Schooled

Schooled

by Anisha Lakhani

Paperback

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Schooled 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
B123 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was clever and fun to read. And now I wonder if this kind of thing actually happens within the schools of the super rich. This is the perfect beach read. It's like cotton candy for your mind. Nothing too heavy - but a great, read. I have recommended this to a couple of my girlfriends. I am sure there are people who are materialistic like the students and parents in this book. I understand the struggle of the main character - she wants to follow her dream of teaching but finds out that it is financially harder than she thought, especially once she gets sucked into the shallow environment of the "rich kids" school. She gets caught up in a whirlwind expensive "stuff." She needs it to fit in and impress her students. I am glad the book ends the way it does -very good.
Amy Humes More than 1 year ago
Fun, entertaining, great read! Sex and the City meets Dead Poet's Society. LOVED it! I'm a teacher and I highly recommend it! Can't wait until Lakhani's next book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having just finished Anisha Lakhani's Schooled, I could not wait to share it with my teacher friends. Not only was this a book I could not put down, but it brought back memories of my earlier teacher days. Having been in the private sector for years, it allowed me to have many ah-ha moments mixed with the wit and humor of a fantastic writer. Anisha knows where she's going in her literary genre and I can not wait for her next book to be ready! I highly recommend this book and sing its praise to everyone!
Joles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If I could give this book 100 stars I would! This book makes me want to leave my job and go teach in Manhattan. As a teacher I could really connect with the characters and wish (at times) that I was the main character. There were also a number of moments that I was really able to connect with both the teacher and the students. I know how she felt and found myself wondering what I would do in the same situation.A must read for teachers and those that want to become teachers!
jfetting on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Schooled" is one of those books where an idealistic young woman goes to the big city full of plans to change the world and, dazzled by the wealth around her, forgets her true self and becomes part of a corrupt culture (in this case, private schools in Manhattan). It is an enjoyable and highly readable example of the genre, even if it has all been done before. As another reviewer has mentioned, Lakhani really stresses the importance of good teachers and good teaching.This reader became increasingly annoyed with the label-whore aspect of the book (if I read the words "Juicy Couture" one more time I'm going to scream). Yes, yes, things, labels, Chanel, we get it. Anna is "poor" and wants to be rich and have cool stuff.
katheebee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Schooled is an easy and enjoyable read, and provides some interesting glimpses into the world of super-priveleged private school students ¿ and their parents. The main character Anna transforms from an enthusiastic but inexperienced teacher who just doesn¿t know the `code¿, to someone who gets caught the lucrative tutoring game (where she experiences various forms of `peer pressure¿ from colleagues, students and parents). Somewhat predictably, Anna finally ¿snaps¿ back to her genuine self - a more seasoned but sincere eductor. Schooled does a good job of speaking to those workplace or other situations where it¿s easier (or tempting) to just go along with poor professional practices than to take the risk to stand up for what is right in a rather fun and entertaining manner. Certainly worth reading.
piper0110 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I recieved this book through Early Reviewers, and waited a number of months for it to show up. Definitely worth the wait.The book tells the story of Anna, a wide-eyed, recent college graduate who begins teaching in a Manhattan school for the excessively wealthy. She quickly learns that not all is as it seems and discovers that the real money is in tutoring. It's a fascinating story of how we can all be pulled in by money, but how it's so much more worthwhile to care about what really matters.I am passing this book on to a teacher friend and I know she will enjoy it as much as I did.
librarymeg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book, which is about a young and eager teacher entering the surreal world of New York City private schools, was a very fast and highly enjoyable read. Anna, who is a fresh graduate from Columbia, is hired on to be an English teacher at a prestigious New York private school where the elite send their children. Her enthusiasm and optimism are familiar and inspiring, bringing to mind all the feel-good movies, like "Lean on Me" or "Freedom Writers' Diary," where teachers mould the young minds of tomorrow. Her, and our, bubble is soon burst when she's faced with the pampered offspring of New York's most privileged, who will pay thousands for the best "tutors" to ensure the best grades with the least amount of effort. The author, Anisha Lakhani, actually taught at a New York private school, which adds a sickening sort of realism and believability to this exploration of education's dark side. Despite the story's focus on the negatives in private school education, the book manages to stay light and amusing and, most impressively, to avoid cynicism about the American educational system. On the contrary, Lakhani consistently drives home the point about the importance of good teachers, even more than good schools. I was surprised by exactly how much I enjoyed it!
