Shadowland (Mediator Series #1)

Shadowland (Mediator Series #1)

by Jenny Carroll, Meg Cabot

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
8 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shadowland 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
CheriePie69 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. So much so that I'm going to add the rest of the series to my wishlist too. :) It was a quick, cute read... Meg obviously writing in the teen and young adult genre since she writes the Princess Diary books too. (I've never read the books though I like the 2 movies I saw.)I was glad to see Meg's self esteem pick up a bit later in the book, since in the beginning she always seemed to think herself not worthy of having many friends. However, I believe a person's worth to others is only as strong as that which they see in themselves, so a negative self impression is more hurtful to a girl's popularity than anything else.This book also made me realize that the books I like best always have a strong female (or male) lead; I found myself not liking Suze that much at the beginning of the book, but began to admire her more as she became more sure of herself.
Whisper1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Recommended by Stasia, this is a quick, easy, breezy, fun read. A Young Adult book about a 16 year old New York born and raised girl who, from the age of two, discovered she can communicate with ghosts. As a mediator she assists ghosts transition on to the next life.When her mother remarries and moves to California, Susie's life changes as she adapts to a new school and three new brothers. In her new high school, she encounters a very nasty spirit of a girl who committed suicide. Learning to fit into a new environment while trying to keep the secret of her unique abilities proves to be quite a challenge.If you are looking for a fun read, then take a few well spent hours and relax with this delightful book.
fantasia655 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There's a hot guy in Susannah Simon's bedroom. Too bad he's a ghost Suze is a mediator - a liason between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won't leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn't seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetary, and surfing instead of spectral visitations. But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it's not that easy. There's a ghost with revenge on her mind..... and Suze happens to be in the way.I really love any of Meg Cabot's books and this is no exception. This was one of the first series I read of her's and I love it so much. I am a stickler for romance and ghosts. :D I mean meeting a hot ghost would be stellar! Don't you think?
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
engaging romp of a book. Basically Buffy as a medium.This is the first book in the series, Suze moves to California from New York and finds herself facing up to a ghost who is still furious about her death, furious enough to be murderous. She finds a mentor in her headmaster, who has a different style of mediation with the dead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
it's okay but i like her other books a lot better
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Read this one you'll like it!' I was told by a friend. You see, I'm not into horror books I'm more of a teen scene type of girl but, once I got into this, energetic, humourus, mystical book I couldn't put it down. Suze must be one of the most evied girls in storyland because she gets to share her room with a hunky spanish boy!!!(Ok, so he's a ghost but that dosn't matter). For all you people out there that say that this is a book for the 9-14's your wrong, becasuse I am 15 going on 16 and found this book really interesting but humouring at the same time. I really felt sorry for her when her date for the pool party on saturday night was geting attackted by his suicidal ex- girlfriend (a ghost). First the breezblocks in the courtyard of the school nearly kills him, which gets suze reconized more than she would like on her first day in a new scholl, in a new state. Then the crucifix in the reception falls on him and injers his collar bone preventing him to take Suze out to a huge pool party on saturday. She then gets the fright of her life when she realised that the head of her school was a mediator and her new step-brother was one two!!! Can't say much more it's quite late and amercan pie is on. HOPE YOU LIKE IT
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book! I loved it and all the other books in the series. This is a book almost everyone would love! 0:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The author totally captures the mind of a 16 year old!! The whole plot was good and Susannah's tough chick personality was enjoyable and funny.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i absolutely Love this book! its fantastic!
Guest More than 1 year ago
...Superb
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is now my all time favorite book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so good i can't even really put it into words. its one of those books that you want to pass on to your friends. Well, I did! So, if your into really fun book about ghosts for teenage girls get this book and definately pass it on to all of your friends!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really loved all of the mediator books. I too, accidently read the Haunted book first and so I had to go all the way back to the begining but it was worth it. The story is great, and the way meg cabot/jenny carroll writes made me laugh out loud. When is the next book coming out??!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was good because it involved a girl who had a special feature which alowed her to see ghosts. I thought that the girl had a power in which no one else had and it was funny how every one that knew her thought she was crazy. But overall I thought the book was very good and shows how people can do something unimaginable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm sorry, but the way the author writes this story, you wouldn't know she was an adult. The thing that really keeps you into this story (not that the actually story doesn't) is the fact that Suze is just a magnet for trouble, and the growth of the relationship between Suze and Jesse...I mean a relationship with a hot dead guy that'll probably never work out? Whats more interesting than that?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I kind of got off to a bad start with this series. I read 'Haunted' by Meg Cabot first. But, in case you're wondering, Their is no Jenny Carrol. That's just a name Meg Cabot wrote the Mediator series under. This book, like all of Meg Cabot's, was really neat. I enjoyed the whole series. I just think she should have wrote 'Haunted' under the same name as the rest of the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about a mediator, a contact person for the dead, whose name is Susanna, who basically goes to California to live with her new step-father and step-brothers. The book is part of a series so you have to read it from book one to...whatever number the series has stopped at to get the whole story line. I think this book is the best book ever and should be read by everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was the book that got me hooked on reading. This book is about a girl, Sussannah Simon, who is a mediator. A mediator is a person who can see, talk, feel, and kick a ghosts butt. This first book is about how Suze has to move to California from New York, to live with her mother who just married. Her step-father has three sons of his own. If you thought having three step-brother was the worst her life can get- well think again! Suze finds a ghost, Jesse, who is living in her room. When Suze goes to school she realizes that Father Dominique- the principal of the school- is a mediator, also. Suze also finds a ghost of a girl, which she is gonna find herself helping. Well, if i say too much more, I'm going to be revealing the whole book to ya before you can read it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Shadowland is the first book in the Mediator Series and it was totally awesome. This book -as well as the whole series- was so good that I found that I couldnt put it down and managed to read it in less than a day. As soon as I finished this one I HAD to run out and buy the other 4 in the series (as well as HAUNTED by MEG CABOT). I recommend u buy them at all at once or at least borrow them from the library over a short period of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this series is one of the best YA series out there... just wanted to let you all know. They're really exciting and Jenny Carroll even uses enough vocabulary words that you can get away with reading them for a class. THESE BOOKS RULE! suspense, romance, action, adventure...awesomeness!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am at the moment reading Reunion and have read the last two, I have got to say I am hooked. I have put all my other books on hold and have spent this Australian winter in bed reading Jenny's books.