President Lincoln: The Duty of a Statesman

President Lincoln: The Duty of a Statesman

by William Lee Miller

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.20 $18.00 Save 10% Current price is $16.2, Original price is $18. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
MARKETPLACE
24 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

President Lincoln: The Duty of a Statesman 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read a great deal about Lincoln, especially during this anniversary year. For that reason, I was hesitant to purchase another biography. I was delighted to find new information and insights into the life of this great man.
estamm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this book perhaps more than 'Lincoln's Virtues'. I enjoy Lincoln books that focus on specific events and discuss those events in detail, and this book does just that. I think I still enjoyed 'Honor's Voice' more, but this is a worthy read, and an excellent follow-up to Miller's first book. I highly recommend this.
nbmars on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Miller endeavors to examine ¿the moral performance of Abraham Lincoln¿ as president. Therefore, as the author explains, the book is only indirectly about Lincoln¿s statesmanship and more about his moral conduct in office. He is also careful to distinguish (as Lincoln himself did) choices Lincoln made in fulfillment of his oath of office from those he might have made based on his personal predispositions.It¿s an interesting perspective in one sense, because, as Miller observes, many politicians have had more political experience than Lincoln but ¿A fool or knave can rise through many eminent positions and still be a fool or knave.¿ So Miller wants to show how Lincoln excelled in spite of his lack of experience, because he had such a strong moral fiber. My biggest criticism with this book is that it reads more like a billet doux than a history. It is overly reverential: Lincoln may have taken an oath to preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution, but Miller seems to have taken the same oath vis-a-vis Lincoln. He repeatedly characterizes Lincoln as ¿decisive,¿ ¿steadfast¿ tenderhearted,¿ ¿resilient,¿ ¿resolute¿ ¿ a lot of adjectives making the basic point of ¿strong yet gentle.¿ On the other hand, the author lashes out at McClellan, who treated Lincoln with contempt. [But how could one not appreciate the line ¿Vanity, rudeness, and malice were not, however, McClellan¿s most distinctive vices as a commander¿¿]My other complaint is that the prose is anachronistically florid. Not only does Miller hijack and recycle many of Lincoln¿s own familiar phrases (¿mystic chords,¿ ¿mighty scourge¿ and so on), but he also interjects his own overly dramatic prose. He refers to ¿the golden thread of magnanimity and generosity that would wind its way through his presidency.¿ He makes reference to events that ¿would ring forever thereafter in American memory¿ and provide ¿stories forever.¿Those criticisms aside, the book contains some interesting observations and analyses. In attempting to justify Lincoln¿s very hesitant stance on the abolition of slavery, Miller does a thorough job of detailing the tenuous positions of the border states, and how essential it was for the viability of the Union for Lincoln to hold on to them. He also includes an interesting theory of how the Emancipation Proclamation ¿ so legalistic and even exclusionary ¿ came to be seen as a great document of liberation. The Proclamation did not set all the slaves free, but only those in the Confederacy, over whom Lincoln did not have any control. In fact, Miller charges, it was white Southerners who, greatly exaggerating the document¿s import out of fear and hyperbole, conveyed a much more momentous significance to this decree. Their indiscriminate condemnations reached into the slave community, convincing blacks that northerners wanted them liberated. Great waves of escaped slaves thus attached themselves to invading northern armies, much to the chagrin of the latter who then had to care for them.Lincoln, for his part, continually protested that if he could save the Union without freeing any slaves he would do so. However, when he thought the North was losing the war and that he would not be re-elected, he encouraged the great black freed man Frederick Douglass to familiarize slaves with the Emancipation Proclamation. Slaves who had made their way behind Union lines by war¿s end could stay out of bondage.Immense changes took place during Lincoln¿s time in office. When he began as President, the U.S. Army totaled just over 17,000 men and just over 1,000 officers. When war was declared, one-third of the officers promptly resigned and joined the Confederacy. There were significant defections in civilian departments as well; ninety employees in the War Department alone resigned. Confusion and corruption characterized the early days of the Administration. Lincoln¿s generals in the field made their own policies, sometimes in direct contradiction to Lincoln¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It sounds interesting to me because i love reading about history and the presidents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This may be better to read than to listen to. Several passages seemed to go on for an eternity. We got the point, move on. The sections on his relationship with Civil War generals, pardoning prisoners and plotting re-election are engaging. The parts that other reviewers call "nuanced" were, to me, overbearing. Do people proofread/prooflisten these? President Martin Van Buren was called Warren Van Buren.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago