Paranoid

Paranoid

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$18.99 $24.99 Save 24% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $24.99. You Save 24%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Paranoid 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just when I thought I figured it out I was wrong. Kept you guessing till the very end. But that Cliffhanger at the end..... ?
WheelerDealer 9 months ago
What a fantastic book. I've read some really good ones recently but this one overtakes them all. I've not read any books Lisa Jackson before and I'll definitely be checking out her others, and if they are as good as this one, I've got a lot to look forward to. I also hope this gets made into a movie as the plot is excellent and there are so many twists and turns that keep you guessing. Twenty years ago, a group of high school kids played a game with pretend guns in an abandoned cannery. in Edgewater, Oregon. Someone had a real gun and Rachel's half brother Luke was shot and killed. Rachel was accused of the killing but acquitted from the crime. Several of her friends testified that the shot came from behind her, but not even Rachel knows for sure. Now it's time for the 20 year class reunion and the local newspaper is dredging up the details of that fateful night.. The story starts from here when things start to happen on the 20 year anniversary of his death. Rachel’s nightmares about that night in question continue. Her anxiety contributed to her divorce from Detective Cade Ryder. As the school reunion nears, she feels her imagination playing tricks, and that someone is tailing her car. Watching her home. She’s right to be scared. As connections between a new string of murders and Luke’s death come to light, Rachel's life gets turned upside down once again. Who is to blame and are they trying to get revenge? If you only read one book this year - make it this one!!
Anonymous 11 months ago
I couldn’t put this book down! Great story, great characters & I can only hope there will be a 2nd book to continue the story. Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn’t stop reading this thriller until it was done! The details give you the feeling of being in the locations and the characters draw you in.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Wowzers+this+book+had+twist+and+turns+till+the+very+end.+i+was+still+saying+wow+what+the+heck+just+happened+at+page+383.+i+had+to+reread+it+several+times.+I+definitely+recommend+this+book%21+
ChaoticKarma23 12 months ago
I received complimentary copies of this book from NetGalley and She Speaks in exchange for an honest review. "Paranoid" by Lisa Jackson is a psychological thriller and one of the best I have read in a very long time. It definitely keeps you guessing throughout the entire book. I absolutely LOVE how each chapter, and sometimes sections of the same chapter, were told from different characters' viewpoints. It really lets you get a better understanding of each of the characters and to me, made the book just that much richer. The only thing I did not like about this book was the fact that it was over! A lot of times I find myself wanting to rush to the ending of a book because I'm excited to read the next one in my TBR. Just NOT the case with this book. I did not want it to end. But end, it did - and boy.. that ending! I highly recommend this book to fans of psychological thrillers - it is definitely not to be missed!!
MTCKMason 12 months ago
Lisa Jackson starts us in Oregon twenty years ago when Rachel shoots her brother Luke dead. Years later, Rachel is a divorced mom of two still scarred by the events of the past. Meanwhile, her high school is putting on a reunion while those who were there with her years ago are ending up dead. Her life is spiraling out of control as she finds herself the target of a stalker, her children are hiding secrets from her, her ex-husband is investigating the crimes, and she is being harassed to being a part of the reunion. Rachel needs to figure out what is going on around her before she becomes the target of a killer set to mete out punishment for the injustices of the past. Lisa Jackson brings us into Rachel's story by drawing us in to the events as she remembers them. There is intrigue to hint at that feeling that you are being watched even though you see nothing out of the ordinary. Lisa has always excelled at making you feel that things may not quite seem as they appear without being overly dramatic. I enjoyed trying to figure out what will happen with our characters. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for this privilege.
RobinLovesReading More than 1 year ago
When Rachel Gaston was a teenager she got involved in a dangerous game. This involvement led to the tragic death of her brother Luke. Acquitted from the crime, it is now twenty years later. Someone is bound and determined to make her pay for Luke's death. Rachel had quite a bit of counseling and even had a nice life for a while. She married and had two children. However, her nightmares and anxiety have a profound affect on her and she and husband, Detective Cade Ryder divorced. They are good co-parents to their teenage children and with rapidly changing circumstances, are drawn together quite often in this story. Rachel and several others were in the process of preparing for their twenty-year high school reunion. One of the former classmates is murdered and several other things, including other murders, happen in quick succession. This, quite naturally, makes Rachel quite nervous. All she wants to do is to forget the past and prepare her children for the future. All the while, she wonders about her relationship with Cade, and he has similar thoughts throughout. Paranoid is a thrilling story. There is a strong element of revenge in this story, and this reaches deep into the lives of Rachel, and also her children. There is also the paranoia Rachel feels as her past continues to resurface. The danger is present from the outset, and despite the family drama, reunion planning and personality issues, their are enough twists and turns, as well as plenty of plausible suspects, to make this a difficult book to put down. Lisa Jackson is a remarkable author and I always enjoy reading her books. Many thanks to Kensington and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
tradeoff More than 1 year ago
A forthcoming high school reunion is the set up for this aggravating mystery by a popular writer; Rachel, whose memories of her teenage years are marred by a tragic accident that all her classmates remember vividly - the night she killed her half-brother - should have begged of the organizing committee. Even when a series of spooky events, including murder, occurred, this reader wanted to tell Rachel to just stay home and read a good book instead of going to the reunion and falling into the trap that someone from her past has set for her. Cue the ominous music and keep reading - I did, and,wasn't sorry.
Bern425 More than 1 year ago
20 years ago a carefree, teenage game in an abandoned cannery warehouse turns deadly. The group of teenagers were supposed to be shooting pellet guns, no one was supposed to get hurt. So how did Luke end up dead? His half-sister, Rachel, was initially blamed for the shooting but with no gun shot residue evident on her hands the case never made it far. Although she was never found guilty, Rachel has lived with the guilt of Luke's death for the last 20 years. With no one held accountable, that night remains filled with unanswered questions. How did Luke end up shot by a real gun? Who killed him and why? On the 20th anniversary of Luke's death things begin to take an eerie turn for everyone who was in the warehouse on the night of his death. Witnesses are suddenly found dead, killed in a brutal manner. Rachel's house is vandalized, she receives eerie texts from an unknown number and can't help but feel as if she's being watched all the time. Is she being paranoid or is someone out to even the score for Luke's death all those years ago? Paranoid is a tale of secrets, lies, paranoia, guilt and ultimately revenge. I was fully engaged with the story from the beginning. I was feeling a bit disappointed that I had figured out the current timeline's culprit very early on when Jackson completely threw me with the past timeline's whodunnit! I definitely hadn't figured out the who and why surrounding Luke's death and was pleasantly surprised by that twist! It took my rating from 3 to 4 stars!
Teri1957 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. No one can lead you through suspense like Lisa Jackson but hold onto your seats for this one may be a bumpy ride. Fantastic plot with moments where you'll wonder if you are imagining things or if it's actually happening. This is a great read for lovers of suspense, thrillers, and those who like to get their pants scared off. Enjoy!
Tink4evr More than 1 year ago
Twisted! This is a story filled with many plot twists that will keep you glued to the pages. A small town of horrors where nothing is as it appears. Everyone has secrets that are tied to each other, even the children. It is a chilling read that ha the potential to give you nightmares.
Suesyn Zellmer More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that I've read by this author and she's definitely found a new fan! The main character, Rachel, has lived with the guilt of accidentally shooting her half brother, Luke, 20 years ago. Although cleared by the police with a help of a few witnesses, she hasn't been cleared in the public eye and almost everyone in her town blames her solely for his death. Because it was in a dark abandoned cannery with teenagers running all around shooting air guns and firecrackers, it's not clear exactly what happened, leaving room for rampant speculation. Now on the anniversary of Luke's death, another classmate has been found murdered and everyone wants to figure out if it is somehow connected and how much worse things will get. There's also a lot of family drama, as Rachel is divorced from her husband, Cade, and as he is with the police, he also is caught up in the mystery. His father happens to be grandfather to Luke's son, Lucas, who was not born at the time of Luke's passing. His mother Lila was a classmate and best friend of Rachel's and by marrying Cade's dad, she also became Rachel's (now ex) stepmother! It is all very interconnected and at times may be tough to keep straight. There's also some repetition, as I swear I read some variant of the phrase 'but could Luke's 20 year old case possibly be related to this murder?' at least 20 times. Just a little trimming of some dialogue here and there would help. It's not enough to keep from enjoying the story and I would recommend it to anyone in need of a good thriller!
Luadri More than 1 year ago
Paranoid by Lisa Jackson kept me at the edge of my seat from beginning to end. We visit a small town where some of its Rachel Ryder and her high school friends are about to celebrate their 20th high school reunion. It also coincides with the anniversary of the death of Rachel's brother, Luke. After twenty years Rachel is still trying to overcome her guilt and fear of how Luke died. It was a hard to put down thriller. I actually read it in one day! All characters where flawed, which made the story more interesting. *Thank you to the publisher for providing the ARC through NetGalley for an honest review.
