The Pursuit of Alice Thrift

The Pursuit of Alice Thrift

by Elinor Lipman

Paperback(Reprint)

$12.94 $13.95 Save 7% Current price is $12.94, Original price is $13.95. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pursuit of Alice Thrift 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
readingrebecca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I¿ve read some reviews where the reviewer didn¿t like Alice Thrift. I could not understand. I thought Alice was the most amusing character I¿ve read in a long time. She¿s so gauche, so left-footed, so lacking in any social skills that I just had to love her. And witnessing her metamorphosis, with the help of her former roommate and her neighbor, was a pure delight. I don¿t think she¿ll ever be the world¿s best conversationalist, but she certainly learned to hold her own throughout the story.Elinor Lipman has written an extremely funny story about Alice Thrift, M.D. She is pursued by the fast-talking Ray Russo and it¿s pretty obvious from the outset that Mr. Russo is a liar and a cheat. But the story is so humorous and told so well, I just kept turning pages to see how Alice was going to get off probation at the hospital and how Ray Russo was going to get what was coming to him. The ending of the story did not disappoint! I¿ve enjoyed all the books I¿ve read by Elinor Lipman, but I think perhaps this was my favorite.
oldblack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Chick Lit. Unquestionably. Does that automatically make it bad? No, I don't think so. I guess the main negative aspect was the predictability of the outcome and the lack of character depths. However, it was quite a pleasant read, and I guess there was an element of reality, at least in terms of my (unreal?) life. That is, the idea that a person might stupidly allow themselves to be drawn into a relationship which anyone could see wasn't going to work, just because the person wants to feel needed. I needed a fairly lightweight book after my previous one (The Poisonwood Bible), and this performed that role admirably. I liked Lipman's style (this was my first taste of Elinor Lipman) enough to make me start another of hers - "My Latest Grievance". I'll see how that compares before I start making judgments about the author. After all, she's a favorite author of one of my favorite readers!
mcelhonec on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wanted to shake some of the characters, but mostly I didn't really care. The relationships between Alice and her boyfriend/husband, Alice and her mother, etc. were confusing and lacked focus. I did like the way the book ended but I'm not sure it flowed with the previous story.
dianaleez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Can an upper-middle-class doctor find love with a shady, fast-talking fudge salesman? Quirky characters and sharp wit highlight Elinor Lipman's The Pursuit of Alice Thrift. Alice Thrift, a surgical intern at a Boston hospital, is high of IQ but low in social graces. She doesn't mean to be acerbic, clinical, or blunt. Into Alice's workaholic and wallflower life comes Ray Russo, a slick traveling fudge salesman in search of a nose job and well-heeled companionship, but not necessarily in that order. Is he a con man or a sincere suitor? Good guy or bad? I enjoyed Alice and am looking for more books by Lipman. If you're tired of the same old same old, I suggest that you give Alice a try.
swl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love the heroine for her depth, quirkiness, and oddball nature. She¿s so hopeless, and yet you can sense that people do respond to her at some level so she is never truly hopeless. The humor is hilarious but also complex.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book three times now, and intend on reading it again. I found myself highlighting and underlining many clever, well written lines. Elinor Lipman struck gold with this book. It is a must-read for anyone looking for something a little less ordinary and something that will make you laugh. Definitely a masterpiece worth holding on to!
huckfinn37 More than 1 year ago
I liked The Pursuit of Alice Thrift. She is career driven so she doesn't develop her social skills very well. It is very easy to see how this could happen to a woman is real life. I liked Leo as well. The plot was interesting but I hated Ray. Can you say, Liar. I would read another Elinor Lipman novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a simple story about a socially misfit young doctor who goes through very painful social experiences in finding her way. It is funny, well written, and the characters are well drawn.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Good read. Lipman develops each of the characters as comical yet real. I particularly enjoyed the friendship dynamics between Alice, Leo and Sylvie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lipman combines subtle deadpan humor with fall-off-the-chair funny like nobody's business. Her characters are oddball like Ann Tyler's but much more appealing. Alice Thrift's mother is priceless. No matter how bad she think your mother is or how she embarrasses you, Mrs. Thrift has got your mother beat. I devoured it in one sitting. Then, because I didn't want it to end and felt deprived, I went and got a chocolate bar.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elinor Lipman writes so well, so smart, so funnily - if that is a word! - and makes these characters so real, you will have a mental picture of them by the middle of the book. (I had Sandra Bullock as Alice and a composite of Dennis Farina and Burt Reynolds as Ray). Thank you, Elinor Lipman, from my inner-Alice Thrift. I am SURE this will be a Hollywood movie and I can't wait.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Boston surgical intern Alice Thrift is a genius with an IQ in the stratosphere and a Harvard degree. Ray Russo is street educated dropped out. They meet when Ray pursues rhinoplastic surgery (a nose job).

For a reason only he knows,, sweet talking Ray courts the caustic Alice, known for her terrorist bedside manner. Shockingly, the brilliant Alice, after shunning Ray¿s pitch as nonsense, finally capitulates. They have sex leading to her realizing that there is more to life than work. Yet ironically her work improves and she even makes a friend Sylvie Schwartz at the hospital. When her platonic former roommate registered nurse Leo Frawley and Sylvie flirt with one another, Alice feels lonely. Vulnerable, she elopes with Ray only to learn he conned her out of cash and his ¿deceased¿ first wife lives with him. Leo and Sylvie are there for Alice, who bitterly knows she failed her first life lesson.

Though Alice is not a likable character, fans will feel her loneliness and hope she makes it with someone who cherishes her and she treasures in return. Ray is a mean man while Leo and Sylvie are people the audience would like as friends. The bittersweet story line may seem rough to romance readers, but actually salutes friendship when one thinks a friend in need is a pest and prefers not to become involved, but does so anyway.

Harriet Klausner