Slow Burn

Slow Burn

by Julie Garwood

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Slow Burn 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 147 reviews.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
Meets Your Expectations! Have you ever felt frustrated! Life not going your way? Have I got a story for you! In Slow Burn the fifth novel in the Buchanan series we Kate MacKenna and her sisters. Synopsis: It all started with the wonder bra! Kate was on her way to an exhibit when an explosion occurs. She wakes to find paramedics and policemen looking her over. Kate brushes off the explosion as nothing more than bad luck. She starts to put it behind her when asked to come to Boston by her friend Jordan Buchanan. Kate meets up again with the Buchanan family who she knows well, and one in particular brother Dylan Buchanan. After one night together she leave quickly but her luck doesn’t change. Who is out to harm Kate? Will she and Dylan hook up? My Thoughts: If you are excitedly waiting for Julie’s next novel. Then I suggest you either revisit Slow Burn or read it for the first. I happened to be able to listen to the audiobook this time around. I have listened to others on audio that are by Julie Garwood and this one is the best! I thought the reader did a great job! Ms. Garwood tells stories with much humor and wonderful plot. She employs a form irony which pokes fun at her characters which creates an entertaining read. One side note if you have followed her other novels then you will know that they relate back to one another.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I literally read it in a matter of hours. I only wish it had been longer. I can't wait till she writes more about this family. I feel as if I have known them all my life.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I did have style issues, and it's not as if the prose is anything to savor, but compared to so many wretched torturous styles I've suffered on the romance recommendation list I've been working through this was readable--with a narrative that flowed well and characters I cared enough about to want to keep going to the very end. I even found one part that choked me up a little. I liked Kate--an entrepreneur with one sister in medical school and another entering college still in mourning for her mother who recently died. She has family she cares about and friends--it's not all about the guy. And the guy involved, Dylan, a Boston Police Department detective, is pretty appealing. Though the mystery's resolution wasn't too surprising, it made sense.
bakersfieldbarbara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A quick read for an insight into family inheritances, and murder and lust for power and money. A beautiful woman is about to inherit a family fortune, and someone doesn't want her to have it. There are many suspects who are trying to blow her up and a romance is developing as her hero childhood friend decides to help her stay alive. Well written, easy plot to follow but not easily guessed as to the outcome , and a surprise ending that had me going back to see how I had missed out on suspecting the criminal responsible for the bombings. Interesting that even the one who made the bombs turns out to be a sort-of hero. How? Read the book and find out. A must read for a relaxing evening at home.
booksaroonidooni on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read several Julie Garwood books, and this is not among my favorites. I generally use her books to cleanse my palate between heavier reads. They are all light suspense, a little racy. This one just didn't do it. Not up to her usual par.
DGrivetto on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't read many romances. I don't necessarily like to read racey sex scenes, and this one has some. But it also has a little mystery to it which kept me turning the pages. Very easy read. I may pick up another of her books.
ForeignCircus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have to say I found this book disappointing. The plot was clunky- neither the mystery nor the romance pulled me in at all. The main characters seemed more like caricatures, the mystery wasn't that mysterious, and there were entirely too many subplots cluttering up the landscape whose only purpose seemed to be laying the groundwork for future novels about these two families.

I've always been a huge fan of Garwood's historical novels, and hoped her signature depth and humor would shine through this contemporary story. Unfortunately, all of the elements of a classic Garwood were missing from Slow Burn, and I was left with shallowly drawn characters and a sketchy plot- not enough to carry the book.
Camethyste on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy reading about this family, and this book was no exception. Excellent book, and amusing as well. I didn't figure out who the culprit was until near the end, which is definitely great!
raspberryvixen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I normally was never one for murder/mystery novels, but I find myself getting into them more and more lately. This was a very interesting story, and a very quick read, mainly due to the fact that it seemed to be written on a grade school reading level, which was very disappointing. If it wasn't for the half-decent plot, I would've given up on the book after the first few chapters. Very interesting twist at the end, and it wasn't one that I expected!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. can't wait to read next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the suspense and all the twists and turns, great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was the author being paid by the word? to much information about topics not related to the main plot.
PeniA More than 1 year ago
I am continually surprised at the imagination and writing of Julie Garwood. An outstanding storyteller. This story is one of my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Melinda12 More than 1 year ago
LOVWD it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
chineeangel More than 1 year ago
first Garwood book and I was hooked. Slow Burn had me on fire love it read it 3 times! Dylan Buchanan is one sexy character :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kayteeMD More than 1 year ago
I prefer Julie Garwood's historical romances, but it was an okay read.