sunfi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An entertaining story about the seedy underbelly of Manhattan private schools, the students and the "tutors" to these students. As we discover most "tutors" not only help out with homework but actually complete the assignments themselves. The tutors are highly paid and easily fall into the pattern of earn the money to shop more, to then have to earn more money to shop even more and the cycle of dysfunction repeats itself. The narrator does fall into that trap, as a first year teacher, but redeems herself in the end and remembers the true reason why she went into teaching, and it wasn't for the money.
homegirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting look into the world of prep school education and the administration that leads it. Anna is conflicted between being morally grounded and barely making ends meet by being a traditional teacher, or living a lavish lifestyle by "tutoring" kids on the side. Good read, though the ending seemed rushed.
maribs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I teach in a public school that services kids from underprivileged homes. Sometimes, as all teachers do at times, I complain about difficult kids, parents, and/or admin. It comes with the territory. PreKindergarten isn't all happy faces, snack and fun arts crafts. It is work and there are hard days. However, I do not have it as bad as Anna Taggert in Schooled. Oh. My. God. I would have quit the very first day if I had to deal with what she does at her private school in Manhattan. who would put up with that? Well, we know there are many who do, but how? Those kids would have eaten me alive the first hour. I would have very little patience for their parents and I would resent the un-supportive administration that catered to the rich family donators. This is quite a world I would hate to live in but love to read about. Never again will I complain that a parent didn't make it to a parent conference!
cms519 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Nanny Diaries about teaching and tutoring. Lakhani was a NY teacher for 10 years and based the book on her own experiences as well as those of her colleagues. The book is readable, entertaining and light. It would be a good beach or airplane book. While the plot is entertaining, the motivation for character behavior is often unclear and the end of the book is very abrupt.
karenthecroccy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting much from this novel. First novels are often something to be afraid of. Debuts often seem too heavy handed, too deliberate or just plain awful. Lakhani had a few problems, mostly with descriptions (showing, not telling!) and a lot of tired plot devices. I figured this book would be fluff. It doesn't pretend to be anything but fluff, being compared to The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada. Anna Taggart, a new English teacher at a pricey private school in NYC, learns the awful truth of how the teachers make money and afford the rich lifestyles of their students. This is her story.Unfortunately, the plot of the book is fairly predictable. The characters, while initially interesting, never feel fully fleshed out. In fact, it was difficult to feel any sort of connection to Anna, and if I felt anything at all, it was far from sympathy. A lot of it read like name dropping at a social function. I'm not saying DON'T read it ... just don't pay for it. I hope Lakhani's second effort (if there is one) is better. I'd give it a chance. Side note: Is this being made into a movie? It certainly read like one.
AStarIsBorn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Schooled by Anisha Lakhani is is a very quick and easy read. The type of book I take to the beach! It's funny, enjoyable and informative. Anna Taggart is just out of college and instead of getting a high paying job immediately, she decides to teach at a very exclusive upper Manhattan private school. Suddenly Anna realizes she wants to have more. More money, more quality, more of everything life has to offer and she wants it fast. Too bad her low paying job isn't doing it. So, she takes on a job "tutoring" and before she can justify what she's doing, she's getting all she wants. And just how will she justify what she's doing?I really enjoyed "Schooled" and the look into the lifestyles of the "rich and almost-famous"! This book reminds me a lot of the many television series, books and now movies that are now out and ever so popular! (ie Sex and The City, The Nanny Diaries, and The Devil Wears Prada). The truth of the matter is, if you like and/or liked any of those, you'll LOVE "Schooled".
rawlski on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First year teacher, Anna takes a job at a private school and begins to see the level of privilege of the rich, including what the parents do to ¿help¿ their children¿s futures. Anna make such little money, often less than what her students spend on one pair of shoes, in her teaching position that she becomes an outside tutor and begins to earn the type of money that she¿s never seen before. While this money helps her to fit in with the rich parents and become lost in this world, she eventually realizes that money isn¿t everything and realizes the importance of education and other things. Schooled is what I would consider a good beach read. Light and oftentimes funny, it definitely was a quick read. I¿ve recommended it to many of my teacher friends who are able to relate to the education system and the challenges within.
szferris on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
the bummer about the book is i know that a lot of it is really true....which made it an interesting read. it was a a good summer afternoon quick read.....i really did enjoy it.....but i really wanted it to be a little bit better.....
curvymommy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anna Taggert is a young teacher starting her first teaching job at a Manhattan private school with visions of making a difference in her students' lives. It isn't long before she has her eyes opened to the reality of her students' priviledged upbringing, where no one does their own work, and every student has their own highly-paid tutor. Anna soon joins the ranks of the private tutors herself, enticed by the huge sums of money and the luxuries such money can buy. Now she has a new best friend, a high-end apartment, status handbags, blond highlights, and a wardrobe to rival any wealthy Manhattan socalite. But has she sold herself out, abandonded not only her old self, but her morals as well?I really enjoyed this novel. I did not find the brand name-dropping to be annoying at all - it wasn't any different than your average chick lit novel. This was a very readable story, and a fast read. It was fun to read about Anna's experiences with her tutoring students, even if it was hard to believe they were only 7th and 8th graders for the most part.Overall, an entertaining story that I'd recommend to anyone who enjoys a bit of chick lit now and then.
verbafacio on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book had the potential to be a wicked farce, which I would have found very enjoyable. But it fell short, and instead was just another in the long line of novels about Manhattan's uber-rich. Anna Taggert is a young, idealistic teacher at a tony private school, barely making enough money to scrape by. A few weeks in, though, she discovers where the true money lies -- tutoring. A squadron of tutors traipse the city "helping" (aka doing) with homework. Anna is quickly swept away by the glitzy world her tutoring salary opens for her. But what's best for the children? How will they ever learn? The ending will surprise no one.
emcnellis16 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Being a teacher myself, I understood where Anna was coming from - wanting to make a difference, unsure where to begin, and longing for support from those around her.Lakhani's characters grab you from the first page. Anna Taggert is a truly likable heroine - I found myself cheering for her until the very end. Although she falls prey to the lure of easy money, she works heard to regain her integrity. Similarly, the students of Langdon are not what they seem. at first glance, the appear merely spoiled and lazy. But, as Anna works with them, we seem them begin to bloom - and we witness how they are manipulated by the world in which they live.I have to admit, I have been a reading slump lately. But, this was the perfect book to get me back on track. If you are looking for a book you can loose yourself in - pick this one up!
calexis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First off, what really got me interested in this book was its title and cover. I was really curious as to how a shopping bag with the word "Schooled" on it could possibly be a book about teaching. But after reading the summary, I was hooked for sure. I am an undergrad student, currently in the Faculty of Education, and to read a book about an interesting private school education, it was truly inspiring and invoked a lot of questions I have for myself now.I have to say though, that I generally don't like to read bad reviews about a book before I even get a chance to read it, because then you never know if that review is stuck at the back of your mind, and influencing your own thoughts. Or in my case, it just pointed out things to me as I was reading it, and still, I like to generally come to conclusions on my own. (Unless there's so many bad reviews about a certain book out there, then obviously I don't bother even reading it.) In this case, I had read a review about how "Schooled" was just a name-dropper and had no substance. Well, I beg to differ. Sure there was a lot of name dropping, but surely, that was the author's intention. It is the seduction of all those brand names that Anna is hooked on, and even as a reader myself, I could feel that want and need of a better living condition and style. As for the substance, well I guess it depends on your point of view. Personally, I gained perspective on teaching. I don't think I'm naive enough like Anna to walk into my first classroom and think that I will inspire and change my students' lives. I think something like that takes time and patience, and you can't go in with unrealistic feelings. As for Anna, readers can see her character, her flaws and her assets. She wants the better things in life, but we also see that her desire to teach wins out in the end. With her students, though they seem shallow throughout, the fears and insecurities are shown when near the end, her student shows that he is dependent on the lifestyle in which he is brought up in.I don't think that I can say whether this book has really changed my own perspective of teaching as my own profession. I personally just feel that I wouldn't really want to teach at a private school one day, but that feeling has always been kind of there. Anyways, whether you are interested in teaching or not, I think it's an insightful book about our jobs that we choose and need to make a living. It's a "go-get-em'" book for those who want to fulfill a dream that may not give them that great of an income. It's a book about how we might fall off our path, but as long as we make our way back to it, then things can turn around.
detailmuse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anna Taggart is a young ivy-league graduate who wants to change the world. So instead of accompanying her friends into high-paying professions, she chooses to teach Manhattan¿s uber-rich `tweens at a prestigious (but low-paying) private school. The trouble is, Anna¿s not only young but immature, and becomes so dazzled by the 7th-graders' designer accessories and high-end lifestyles that she takes a second job (and then a third, fourth, fifth¿) as a highly paid private tutor so that she can buy more and more of the high-life for herself.The novel¿s inside look at Manhattan¿s wealthy families and private schools is interesting, and Lakhani develops a decent story arc -- particularly relating a conspiracy and the protagonist¿s moment of revelation. But the writing is amateurish -- characterization is thin; pages are choked with adverbs and exclamation points; nothing is ever ¿said,¿ it¿s announced, argued, breathed, commented, corrected, cried, exclaimed, gasped, hushed, laughed, muttered, replied, retorted, sniffed, stated, whined.Interestingly, Schooled is best when the protagonist actually teaches ¿ even the reader learns a bit about Shakespeare. Overall, it¿s more similar to the breathless tear of The Devil Wears Prada than to The Nanny Diaries¿ more substantive, emotive, and admirable heroine.