Lillian Maddocks-Cummings More than 1 year ago
Will you ever be free? Rachel has been living with the guilt of her stepbrother Luke's death for twenty years and the anniversary of his death is coming up and she will need to be strong for her family. But the local newspaper has done an article on his death and everyone is whispering about her part in his death, she has always believed that she caused his death and now it is all up for discussion again. Will she ever find peace with the past? She is trying her best but her children Harper & Dylan are growing so quickly and they are both keeping secrets from her and their father Cade. They both worry about their mother as she is becoming even more paranoid and they feel that they both need to escape. Rachel just wants to get out of planning the high school reunion but Lila has guilted her into it and how can she say no to the woman that had her stepbrother baby. Lucas looks just like his dad but he is also hiding a secret that could destroy everyone's lives. Rachel is even more freaked out as someone that had her back all those years ago has been killed and now she is even more worried. She feels like someone has been watching her but she decides to keep it to herself as she knows that Cade will worry about her. And the last thing she needs is for her ex-husband to get involved. Cade just knows that the death is linked to what happened all those years ago and now that another schoolfriend of Rachel's has been killed he knows that there is something there but why now? Can he prove that he is right and protect his family at the same time? Will Cade find the killer before it is too late for Rachel as he knows that it will all end with her death? A great read full of twists & turns. You can never what is right in front of you. I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Netgalley & the publishing house in exchange for my honest review.
poohbearPA More than 1 year ago
Omg people PARANOID is one of those books that you open and won’t close until it’s finished, and even then, you won’t want it to be over. Paranoid is a FIVE PLUS star book. I’m not even kidding when I say, this book will grab you from page one and hold you until you are finished. I LOVED this story. Paranoid starts out with a bunch of kids, 20 years earlier, are going into a old fish processing house. They were all meeting there and playing guns with fake, not real, guns. Basically laser tag only 20 years earlier with pop guns. Anyways the unthinkable happens, someone has a REAL gun and shoots and kills her own brother....then 20 years has past and people in the town don’t feel she was properly charged with the crime, but who, and seriously, why? The friends that were all at the fish house start dying....being killed by someone, but who? Again, super awesome book. Read it!!! Happy reading. :))
diane92345 More than 1 year ago
Rachel has PTSD after a teenage game of tag turns deadly for her half-brother, Luke. Twenty years and a divorce later, she feels people are following her and that objects are being moved in her house by intruders. Is it real or is she just being Paranoid? Luke’s death was ruled an accident but many in the town, including Rachel, believe Rachel pulled the trigger. Was she found not at fault because of manipulation of the evidence by her detective father? Who is terrorizing her now and why? Rachel is annoying so I’m glad she isn’t my mother or sister. However, I loved the multiple twists at the end of this unpredictable read. Paranoid is an excellent thriller with a multitude of both suspects and crimes. It is highly recommended for all thriller readers but especially for those who try to solve the crime before the final resolution. 4 stars! Thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for my honest review.
GailHollingsworth More than 1 year ago
This is a book that I’ll be thinking about for a long time. I would call it a suspenseful thriller with some romance thrown in. Lots of characters living all their lives in a small town. Bringing some of the townsfolk together is a twentieth high school reunion that coincides with a murder of one of theirs during that time of high school. Crazy teenagers meeting at an abandoned fish cannery for a late night of fun. Each one is carrying a pellet pistol and among the shots and firecrackers happening, Luke is shot with a real bullet and dies. His half sister Rachel is blamed but is released. Her life has been a mess from that time on with paranoid fears of sounds, feelings of being followed and terrible nightmares. What is real? What is not? Twenty years later classmates begin being murdered starting on the anniversary date of Luke’s death. If you’re like me you won’t be able to put it down. Lots of twists and turns with more than one surprise to be revealed at the end. I never would have guessed. My kind of writing! I received a complimentary copy of this novel from the publisher through SheSpeaks but was not required to write a review positive or otherwise. #ReadPARANOID #SheSpeaks http://bit.ly/ReadParanoid
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Is Rachel PARANOID? Is her fear REAL or is it IRRATIONAL? Most watch a scary movie and then hear every bump and squeak in the house and see shadows out the window. And so a trauma that took place in the PAST can have an effect on ones life and the people around them. Guilt haunts and keeps one from enjoying life and love. Jackson wrote an intense crime drama that had me figuring out the mystery and then changing my mind the more pages I read. In depth characters and prose. Not telling anymore= =READ THIS!! "A copy of this book was provided by Kensington Books via NetGalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion." DO NOT MISS THIS ONE
Ms-Hurst More than 1 year ago
20 years ago some kids were playing paintball in an abandoned building with huge holes in the floor and not lights. So they were pretty stupid. Then Luke was shot for real and his sister (or half sister as keeps getting pointed out for some strange reason) is arrested for the death. Somehow, the didn't know that she had a real gun. and then the gun was gone and she was cleared. The description makes it sound as if she is ostracized for the murder and getting away with it, but there is very little proof of that. She seems to be involved in the community and living just fine. I started out wanting to know who had killed Luke. Then I realize that I was pretty sure I knew and that I really didn't care. Every character was a stereotype. Most annoying were her kids. Could there be any more annoying and self-centered than these two? Maybe I got really lucky and had the two best teenagers in the world, but I do not know how these kids could think they could get away with talking to their mother this way or why they would even want to do so. Every character had conversations with themselves with half of it being out loud as if they were unaware that they were NOT two people. So we have a town of egocentric, delusional people and someone starts killing them off. I kind of was hoping certain characters would be next by about halfway through. So much filler. I kept hoping there was a reason I was reading some of this stuff. That it would add to the story at some point or be important for character development. It really wasn't. The story revolves partly around a reunion being planned. Of course they have a meeting the night of the anniversary of the death. And of course the reunion is being planned by his sister (excuse me, half-sister, something I've literally never called any of my half-sisters, but) his girlfriend (who is now his half-sister's ex mother-in-law), and his best friend (who was his age and would not have been part of the same class as the other two (who weren't the ones who were seniors that year so why are they in charge? Whose reunion is this?) Yeah, that's as messed up and confusing as it sounds. Time to start skimming? This book is kind of a ridiculous mess of characters that are over-explained yet still shallowly written. Who killed Luke? You may want to read just to finish and find out. For that, it gets a few stars.
PatriciaWhite More than 1 year ago
20 years ago Rachel was accused of the murder of her half brother Luke. It’s affected everything in her life.Now people close to the investigation are being murdered. Someone is tormenting Rachel with calls and texts. There is a lot of family drama in this book between Rachel, her kids and her ex husband. I love Lisa Jackson’s books some more than others. This was not one of my favorites but it was still a good book. I have to say the last 100 or so pages were the best part of the book. The twist at the end was crazy good. I really hope we get a new New Orleans book next year. That and the Grizzly Falls books are my favorites.
onemused More than 1 year ago
PARANOID is an engaging thriller. Rachel was a teenager when a group of teens went to the closed Cannery and used pellet guns to shoot each other as they ran around. Somehow, Rachel did not know she was holding a real gun, and shot her half-brother, killing him. What they also did not know was that his girlfriend was pregnant with his child. That night became a defining moment in all the teens' lives, and although a lack of evidence meant that Rachel did not go to jail, she has suffered a lot of PTSD in the years following. Now, on the 20th anniversary of the event, Rachel is divorced but still has feelings for her ex-husband, a police detective in town. She also has two teenaged children who she keeps on a tight leash. Managing her life is hard enough, but then someone seems to be targeting her- and more seriously, they are also killing some of the witnesses from that night. The book primarily follows the detective, his former partner, and Rachel (ocassionally other characters also) in third person limited points-of-view as the events unfold. What really happened on the night twenty years ago? And who is carrying out the revenge in the present? The book has a lot of twists and turns that I did not see coming, and which made for quite an entertaining and engrossing read. Rachel, the primary character which we follow, was an understandable and sympathetic character- perfect as the lead in this engaging story. I really did not see the end coming, which is something I absolutely love in thrillers, as I am constantly guessing along the way. There is a great intertwining of police procedural and thriller in this book that adds to its appeal, and gives it a broader audience. This captivating story is definitely worth the read if you like procedurals, mysteries, and/or slow-building thrillers. Overall, this was a great read! Please note that I received a copy from the publisher through shespeaks. All opinions are my own.
Janice Lombardo More than 1 year ago
With their 20th class reunion only months away, Rachel and her fellow students find themselves in the midst of more than one homicide. Luke, Rachel's half-brother had died the night of a raucous party gone bad, 20 years ago. Originally it was thought that Rachel had been behind the gunshot that killed Luke, however, Rachel was found innocent. With their 20th class reunion only months away, Rachel and her fellow students find themselves in the midst of more than one homicide. Luke, Rachel's half-brother had died the night of a raucous party gone bad, 20 years ago. Originally it was thought that Rachel had been behind the gunshot that killed Luke, however, Rachel was found innocent. Now, with the reunion so close, someone is killing former students in Rachel's class. Who? Why? ...and why NOW? As the twists come at you and the mystery unfolds, the reader is taken to differing viewpoints as to who is behind these murders. As all of us Lisa Jackson readers know - you're in for a thrilling and shocking conclusion! Many thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for a rollercoaster of a ride! Now, with the reunion so close, someone is killing former students in Rachel's class. Who? Why? ...and why NOW? As the twists come at you and the mystery unfolds, the reader is taken to differing viewpoints as to who is behind these murders. As all of us Lisa Jackson readers know - you're in for a thrilling and shocking conclusion! Many thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for a rollercoaster of a ride!
Anonymous 9 months ago
This author made these kids complete monsters and tried to pass it off as normal, not reality based all characters were bad really bad. This should have been a short story take out the over describing of every scene and the book becomes half the size. This author goes into the never to read again. Ugh I can't tell you how warped these characters are. Mother weak, father sees mother as a poor victim and cheats or almost cheats confusing, kids self centered monsters I truly believe this author sees this as a normal family and has no clue what real people are. This book is disturbing more so the authors concept of people the same pattern flows in all the characters it really is that bad along with the boring over describing of everything.