Sharing Sam (Love Stories #2)

Sharing Sam (Love Stories #2)

by Katherine Applegate

Hardcover(Library Binding)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sharing Sam (Love Stories #2) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
PSD More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much I let another friend borrow it but I just want to read it again and again. It is so good that I dont even know how to tell you. Well for starters if you like books that deal with romance and diseases you will love this book as much as I did. If you like short stories this book is only 150 pages. Unlike any other book this book makes you feel like you are there with the charactors. I know you're probably thinking that this is a lousy discription, but you won't know how to discribe it either if you were in my position, trying to describe this book is like trying to describe water, impossible. This book will change you world, the same way it did to me. S.A
onlyminordetails More than 1 year ago
A tearjerker, yes. But well worth it. The book was originally published in 1995, re-released in 2002. It¿s one of those books that is everlasting and any generation can relate to, like Judy Blume¿s Forever¿ The book opens with Alison and Sam meeting on a trail after he wrecks his motorcycle. She helps him. Then she finds out her best friend Isabella has brain cancer and only 6 months left to live. Then she find out that Sam likes her. And that she likes Sam. And that Izzy likes Sam too. So Alison decides to share. And as always, love complicates everything. I really enjoyed this one. I remember reading it the first time, up into the wee hours of the night because I was so entranced by it. It definitely stays with you for days. The story is solidified by the emotions surrounding the true to life characters. It makes you think, really think, of how self-sacrificing you are. How much would you be willing to give up, knowing that it was possibly going to break your own heart in more ways than one.
rumyana2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book that makes you feel and relive again what it means to fall in love at 16. It poignantly tells the story of two girls, Alison and Izzy, who are best friends and fall in love with the same boy, Sam. Only beautiful and brilliant Izzy has brain tumor and only a few months left to live. Even though Sam and Alison are in love with each other, as hard as it is, Alison decides to put aside her love and to share Sam with Izzy, hoping to make Izzy's last months as happy as possible. This novel reveals that love and friendship can be so close, it would be hard to tell which one is more important. It also puts things in perspective by reminding us how precious every moment is, and how exciting love can be. It shows that young adults are capable of deep feelings. They can be mature, responsible, caring, loving their families, decent human beings. Regardless of Izzy¿s death, the novel leaves one hopeful and optimistic about our youth and the future in general.
rinny on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a good love story! This would be a really cute movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great story, quick easy read!
Veeee23 More than 1 year ago
this book was my gate way novel into reading romance novels. that was over a decade now. im so happy to still see it around after so many years, it brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it. and i still remember  the story quite well. i might have to pick up a copy just to reminisce about it.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im using a diff nook i wont be on very much anymire cause im grounded i will be om only at night
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SamTheScholar More than 1 year ago
This book Sharing Sam is heart warming,sad,emotional,and about true love.When you start reading the first chapter you will not want to stop. After I read this book my favorite book has been changed to Sharing Sam and my favorite author, Katherine Applegate. Katherine Applegate writes this heart warming story about one girls feelings and frendship. After you read this book you will try to look for a new one and the new book wont be as far great as Sharing Sam. Sharing Sam changed my perspective for all of the books that I read now. I will never forget this breath-taking story about True Love and Frendship by my faorite author Katherine Applegate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
Sharing Sam is a pleasantly short and fascinatingly deep young adult novel about love and loss. Alison rides horses, is joined at the hip to friend Isabella, and struggles to relate at all to her younger sister. Sam rides motorbikes and bleeds on Alison's T-shirt. Their friendship seems unlikely, but there's something about Sam, quiet, keeping himself to himself, rather like Ali and Izzy on the fringes of teen society. But Izzy, who is also falling for Sam, just happens to be sick. Izzy's parents keep secrets and rope Ali in to keep them too. Then Ali decides to keep secrets of her own, and ropes in Sam to help her. The trouble is, Sam has reasons of his own to believe that truth matters more. And no one really knows what Izzy believes. Love and sacrifice, family and friendship, secrecy and availability, thread pleasingly through this tale. I like the characters; I like how they relate to each other; and ultimately I love the way the story ends-lessons taught, lessons learned; true love and true friendship have persevered. Yes, it's a tearjerker. Yes, it would make a great movie. And yes, I recommend it; an enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cass94 More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. You won't regret reading it. It made me cry so hard and it made me feel that it was okay to cry. It made me realize that tomorrow isn't garunteed for anyone. It made me appreciate everyone and how lucky I am. Most people would have to be put through an experience to learn that. I just had to read this book. It really opened my eyes to what people go through. It's short, only 155 pages. It doesn't take that much of your time so please just read it! You can't just forget this book. It'll stay with you forever. When you get into it, it's hard to stop reading it. I started it yesterday and ended up reading it until almost 1 in the morning because I HAD to finish it. It really shows what people will do for friendship and out of unselfishness and love for other people. PLEASE read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is simple amazing!!!! i loved it i laughed and cried and i can relate to the story i would do it for any of my friends and its amazing and everyone in are class has read it and i cant say how much i LOVE this book i read it in a day and i could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sharing Sam, by Katherine Applegate, is a great book about a girl named Alison. Alison meets this boy, Sam Cody, and I desperately in love with him. The next day at school Alison¿s best friend, Izzy, tells her that she likes a new kid named Sam Cody too. What should Alison do? Let her best friend since kindergarten have the boy, or be selfish and take Sam for herself? The Valentine¿s dance is coming up and Sam is planning on asking Alison. Will true friendship tie into this feud? Read the book to find out Alison¿s rough road to true love. I really could not find any criticism of this book. Many girls could easily relate to this story because it is about two best friends fighting over a boy. Many girls have been in that situation. Sharing Sam reminds me of the movie Here on Earth only there are two boys fighting over a girl. I would recommend this book to all girls over the age of twelve. My reasoning being that I believe that twelve is the age when girls start to get feelings for boys and boys start to get feelings for girls.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There¿s a new kid in town, Sam Cody, and he¿s the talk around the school. He¿s got a motorcycle, but never wears a helmet, and he smokes. He gets to know Alison Chapman, who is an optimist and a horse lover. They start to like each other until their affections have to be put on hold because Alison¿s best friend Isabella Cales-Lopez tells Alison she has brain cancer. Isabella or Izy likes Sam too. Alison knows something Izy doesn¿t that the doctors couldn¿t get all the cancer and Izy was going to die within a few months. Alison wants her best friend to be happy during the time she has left. So she tells Sam she wants him to date Izy because Izy likes him a lot. Sam doesn¿t agree with Alison¿s thinking at first he thinks it¿s wrong to lie to Izy like that. He also thinks it¿s wrong for Alison to give up her happiness so her friend can be happy. He soon does what Alison asks, and he finds himself falling for Izy, but does he still have feelings for Alison? Did she do the right thing, giving up her happiness for her friend to be happy before she dies? Does Izy know about Alison and Sam¿s secret affections? I really liked this book I thought it let the reader feel the emotions the characters were having. Sharing Sam really gave me things to think about. All the ways the characters handled their problems, was completely different than what I expected, but it made the book that more enjoyable. I liked how the book was easy to read and quick. Also I liked how I could connect to some of the characters. I didn¿t like how the book didn¿t go into much detail with Izy¿s last few weeks. The author barely described her last few weeks, making them sound as if they meant nothing to Alison and Sam. I thought they could¿ve gone into much more detail. Katherine Applegate could¿ve gone into what happened after Izy¿s death because the book just kind of ended after Izy¿s death This book would be for girls in junior high and high school. It¿s a romance book but it has this awry to it. It¿s a romance book but it¿s not your typical romance book, where two people meet, fall in love, and live happily ever after. Sharing Sam is not part of a series and does not require previous reading. Sharing Sam is a well-written, romance book by Katherine Applegate. I recommend reading Sharing Sam it¿s a touching book about what best friends would do for each other, and how much love they have for each other to risk their own happiness.