koratheexplora on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me of a book I had read before called "Admissions" by Nancy Lieberman, which I happened to love. I really liked hearing how bold the kids where and as a future teacher I hope I don't have to deal with to many snobby kiddos. Great read, mum even loved it!
sarradee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A recent graduate from Columbia University, Anna Taggert decides that her life's goal is to become a teacher. Over her parent's objections she takes a job teaching English at an elite private school on Manhattan's Upper East Side. Here she learns that teaching is not all "Lean on Me" and "Stand and Deliver", in fact actual work and assignments are frowned upon. The more Anna tries to make lesson plans and actually teach, the more unfriendly phone calls she gets from parents. Discouraged by her small apartment and even smaller salary Anna begins to despair, until she receives the a phone call that turns her life around. So Anna becomes a tutor, and spends her ever diminishing free time shopping at Barney's, taking on more and more tutoring assignments so that she can live the lifestyle she thinks she deserves. Ironically it is a tutoring assignment with a new student that shows her the error of her ways, and the last few chapters of the book reflect on Anna's desire to become the teacher she has always dreamed of being.Schooled is a debut novel by an author who has lived the world she is writing about. Anisha Lakhani was an English teacher at the prestigious Dalton School in Manhattan. One has to wonder just how much of this novel is actually true, and if so, it reflects poorly on the educational system for allowing and encouraging such shenanigans to go on.I enjoyed this book, and was fascinated by just how quickly the main character allowed herself to be corrupted. A quick summer read along the lines of The Devil Wears Prada or The Nanny Diaries.
posthumose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just in time for the new school year, a novel that will interest teachers, parents, tutors, and anyone interested in who is really doing the homework sent home by teachers today. It's an eye opener. Darkly humourous, Schooled was written by a former English teacher in Manhattan. The story follows Anna Taggert's first year of teaching private middle school children and the shock of discovery about rich kids and the tutors who write their homework assignments for them. An enthusiastic new Ivy League graduate, Anna doesn't just want to teach, she wants to inspire her students. The paycheck isn't great but she's doing what she loves.Until she inadvertantly discovers that high priced tutors are writing the homework assignments of some of her own students. But she's really shocked when she is encouraged by other teachers and the parents, not to ask questions. Even school administration tells her to let the kids slide because, well, their parents make big donations to the school. The parents she's in contact with defend the practice because their poor dears are under such pressure to excel, or have emotional problems and need extra consideration because they absolutely must get into the best universities in the future. The shock begins to wear off when she's offered a job tutoring in the evenings for $200 an hour. The kids in her class love her when she lets them slide and begins dressing to their own extravagantly rich standards. The parents love her when she doesn't give them homework or tests, especially tests. The pressure is just too much for the little darlings you understand. Anna falls into temptation and doing things the easy way until her conscience catches up with her. She comes to realize how far she's comprised her own principles and something has to change.Lakhani calls this story fiction based on her own experiences as a teacher and those of her colleagues. It's witty, rings true, and is sometimes downright funny.I recommend it.
gkleinman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Schooled is another mis-adventure with the uber-rich in the upper east side of New York. Reading a lot like the Nanny Diaries meets The Devil Wears Prada , Schooled follows the first year of a new private school teacher as she becomes indoctrinated into the world of the obscenely rich and influential. Anisha Lakhani writing is extremely readable and her main character, Anna Taggert, is very likable. Even when Anna missteps you root for her. Unfortunately Anna's character arch is extremely predictable and the ultimate climax of the book is fairly abrupt and not extremely climatic. What's missing from Schooled is any real depth, rather than digging deeper into the lives of Anna's students, Lakhani seems more interested in long descriptions of Anna's binge brand shopping and the Channel Bag or Prada Shoes she buys. Despite its flaws Schooled still delivers on some level, I found myself interested in following Anna's journey, even though I knew pretty well where it would turn out. Perhaps the most frustrating aspect of Schooled is that it has the nugget of a gem of a really good book, Lakhani has a great set-up, really likable characters and an engaging writing styles, she just never digs deep enough to pull out its true potential. Still, if you're looking for a light summer read and were a huge fan of The Nanny Diaries you could do much worse than Schooled.