Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent's Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent's Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

by James Breakwell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $16.95 Save 35% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $16.95. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent's Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining and informative. I now feel like there may be hope for our family when the zombies arrive!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved+this+book%2C+actually+laughed+out+loud.+I+also+agree+about+the+minivan.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’ve followed James Breakwell for some time on Twitter. It was actually a close friend that had initially shared his tweets until I decided to follow him myself. While I haven’t read everything he’s tweeted, most of what I’ve come across has been funny. Why? Because while it’s hard to go it alone in parenting, it’s nice to know there are others out there struggling with the same issues. James has found a way to encourage parents to take a step back and find the humor in the worst of situations. Which is why when I found out he’d written a book, I wanted to read it. Plus, it includes zombies, one of my favorite genres. The good thing? He didn’t recycle his old tweets and publish them in this book. Instead, the author came up with a new concept, wrote about it thoughtfully and put it all together into a comprehensive parenting book, that is, parenting during the zombie apocalypse. There were a couple of funny points, more like the kind that would affect a slight smile, but no laugh out loud moments. And the idea of parenting in the zombie apocalypse, well, it has crossed my mind. Like being in the middle of a very crowded Main street in Disneyland. “We’re so screwed if the zombie apocalypse hit,” I’d said to my husband while attempting to push a double stroller through a sea of people (It felt like pushing a toothpick through a brick wall). I think I’d built up in my mind that the book would be a lot, if not exactly, like the humor from Twitter. Instead, it felt more like a parent complaining page after page. And while I still could identify with what he was saying, it almost had a bitter feel…like sarcasm to the extreme. One thing that caught my attention was when he was talking about kids not listening to parents. Typical parent complaints, right? You ask them to wash their hands and you pretty much have to supervise the washing, otherwise, they won’t do it. Eat your vegetables (or any part of the dinner) can turn into torture for you and your kid. The other night my daughter cried that she had to eat a spaghetti noodle. Seriously? This isn’t the first time she’s had spaghetti. Any, I digress. Kids disobey even the littlest of instructions, so the idea of having kids during an emergency such as this seems an impossible task. What caught my attention was when he mentioned: “Children even suck at dying”. While I get what he’s trying to say, that struck me the wrong way. With that said, I just didn’t love this book. It wasn’t awful, but I’m not sure I’d recommend it to my family or friends. I did share this with one friend and she felt the same. I still enjoy his tweets. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for this book. I did take the opportunity to listen to the audiobook as well to see if perhaps I was missing something by not hearing the intended tone of voice. Perhaps it was the library’s digital copy, but the audio quality wasn’t great. I hate to say it. I didn’t enjoy reading this book nearly as much as I’d expected. Other readers obviously feel differently (most gave it 5 stars), but for me, Breakwell’s best humor is on Twitter. I received a complimentary copy from BenBella Books in exchange for my honest opinion.
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
I first discovered the comedy of James Breakwell in Twitter when a friend re-tweeted a post from @XplodingUnicorn. His tweets quickly became a welcome comedic break from the day. I couldn't pass up his first book - a look at parenting in the zombie apocalypse. First off, I forgive the two really bad typos. They made me giggle this time instead of annoying me. Second, while I really really wanted to read this straight through, I highly recommend taking a break between chapters. You'll want to make it last as long as you can. Each chapter takes a unique zombie-apocalypse-style look at parenting and how to make sure you (and maybe your kids) survive. On the surface, this may sound a bit ridiculous, but if you pay really close attention, you'll find crazy words of wisdom you never expected. Plus, you will be far more prepared should the zombie apocalypse actually happen. Filled with useful graphs, cartoons, and strategies, Only Dead on the Inside is a book I recommend to just about everyone I meet now. I even read some of it to my fifteen-year-old, who promptly rolled her eyes and left the room, which is high praise indeed. Breakwell's dry humor was quite refreshing and I still look forward to his tweets, now his newsletter, and I hear he has more on the way with a variety of projects.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay, where do I even start with this? Well technically, at the beginning, but that's in the past and I'm more of a forward thinker. So I've been wanting this book for ages but being a single mom it's not always easy to come up with spare cash, even if it's only twelve bucks. However, I did manage to find some employable skills buried deep within me and landed myself a job. Once I got the important things, like Reese's Eggs, other less appetizing food, and shelter out of the way, this book was next on my list. I don't know if you know this about parents, but the only real moments of joy we get are when the kids leave on the bus in the morning and on payday....that's it, only those two times. And let me tell you, it doesn't last long. This book, though, has brought me at least two or three (rounding up) moments of joy, happiness, laughter. On a more serious note, it was a pleasure to read and I found myself being more and more invested with every page. I'm not typically a fan of Zombies, in or out of literature, but the struggles of being a parent on a day to day basis is something that all parents can connect with and all single people can laugh at. It was by far my best purchase so far, well except for the Reese's Eggs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's an hilarious read, probably the best zombie apocalypse book ive ever read and i don't even have kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I no I didn't spel that rite but thers know tim for speling in da zomby apocalips