but-frequently-pivotal puns and points of reference, but IT ALL PAID OFF! Hang in there fans, all the bizarre loose ends were tied up and the take-offs on various genres were well worth the wait. Highly recommended!
snape_luver More than 1 year ago
This was a great step in the series, allowing readers to experience the world of Thursday Next from a new P.O.V.
Luv_to_read More than 1 year ago
I love reading Jasper Fforde's books especially the Thursday Next stories. Loved it. There is some very creative writing and his books inspire me to read more classics.
Go4Jugular More than 1 year ago
Entry #6 in the Thursday Next series differs substantially from the other books as it primarily follows written Thursday, in the remade Bookworld, as she seeks to find the missing real Thursday with the help of her clockwork butler Sprockett. Aside from a couple of forays into the real world, most of this book explores the geography and functioning of the various genres, organized like regions, on Fiction Island. There's the usual mix of mysteries to be solved and humor to enjoy, with mostly new, but occasionally recurring, characters. But the real star here is the Bookworld, and it does not disappoint.
FMRox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thursday Next has gone missing... or has she. Fforde spins a fantastical tale in the latest additional to the series.This last one is very complicated. I definitely do not recommend this one if you haven't read any of the first. It's very complicated and confusing. But, enjoyable none the same.
AJBraithwaite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
More enjoyable language- and literature-bashing from Jasper Fforde. BookWorld has been re-designed to be geographical, ebooks are having an impact on reading processes and the written Thursday is faced with the disappearance of her RealWorld counterpart and an imminent war between the Racy Novel and Women's Fiction parts of the world.I don't think you could get the most out of this book without having read the earlier ones - which isn't a criticism at all. Quite the reverse, as it means that there's a lot less explanation than there was in earlier books, which is a good thing. I love the way Fforde mucks about with language and with literary conventions. "Double negatives were a complete no-no" was one of my favourite lines.
saffron12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This sixth book in the series is told from the perspective of the "written" Thursday Next. Personally, I highly enjoyed this new point of view. It showed even more fully how BookWorld works, and I found the technical descriptions fascinating. Written-Thursday started to come into her own as a person, which was also fun to watch. It is one of the best books I've read so far this year.
girlsgonereading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Proof once again that I don¿t like fantasy and that I¿m not that crazy about satire, One of Thursdays is Missing was a very difficult book for me to finish.Jasper Fforde is a very popular writer, and his Thursday Next series has found loads of loving fans (all starting with The Eyre Affair). I, however, am not a fan.I found Fforde¿s writing to be very clever, but I want my books to be more than clever. I want to care about the characters. I didn¿t care about Thursday or any of the supporting cast. I just wanted it to be over.Fforde prolonged the fantasy plot with puns and jokes about the world of books. True, these jokes were occasionally funny, but the comic aspect of the novel was not enough to hold my interest.One of Our Thursdays was my first book in the series, and I am sure it will be my last. I am sure that lovers of fantasy and satire will enjoy One of Our Thursdays is missing, and I truly wish that I had like the novel more.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fans of the Thursday Next series won't be disappointed in Fforde's long awaited return. The Book World has been re-drawn in a New World fashion with border scuffles a new worry for lesser genres. The maps included are worth the read, very clever! The introduction and placement of written Thursday as a main character did feel a little different, but soon I was swept up in Fforde's imagination and worried that Racy Novel would indeed ruin their peace talks. I tried to savor each literary bit in the novel, but eventually, I came to the end. It was not so final that there won't be hope for another Thursday adventure, real or written.
Gwendydd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yay, so wonderful to have another Thursday Next book! After TN4 and TN5, I was a little nervous that Fforde was overextending himself, and that he should have stopped before the series got bogged down. But TN6 is fantastic. Fforde is fantastic at writing himself out of holes: he clearly sat down to write this book and thought to himself, "Darn, there are a bunch of things that I've been doing wrong in this series from the very beginning." So he fixes them. Boom, in one fell swoop he plausibly changes the Bookworld from a library layout to a geographic layout. Boom, this book explains why the Thursday Next novels within the Bookworld are different from the real-life Thursday Next novels (and fixes the discrepancy). This is another classic Thursday book - lots of action crammed into a few days, crazy adventures, a plotline that you think can't possibly all come together and then it does at the last moment. Fforde's fount of creativity is amazing: he keeps coming up with new and wonderful and hilarious things. Of all the alternate universes I have ever read about, this is the one in which I would most like to live.I hope he writes more!
kewing on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This installment in the Thursday Next was more involved, with Fforde slightly more shrewd, and cagey. BookWorld changes from a library to a geographic organization, reducing some of the gymnastic physics, but easier to navigate and establishing a subplot of territorial conflict based on "mineral" rights. The central "mystery" is the investigation surrounding the disappearance of Thursday Next (real) by Thursday Next (written), but for me the joy came from some of Fforde's technical concepts: a metaphor accelerator, for example, and the geographic BookWorld on the inner surface of a sphere. I enjoyed this installment more than TN5; all in all, a brilliant romp.
BeckyJG on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the Nextian Universe there are, basically, two worlds. In the RealWorld, dodos are household pets and Neanderthals productive members of society, there is an active black market for cheese and a Socialist Republic of Wales (where, its tourism board proclaims, it's "Not always raining). There is also a BookWorld, in which the genres vie for domination, characters from books are ranked socially according to how often their books are read, and raw metaphor is one of the hottest commodities around.One of Our Thursdays is Missing is the sixth of Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next books (or the seventh, if you count the no longer available The Great Samual Pepys Affair). As it opens, the BookWorld has been remade into an inverted globe (just go with it), making it no longer necessary to jump from book to book to travel there. The Thursday Next featured in this installment, we quickly learn (although it took this dense reader somewhat longer to figure it out and then make sense of it) is the written version, the somewhat more accessible, kinder gentler version that the real Thursday Next thinks she would like to be. The real Thursday, it turns out, has gone missing...just as she's about to attend the peace talks between Racy Novel and the rest of the genres. It becomes the written Thursday's assignment to take on a mission for which she's not been trained, namely, to find the real Thursday and ensure that the peace talks go as scheduled. But she has to do so while juggling a would-be boyfriend with a dark backstory, a crush on the real Thursday's husband (who was never written into the books and so exists only in the RealWorld), and dissent among the ranks of the characters in her series. Good thing early in her narrative she rescues a mechanical man about to be stoned to pieces by some particularly paranoid inhabitants of Conspiracy, a sub-genre of Thriller, thereby gaining a sidekick who mixes a mean cocktail and thinks deep thoughts. He needs to be wound every once in a while to keep him going, but well, really, when you think about it, who doesn't?The reader must let go and comes to term with the fact that the antic, madcap, and bizarrely violent action may never make perfect sense. Once she accomplishes this, One of Our Thursdays is Missing reveals itself to be fun, clever, mind--and genre--twisting fun.
dknippling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
On the one hand, the main character wasn't really driven until near the end of the book.On the other hand, ooooh, some painful digs against the publishing industry! And annoying readers! And a good mystery in which everything may or may not be what it seems! If you liked the previous books, the few flaws will be easily overlooked. I wouldn't start here with the series...therefore, anyone trying to decide to read this should either go, "Read this!" or "Don't read this yet!"
TheDivineOomba on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Its a fun read through the book world. This story shouldn't work, but it does. It has a lot of techno-babble that actually works in this setting. Its a fun read, not very deep, has great characters, and a world that actually seems like it should be real. I keep wondering, how books got created before bookworld realized they weren't real?
Capfox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jasper Fforde has always come off to me as an author with an abundance of ideas and a desire to throw as many of them out there as he can at any time. His novels tend to be stuffed to bursting with concepts and conceits, and this can play out for better or worse, depending on the balance between whichever ones he¿s chosen for a given outing. When we come to the Thursday Next series, I¿ve usually found the books more set in the RealWorld, to borrow Fforde¿s phrase, with SpecOps and Goliath and croquet and such, more enjoyable than the ones primarily set in the BookWorld with Thursday¿s book-jumping Jurisfictional adventures.When I took a look at the latest entry in the series, One of Our Thursdays Is Missing, then, I wasn¿t as excited at the arrival of a new Fforde book as I had been for, say, Shades of Gray. Fortunately, however, this run turned out to be very enjoyable. Here, we have the unpopular written version of Thursday Next, a shier, gentler version of the real one from the author-approved version of the Thursday Next series, trying to work out a mystery involving the real Thursday in a totally remade Bookworld, taken from the Great Library model of the previous books to one laid out geographically, with skirmishes and territorial squabbles between neighboring genres, and distinctive cultures within each of the genres themselves.Over the course of the book, the written Thursday gets to interact with a lot of the characters we¿ve seen in the series thus far, along with new characters, such as Whitby Jett, her Designated Love Interest, and Sprockett, a cog-based butler. The mystery takes Thursday all over the island and beyond, and it¿s quite well put together and interesting. Fforde¿s got a good way of doing these things, and in contrast to the previous book, this one finishes on a more complete note, I find.The best part of reading this, though, is Fforde¿s imagination and wit, ranging from low puns to riffing on fictional conventions and fellow authors to quick takes on classic works of fiction to all sorts of callbacks to previous books in the series. As such, I really wouldn¿t recommend starting here; you really need to start with the first book in the series and read through to get a full enjoyment of this one, I think. He also has worked out a new way for the BookWorld to function, within a hollow globe, and it¿s quite well fleshed out, too. I didn¿t exactly rush out to read this one, but I¿m really glad I got around to it, and seeing the written Thursday come into a character in her own right. I¿ll be looking forward to the next one, for sure.
Othemts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the sixth book in the Thursday Next series, one of the most imaginative and entertaining book series I've read. This book took me some time to warm up to though. It's set in the BookWorld with the written version of Thursday Next as the protagonist and narrator with the conceit that they are something like actors performing the book each time someone reads. One of my favorite aspects of the Thursday Next series is Fforde's alternate universe Swindon, England so the narrative set almost entirely in the BookWorld is a bit of a disappointment (my least favorite book in the series The Well of Lost Plots is also set entirely in the BookWorld). Yet Fforde is masterful in developing the fictional version of the fictional Thursday as a similar yet different character. I was totally won over by written Thursday's automaton sidekick Sprocket. In the end, this book is a masterful job by Fforde to keep the series alive with the requisite creativity and fun.Favorite Passages:¿Not many people traveled to the RealWorld, and those who did generally noted two things: one, that it was hysterically funny and hideously tragic in almost equal measure, and two, that there were far more domestic cats than baobabs, when it should probably be the other way round.¿"All three were experts, and all three had conflicting views. I was reminded of Clarke's Second Law of Egodynamics: 'For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.'" - p. 159"Literature is claimed to be a mirror of the world but the Outlanders are fooling themselves. The BookWorld is as orderly as people in the RealWorld hope their own world to be -- it isn't a mirror, it's an aspiration." - p. 359
grizzle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed, as always, the self-referencing literary tricks that Fforde plays with the reader: mimefields, characters not knowing who is talking because of the lack of dialogue tags, and Ms. Malaprop's garbled speech among other things. I do tend to enjoy the Thursday Next books that are set more in the RealWorld, but I rooted for the literary Thursday as she overcame her lack of confidence, even while wanting to yell at her a bit.
birdsam0610 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to win this book in a competition run by Borders bookstore. I¿m glad that I won it, because I¿m not sure whether I would have liked this as much had I shelled out hard earned cash for it.This is the sixth book in the Thursday Next series and like the others, is told in first person by Thursday herself. But in this book, it¿s the second fictional Thursday telling the story, not the real Thursday Next, who has disappeared and not the first fictional Thursday Next, who was erased. This is the loving, gentle, hippy Thursday Next that failed Jurisfiction, unlike the real Thursday Next.Too many Thursdays in the above paragraph? This is a book whose plot could be difficult to grasp without reading the previous books. Let me try to summarise: in an alternate universe where cheese is illicit, everyone loves reading and the world is nearly completely controlled by the Goliath Corporation resides Thursday Next. An ex-SpecOps agent, she lives with her husband Landen (who was erased by Goliath temporarily) and children (one who is never seen but anyone besides Thursday). Thursday is also a Jurisfiction agent, meaning she has the ability to `jump¿ into books and solve crimes/issues in the BookWorld. But Thursday is missing from this book and fictional Thursday, a resident in the BookWorld (who acts out the Thursday Next books as you read them) tells this story. The story mainly takes place in the BookWorld and while this world is interesting, we¿ve heard about Netherfield Park and grammacytes in previous books. The `reworking¿ of the BookWorld wasn¿t really interesting and not particularly necessary. The overall plot is basic - that Thursday is looking for Thursday. In her travels, she meets the adorable Sprockett, her robot butler as well as interacts with many well-known fictional characters (e.g. The Lady of Shallott).This books moves a lot more slowly than the previous Thursday Next books (not the fault of fictional Thursday, she doesn¿t really have a detailed plot line to work with) and the conclusion is tied up oh-so-neatly. It lacks the witticisms and fiction in-jokes of the previous books. I think I¿ll wait for the reviews of Thursday Next #7 before I enter competitions to win it.
eenerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Maybe it's been too long, or maybe I was too hyped up, but I couldn't finish this newest installment of the Thursday Next series. It was just kind of blah and disappointing. Bummer.
lynneinfla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was so disappointed when it looked like Jasper Fforde had given up on Thursday Next in First Among Prequels. He had wrapped up all the final details and it certainly seemed like the end. So I was extremely delighted to find another book in the series, and it is Fforde's usual inventive self. The way he writes about Thursday without writing about Thursday is amazing. I hope there are more to come.
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Weird. But then it was always going to be. You really need to have read the previous books in the series before starting this one. There is a lot of oblique references to thinks that did and did not happen in the series beforehand. Thursday is missing. Fortunately there are other Thursdays around, some left over from the previous book, and a few new ones as well.None of these quite have the vitality of the 'real' Thursday, but each plays their part in Thursdays greater story. Events in the Bookworld are not that much more confusing than normal, despite the great Remaking, which has altered the geography from a vast library to that of an inverted sphere, the the genres now as islands within the TextSea - that eternal constant of the literary world. With a cross genre war looming over the disputed racy novel territories, cheese smuggling still rife, and political machinations between the Council of Genres and it's own police force Jurisfiction, poor written Thursday languishing in her now unread 'happy' series, is asked to investigate a crashed book. The book was in transit and fell apart over Aviation scattering graphemes along the way. Aided by her mechanical butler (everyone needs a butler) written Thursday starts to find some pieces of evidence that lead in surprising directions - well they would, this after all is fiction on the border between Fantasy and Adventure, close to the boundaries of Thriller. Does she have sufficient depth of character to piece together the clues, overcome the villains (there are always villains) separate the consequential from the random (how many random events happen in novels?) and find the real Thursday next, whilst discovering true love in the process? If none of the above makes any sense to you, you obviously don't remember the previous books well enough, go and read them again. If it does make some sense, but still seems a little confusing, then you're in the right place. Enjoy the book, and try and solve the mystery before the grand denouncement. It's inventive and wacky, set almost entirely in the (new) BookWorld. Mostly it makes enough sense to follow along, and although some favourite characters don't make an appearance, there are enough new ones to enjoy. I wasn't completely convinced by he written Thursday's character - she changes too much to be believable as the version the Real Thursday wanted her to be, but other than that the writing is as good as ever. The wackiness and inventiveness are dialed right up, and while lacking the social commentary that Goliath normally adds to the proceedings, it is still very enjoyable.A worthy continuation.
booklove2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First, I must comment on the cover. It is one of my favorites. And if you actually have a copy in your hand, you can see the best part: that the books that are about to fall on Thursday Next actually appear to have words written in ball point pen on the fore edges (the part of the book opposite the spine). The detail! Though I'm not exactly sure Thursday Next would wear that ensemble. Thursday is one of my favorite characters. She kind of reminds me of an older Buffy (the Vampire Slayer) if she had actually read any of those books in the Sunnydale school library (well, other than the demon reference books anyway). Not to mention Spike Stoker, who not only shares a name with Buffy's Spike and has blond hair but also battles the undead. Now to the writing: Could there BE a bad Thursday Next book? Jasper Fforde could write hundreds of these and they would still be amazing (and I do hope he does write many many more). These books are always my favorites. Everything here is so unique and creative, it is difficult to compare Jasper Fforde to any other writer. A lot of the characters are from your favorite classics. Even some writers are mentioned (ie: Zadie Smith and Kurt Vonnegut). If you are a "book person", you can not help but love these books about books. Even if you don't get one of the bookish jokes, the book has already moved onto the next joke. And you don't need to get all of the jokes anyway for this to be very fun and enjoyable. If you have ever picked up even one book in your life and liked it, you'll like the Thursday Next series. You'll just love it more with the more books you have read. Anyone can find things to love in these books, whether you love the humor or the characters or the mystery or the suspense. And that is putting it way too blandly for a Thursday Next book! Start with the first in series, The Eyre Affair, and make your way through them all, pronto!
lorax on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed in the previous Thursday Next book, First Among Sequels, so I was a little apprehensive about this one, thinking the series may have run out of steam. Fortunately my fears were groundless. This volume focuses not on the Thursday Next that we met in The Eyre Affair, but on her fictional, written counterpart, the star of the Thursday Next books -- which aren't, however, our Thursday Next books! The real Thursday has gone missing, shortly before she's due to participate in key peace talks between genres, and the written Thursday needs to find her.I enjoyed most of the new introductions in this entry; Sprockett, Thursday's clockwork butler rescued from an obscure vanity-published book, and the flat multitudes of Fanfiction Island were particularly amusing. I did find references to recent works jarring; Thursday's world is so different from our own that it strains credibility to suggest that it, too, has a tremendously popular Harry Potter series. (Still, the Potter references are brief and ignorable, and thus only a minor nuisance.)Overall I was quite pleased. Fforde seems to have ffound his ffooting again, and after my trepidation I'm once more looking forward to the next Next.
horomnizon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jasper Fforde just keeps writing stuff that I devour as soon as I can get my hands on it. This one is a little different as we're not following the real Thursday Next, but instead are thrown into the life of the written Thursday Next in BookWorld - or are we? Since nobody has seen the 'real' Thursday for a while, the 'written' one begins an investigation with the help of a new sidekick (an automaton called Sprockett) and some of Thursday's friends.For me, the addition of Sprockett was one of my favorite things. After all, everybody needs a butler who can make you a cocktail at a moment's notice. It turns out that this Thursday has almost as exciting a life as the real one....or maybe she is the real one and just doesn't know it? What I love about Fforde's writing is that although there is a mystery involved, I almost never figure it out - or at least not all of it. There are so many twists and turns and absurdities (oh, and red herrings) that it's difficult to know where he's going - but it's a fun ride getting there!If you haven't read the other books (or like me, it has been awhile since you read the others) you may feel a bit lost for the first couple chapters, but just go with it - or go back and read the others; they are enough fun to be worth it! His Thursday Next series is definitely more fun if you 'get' the literary/grammatical jokes.