Sarah (Women of Genesis Series #1)

Sarah (Women of Genesis Series #1)

by Orson Scott Card

Hardcover

$21.66 $22.95 Save 6% Current price is $21.66, Original price is $22.95. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sarah 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's not often you get to read a Bible story through the eyes of a woman, and Orson Scott Card does a remarkable job at doing exactly that. He portrays the oft told story of Abraham, but from the view point of his wife Sarah, which gives the story a twist you never would have imagined. Card probes into the mind of Sarah so well, with such detail, that I sometimes forget a man was the author of this remarkable book. I would reccomend this book to any Orson Scott Card fans, or Bible fans, or anybody looking for a fantastic book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from the first chapter. I couldn't put it down. The dialog between Sarah and Abraham is quite funny at times. It also made me cry because he writes so that you feel like you know Sarah. I am buying Rebekah right now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Card once again leaves me astonished. This was a wonderfully written historical novel about an amazing woman. I am in awe of the author's ability to take on the characters personality. I found that as a reader it was easy to identify with Sarah, she was such a supremely real character that it was hard not to fall in love with her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A truly incredible book, with surprising insight and novelty of which I greatly relished. I had never before read Orson Scott Card, as I was never a science fiction enthusiast; however he expresses a remarkable ability to infuse humanity and life into a character most know only superficially and cannot relate to. Sarah is presented with as much strength and inner fire as I imagined, and I gleefully found her to be a person of wisdom worthy of her position as Mother of a Nation. Rejoice, for this book, as well as the rest of the `trilogy,¿ comes highly recommended, from me to you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book gets you into the head of these powerful women and gives you a positive attitude. 'Sarah' is one of those books you just can't put down. I'm looking forward to the following titles in this series.
esmecat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
because of his Mormon faith combined with his belief in the failability of scripture, Card takes liberties with changing the story. aside from this, it is well written and an interesting read. if you are a protestant christian, read these books with a careful eye.
justine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read. I love Orson Scott Card, and the Women of the Bible series is no exception. The characters are well realized and the story is emotionally told.
librisissimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gives a history and a personality (both thoroughly fictional) to a woman crucial to the story of the Jews, but often overlooked in her roles as Abraham's wife and Isaac's mother. Humanizes an enigmatic icon.
hredwards on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book. Really brings to life the biblical characters.
cataylor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First in the trilogy "Women of Genesis". A fictionalized account of Sarah and her marriage to Abram. Card makes the story come to life and keeps you turning pages. Reads well alone, but you'll want to follow with "Rebekah" and "Rachel and Leah".
colleenharker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked this one. It was fast, easy reading and retold the story of Sarah, Abraham's wife. Card made some changes to the biblical text, but I enjoyed reading his historical reasons for doing so in the Afterword.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great understanding of scripture and the strength needed by this woman. Great biblical fiction
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous book. The story of Sarah and Abraham is presented in such a way as to make it come alive to the reader. Please read this, you will not be sorry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an incredible depiction of Sarah's point of view. It brings to life a completely believable personality; although we don't learn that much about her from the Bible, I'd really like to think this is how it was for her. I've always been flabbergasted at how she could give her handmaiden to her husband - this is really an eye opener. It opens up insights and very real feelings she may have experienced. It's amazing, how OSC could put his readers into a female's shoes so well!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up at the local B&N on Saturday night and finished it on Monday. I could not put it down. What got me hooked was Card's presentation of Sara, and all the other characters, as REAL people I could relate to. I found myself wanting to know more about them and what was going to happen next. It was interesting to see how they were real people living and dealing with human problems while trying to live their faith. Their issues were not Old Testament or ancient history issues, but timeless life challenging situations that people grapple with today. I can hardly wait to read the next book, Rebekah.