Song of the Lark

Song of the Lark

by Willa Cather

Paperback

$52.90 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Song of the Lark (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was good but not my favorite. The book is slow. While the illustration on the front cover is nice, I don't see how it fit the book. I spent lots of time trying to figure out how it related to the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are so many typos in this copy that I couldn't get past the first 3 pages. This should be an excellent book. Whoever did the copy of this book should be fired.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Willa Cather paints us a picture of a very unusual girl. From the first we see that Thea is a little different from others just as Willa was a little different from contemporaries of her sex. Other characters in the novel can see that Thea is gifted, often distant as dreamers often are and destined for greater things than most. As I was reading the book I tried to focus on just what made her different. I appreciate Willa's imagery. The sandhills, Chicago, and the cliff dwellings in Arizona stand out like paintings in the Novel. Willa Cather certainly deserves high praise for the works she has left us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Nothing is far and nothing is near, if one desires. The world is little, people are little, human life is little. There is only one big thing- desire.' This is only one of the many poetic lines in this excellent novel by Willa Cather. The book is a tale of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, that has many experiences on her journey to following her dream of becoming a successful opera singer. The character actually represents Cather and her struggles to achieve artistic recognition. Throughout the book I felt compelled to relate myself to Thea's experiences. I believe this book is not only the story of a person's desire taking them out of the little town they grew up in, but it creates a new world for the reader to explore in. The minor characters in the novel add on to the intensity and love Thea has for singing. As she grows up and learns what it takes to make it big, the reader can not help but grow attached to the distinct setting and characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who feels passionate about a certain talent they have. The Song Of The Lark teaches you that it is possible to achieve your dream.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Willa Cather's The Song of the Lark is a highly decorative novel that provides a detailed account on the growth of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, who has an exceptional talent in singing. The book goes over Thea¿s modest upbringing to her career as an opera singer with an in-depth look at her maturity as she refines her talent. However, the book seems to focus more on Thea¿s surroundings than on Thea herself. There are lengthy descriptions of the landscapes and the important people in her life, but you never truly get to know Thea. Therefore, you often get a picture of what Thea is like through her interactions with other people and the affect that she has on friends, such as Dr. Archie and Fred Ottenburg. During the novel, I expected something huge and horrible to happen to Thea, but I found out that the novel isn¿t much of a roller coaster ride in terms of life-changing events. Though it wasn¿t action-packed, the novel was satisfying because of Cather¿s literary genius. From the beginning, it is already confirmed that Thea is uncommon, a theme that is constantly emphasized throughout the novel. Yet, the beauty of this book is that it describes Thea¿s musical gift in such a way that it allows you to experience her uniqueness: by imagining the tone and richness of her voice. The description leaves it open to interpretation so that you can be swept away by her strong personality even though you haven¿t really met her. The vast descriptions of the Midwest landscape is so captivating that it makes you cherish it on the same level that Thea does. Overall, this book appealed to me because I love to sing. I felt a personal connection to Thea because I wanted to be like her. I would definitely recommend it to those who are interested in opera or singing because it¿s one of the few novels out there that includes such a deep text in singing and opera.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A+little++tedious++but+overall++said+great++bedtime++read++
dhogue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Cather and this book is very good, it just seems less unified than some of her other books. Also, I found the ending unsatisfying. I thought she was trying perhaps a bit too hard to weave in her philosophy of art.
cbl_tn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Song of the Lark is the story of Thea Kronborg, a small town Colorado girl with a big dream of developing her natural musical talent into something extraordinary. Thea is fortunate that several of the adults in her life recognize that she has a combination of raw talent and strength of will to do something great. Her mother, Doctor Archie, piano teacher Professor Wunsch, and her great admirer Ray Kennedy provide nurture and guidance through her adolescent years. When Thea has absorbed all that Moonstone has to offer her, she leaves to study music in first Chicago, then further afield. Although Thea leaves Moonstone behind, it never leaves her.I have mixed feelings about this novel. The first half is outstanding, but the second half is mediocre. As soon as Thea leaves Moonstone for good, the novel seems to lose its bearings. The rest of the novel seems to wander. The dialogue becomes lackluster. Perhaps Cather intended this, though, to illustrate how large a role Moonstone played in Thea's identity. Readers without knowledge or love of music may find it difficult to stick with this book all the way to the end.
juliette07 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ranging from Arizona cliff dwellers, Moonstone to Chicago, New York and beyond this book tells of Thea Kronborg¿s voyage of discovery. She was destined to become a Wagnerian soprano and the book chronicles that journey and the characters she encounters en route. The relationship between herself and the places she travels are described and reflected upon, her work, her being and the places she inhabits are inextricably intertwined. With a forward by A.S. Byatt this Virago edition of 1982 was originally pared down in 1932 by Cather herself. Apparently it was originally two hundred thousand words long but she cut it savagely by about ten percent. The writing is often moving and at times rhapsodic (to quote Byatt). A delight to read, this rags to riches journey of self discovery also related to the artistic ambitions and self discovery of the author herself.
melopher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second work of Willa Cather's that I've read (previously read O Pioneers!) but it convinced me to read all of Cather's works (My Antonia is next). The theme wasn't quite as strong as in O Pioneers, but there were moments that were so insightful, beautiful, and touching that it was very much worth the reading. I love how all of the feelings and emotions are described and explained. The sentiment mixed with duty (whether to others or oneself) is tangible. How Thea's journey to unleash her artistic side is so intrinsically tied to her memories of home makes for a deeply touching story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well worth reading. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She nodded quickly, biting down on her bottom lip as she watched him. "I'm sorry"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She stepped in line after Swag. :3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A strong female artist achieves success with the help of generous men who admire her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago