Sam Houston and the Alamo Avengers: The Texas Victory That Changed American History

Sam Houston and the Alamo Avengers: The Texas Victory That Changed American History

by Brian Kilmeade

Hardcover

$19.60 $28.00 Save 30% Current price is $19.6, Original price is $28. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 20
MARKETPLACE
81 New & Used Starting at $9.16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sam Houston and the Alamo Avengers: The Texas Victory That Changed American History 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Great+
10366539 3 months ago
A great history of the struggle for Texas independence and the revenge for the massacres at the Alamo and other places.
Pndfitz359 4 months ago
Fun, informative book.
Daniel Quackenbush 5 months ago
As usual Brian ' style is easy to read and flows through history in a entertaining and logical manner. Brings into intersection the lives of the Texan historical figures many of my generation (baby boomer) grew up with.
Anonymous 5 months ago
good overview of a vast story difficult to distill in such a short essay.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Well++written+and+researched++
Anonymous 5 months ago
As a native Texan whose relative was at the Siege of San Antonio, and who later was killed in action fighting Indians while serving in the Republic of Texas Army, I greatly appreciate Mr. Kilmeade's excellent narrative of the story of Texas. Very well written and quite informative.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Just wonderful! I have lived in Texas most of my life , and this book told the story well . I an getting more for presents.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Couldn't help draw parallels with today's politics. Lessons learned and forgotten . A good read.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Very informational and great read!! Brian is brilliant!
sadiesb 7 months ago
Outstanding History book. Easy to read....hard to put down. Thanks to the author for such an insightful history of Texas.
train_lady 7 months ago
Brian Kilmeade has authored several books about the heroes of American history. This one is just great. It's an easy read, laid out well with maps and diagrams of the battles, and well researched. Kilmeade had a wealth of material on which to draw. Other authors have told the Alamo story before. Kilmeade steps back and starts with the roots of the Texan desire for liberty and independence. The men and women who played a major part of this story are shown as people with human flaws, but with the desire and vision to do the right thing for Texas. He concludes with what happened soon after independence was won, and what happened to the principals of this fascinating part of American history. What is interesting about the history is that considering the odds, Texas should never have won their independence. Their army, such as it was, was mostly rag-tag and disorganized. In many ways, it was much like the American Colonists who fought for American independence. Houston is shown to be a complex person who sort of knows what must be done, but doesn't always come across as a strong leader. He has doubts. Some decisions seem to be left to chance. But in the end, he wins the day, and the hearts of the people of Texas. If you enjoy this book, I would encourage you to read Kilmeade's other books of American heroes.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I'm enjoying this read - pure history and captivating.
dbadge6603 8 months ago
Well written. Not the first Alamo history book I have had occasion to read. Kilmeade captures a significant amout what some may the thinking processes that the characters go through in course of the book. It is an excellent method to keep a reader's interest focused on both the character and the storyline. I believe our history must continue to be written about so that it remains vibrant and relevant. Our country's history deserves to be showcased for the accomplishments we have achieved rather than some authors attempts to relegate it to the backshelf or even worse; to revise it to suit their own tastes. Kilmeade has written a masterful book capturing the real thoughts and history surrounding how Texas became part of the United States and then a State. His writing is excellent and I look forward to reading his other books and those he should likely write in the future.
Anonymous 8 months ago
great read
HistoryLover22 25 days ago
It is a fascinating look at the war for the independence of Texas. It does cover the Alamo, but the best part of the book comes after when it follows a ragtag collection of citizen-soldiers through their journey for independence. Highly recommend! I read it in 3 days it was so captivating.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I've lived in San Antonio all my life. My 3xgr-grandmother was born on the Brazos River during the "runaway scrape" This book gives me a new understanding of what my ancestors (and other Texians) went through during this time in history. There are so many books written about Texas and our fight for independence and I've never taken the time to read about it except on the internet. This is a very interesting book...worth reading!