A Single Shard

A Single Shard

by Linda Sue Park

Paperback

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Single Shard 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 168 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books i have read. :) fasinating, adults and childern can both enjoy this book. It was filled with adventure suspences and love. Everyone should try this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am ten and I loved it. It is full of daring and nerve and is slightly sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a good book at first i thought that it woulfd be the most boring book ever but then i kept reading and it was good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First 50 pages are hard to get into, but the rest is amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We are reading this in PACT class. It is good so far !
masser23 More than 1 year ago
The characters were well developed and the story was unpredictable. The writing flowed nicely, easy to read & hard to put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Single Shard is a book about the character Tree-Ear an orphan raised by another character Crane-Man. The story really starts when the master potter Min is introduced to the story when Tree-Ear is caught admiring Min’s pottery and Min thought Tree-Ear was stealing. Tree-Ear is so frightened that he bumps into a shelf and knocks down some pottery and breaks it. Min makes Tree-Ear work for him for nine days to work off the broken pot but those nine days end up turning into 18 months. Almost a year after Tree-Ear had been working for Min the Emissary Kim comes to look for a skilled potter to make pottery for the king. But when Kim comes Min’s pottery is not ready so Min sends Tree-Ear to Songdo to show Emissary Kim his pottery. On Tree-Ear’s journey he encounters many problems such as terrain, animals, and weather. And the worst thing that happened was that Tree-Ear was ambushed by bandits and the pots are destroyed and he was left with one shard. Tree-Ear is to determined and still takes the shard to Emissary Kim and shows how the pot was made and it paid off because Kim said that Man was now making pottery for the king. Tree-Ear is sent back to Ch’ulp’o by ship and Min and Ajima make Tree-Ear their son because Crane-Man died by falling off a bridge and Min also teaches Tree-Ear how to make a pot. I rate A Single Shard a solid 3 out of 5 stars. My reasoning is that in the beginning it is very hard to figure out who is who and is relatively confusing. And that some of the characters backstories are confusing as well. And that there is no really big climax in the story. One thing that I really liked about the story though was that the descriptions of the characters and the environment around them was amazing and I could easily picture it in my mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not so sure if I like this book, because it doesn't really have enough action maybe in some parts but not enough for my liking. Also I am not sure if I woulf have picked to read this. Some like it and some don' t, but not everybody that picks it up and reads it will indeed like the book or the thought of content. Not that its bad but like how the srory goes along. For me it went too slow for me to even want to pick it up, but thats just me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book took a while in the intro, but once into the middle of the book, it got exciting! I really liked Crane Man. He is very wise and funny at the same time. :)
trudy moss More than 1 year ago
We are reading this is the 6th grade class pretty good:))
Guest More than 1 year ago
THe best book published! Really! You Have to read it . Honestly, it was great!!! (don't judge the book by its cover, if you do that, I gurentee you'll put it back on the shelf). READ IT!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Truly amazing! Great book for students.
kikotomo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful story about a young orphan who finds his place in the workshop of an old and unhappy, yet talented potter.
joririchardson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fascinating culture, lovable characters, excellent plot, and dramatic twists... This book is amazing! It makes you laugh and cry. It is written for middle-school aged kids, but I still re-read it every few years and always enjoy it just as much. This is one of my favorite children's fiction books ever.Without doubt, Linda Sue Park's best work.Recommended!!
mburris1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Single Shard is a touching book about Tree Ear, an orphan in Korea who has become fascinated with the work of a local potter. Through an unfortunate accident, Tree Ear gets an opportunity to work for the potter, giving him more time to observe his work. Later, Tree Ear is sent on an important mission that will ultimately change his life.This book is beautifully written, and contains many teachable moments as Tree Ear struggles with issues about values, integrity, perseverance, etc. guided by his friend, a crippled man who has cared for Tree Ear since he was a baby. The book offers opportunities for discussions and debate, as well as extensions to learn about the process of Korean pottery-making and Celedon glazing. Well-written characters and well-balanced plot make this an excellent read for Middle School-age children.
Mparis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tree Ear is an orphan who lives in a village where many make their living making pottery in 12th century Korea. Crane Man is an old man who takes him in as a toddler to raise him under a bridge. The two have to forage through garbage to get food to eat. Tree Ear is fascinated by a local potter named Min, and goes to work for him to repay him after breaking some of his pottery on accident. Tree Ear continues to works with Min and helps him to get a royal commission. While on his long trip to try to gain the commission, he is met up by bandits who destroy the pottery and he is left with a single shard to sell Min's wares. Although he ends up losing his dear father figure, he ends up as part of a loving family in the end.I loved this book. The history of Korea and pottery was fascinating. It also had amazing heart. I would recommend this to a reader of any age. Classroom connection: Korea, pottery, family
slevip82 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love this story. The characters are unforgettable.
lhanes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
THe book tells the story of an orphaned who lives in Korea, with his friend, under a bridge. His dream is to become a maker of pottery like many in his community and loves the uniqueness of it all. THru perserverance and attitude he acheives his goal and becomes a potter. This book tells of a simple rags to riches storry about how someone with nothing can still become something.In the classromm setting, i would definetely use this as an inlet to get the kids talking and discussing what they might like to be when they age up. Even go as far fetched as talking about what their father watnted to do compared to what they ended up doing and possibly why. THis book tells of a good lesson of self esteem and perseverance.
bookcat27 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tree-ear is an orphan in the 12th century. He lives under a bridge with Crane-man. Because he is an orphan and has no family, he is shunned by the people of the village. He lives on scraps of food but is slowly starving to death. One day he sees Min, a master potter, at work and marvels at the beautiful pottery. Tree-ear sneaks into Min's workshop and accidentally breaks a pot. Now he must work for Min to pay him back for the broken pot. The two slowly come to realize that they need each other. Then one day Tree-tea is given an important assignment: deliver a pot to the King's Court. During this journey he is attacked and the pot shatters on the ground. Tree-tea manages to find a single shard that shows the beauty of Min's design. Will it be enough to show the King how deserving Min is of becoming the King's official potter?This is such a wonderfully written book. The subject of Korea and it's pottery which flourished in the 11th and 12th century. It was even considered better than pottery from China! Linda Sue Park has combined several elements, family and adventure, into a story that educates as well as entertains us.
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The twelfth-century Korean village of Ch¿ulp¿o is famous for its celadon pottery. Tree-ear, a young orphan, spends his days foraging for food on the fringes of society. The book opens with Tree-ear living under a bridge with Crane-man, a lame man who has cared for him most of his life. While foraging for food around the village, Tree-ear begins to watch Min, a master potter as he throws clay. Through his determination and desire to learn, Tree-ear apprentices himself to Min and begins the difficult task of satisfying the perfectionist, Min. Richly detailed, the book is a wonderful portrait of life in Korea and a tale of strength and determination. Tree-ear, in spite of his poverty and hunger, throws himself into learning with will and determination.
ykolstad on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a beautifully written story. It's amazing how Linda Sue Park conveys the spirits of her mostly male characters.I learned much about a time and place that I wasn't familiar with before. One roots for little Tree-Ear as he never gives up on his dream. I was sad when it ended (because I enjoyed it so much), but oh what an uplifting ending it is.
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tree Ear is an orphan, living under a bridge with a homeless man called Crane Man. After breaking on of Potter Min's pots by accident, Tree Ear agrees to go work for the potter, hoping to learn the trade himself.
fullerl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tree-Ear is an orphan who, with the help of a fatherly friend named Crane-Man, scrape out a living rummaging through trash heaps and learning to read the world around them. Tree-Ear is a resourceful and optimistic young man with an eye for something of beauty - pottery. Growing up in 12th century Korea, Tree-Ear knows the value of the art of pottery making. He loves to watch a local potter, Min, create his pieces of art. When he thinks no one is around, Tree-Ear decides to examine the pottery up close. When the potter suddenly returns and surprises Tree-Ear, one of the pieces if broken. To pay for the loss to the potter, Tree-Ear agrees to work for Min. Thus begins an unusual relationship between servant and master. Tree-Ear is a faithful worker and soon learns his tasks. Through a series of events, Tree-Ear ends up on the road to the capital to take a sample of a new piece of pottery for the inspection of the emissary with the hopes of receiving a royal commission. Unfortunately, things do not go well for Tree-Ear and all he left with to show at the royal court is a single shard of pottery, all that is left of Min's fine work. This story is rich with cultural and historical information and adds depth for the reader. Within its pages, this novel the ideas of what makes us who we are, the difficulties of pride, and what makes a family.
StephJoan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My girls and I listened to this in the car. One day we were running errands and when we got to the parking lot of the store, we sat there in the car unable to get out because we were so sucked into the story.